2015 world athletics championships Beijing
kizee1
#101 Posted : Friday, August 28, 2015 11:34:40 AM

freiks wrote:
Those who insisted Gatlin aka Dopelin will upstage Bolt owes me an apology

taja majina, ama its just one of those feel good statements smile

I am one of them, I have to admit that people like Bolt and Kemboi are not just good but are big stage performers!!!!

no one in that final was clean and you can take that to the bank, beating a test does not mean you're clean, for those who care to get a different perspective read contents of this link

http://www.muscleweek.co...s-usain-bolt-on-steroids
#102 Posted : Friday, August 28, 2015 1:46:31 PM

freiks wrote:
Those who insisted Gatlin aka Dopelin will upstage Bolt owes me an apology

taja majina, ama its just one of those feel good statements smile

I am one of them, I have to admit that people like Bolt and Kemboi are not just good but are big stage performers!!!!

they have a certain attitude... I think in football CR7 has the same attitude! Big stage performance... quite admirable!
Alba
#103 Posted : Friday, August 28, 2015 3:45:35 PM

Alba wrote:
Using basketball as an example, Nakujua would say Kenya has no basketball talent which is why we do poorly.

However if you look at the Kenyans doing well in basketball overseas, you quickly realize that Kenya has a lot of basketball talent, enough to challenge Africa's best.

This is what the Kenya basketball team would look like if they incorporated diaspora based talent

sasa you are going overboard.smile ati basketball talent in Kenya - I might be wrong lakini those you claim to be doing well are just Americans with kenyan passports.

Its like saying usa has talent in 5000 and 1500 meters just because Bernard Lagat is American smile

The point is that if Kenyans in the diaspora can make it in basketball then Kenyans at home can excel at basketball if given the same opportunities. Oh by the way, some of those basketball players went to school in Kenya. Two went to Maseno and one went to Friends Kamusinga.

There is plenty of basketball talent in Kenya but it is not being nurtured and groomed. Also there is no culture of basketball in Kenya.

Kenya has as much basketball talent as any African country including Angola. The difference is we do not have a basketball culture. Thus there arent enough basketball courts in neighbourhoods. Which means vijana vijana have nowehere to practise there skills. Schools do not take basketball seriously.

I will give you an example of how a sporting culture makes a difference. In the 1990s, rugby was non-existent in Uganda having been killed during the Iddi Amin days. In 1997, Kenya played Uganda and won 67-5.

But Uganda started to rebuild their rugby culture. Rugby clubs re-opened. Rugby was re-introduced in schools. They invited South African experts. And by around 2003, Uganda had caught up with Kenya and even beat Kenya at both sevens and XV.

Part of the problem in Kenya is we do not have a culture of football. In Nigeria for example, football is so important that some of the top teams are fully sponsored by the state government.
Alba
#104 Posted : Friday, August 28, 2015 4:09:07 PM

Dafne schippers 21.63 in the women's 200m. Second fastest of all time after Flojo (not counting altitude)

Wow !

What is this girl smoking?

This chica would even blow away a doped up marion Jones
#105 Posted : Friday, August 28, 2015 6:55:49 PM

wewe @alba you must be (or was) a football player, I have a gut feeling you must have been part of MYSA at some point. smile
Of course if you search hard enough you will get those qualities that make athletes in any sport excel - be it swimming, gymnastics, Equestrian, Riffle games ...

Lakini that does not happen and its virtually impossible to sustain such, since individuals even though gifted in an area have different interests.

So we look at a general scenario, where those who present themselves or show an interest to participate in given sports are trained and go out to compete - and in that sense Kenya only has extractable talent in women volleyball, athletics and to some extent rugby.

Sasa utasema kenya has talent in american football.
Alba
#106 Posted : Friday, August 28, 2015 11:08:32 PM

wewe @alba you must be (or was) a football player, I have a gut feeling you must have been part of MYSA at some point. smile
Of course if you search hard enough you will get those qualities that make athletes in any sport excel - be it swimming, gymnastics, Equestrian, Riffle games ...

Lakini that does not happen and its virtually impossible to sustain such, since individuals even though gifted in an area have different interests.

So we look at a general scenario, where those who present themselves or show an interest to participate in given sports are trained and go out to compete - and in that sense Kenya only has extractable talent in women volleyball, athletics and to some extent rugby.

Sasa utasema kenya has talent in american football.

The above red text is not true either. You are basically saying Kenyan youth are only interested in volleyball, rugby and athletics. Thats not true. As you know football is the most popular sport. Basketball is also very popular. Unfortunately both sports are poorly run which means the youth have very few opportunities to excel.

So the reason is not lack of interest. It is lack of organization and the lack of a sporting culture.

The reason Kenya excels in women's volleyball is because it is taken more seriously in Kenya at grassroots level than it is in most African countries.

And no I did not play in MYSA. But I did play for many years in a tournament called Kiko cup and I actually played against some MYSA players. We played a lot of matches at KNH grounds and laini saba grounds. Kiko cup was sponsored by Noordin Taib Koor who is a former national team player and former KFF official. Thats why I said we need more sponsorship of grassroots tournaments. It is from these tournaments that talents emerge.
#107 Posted : Saturday, August 29, 2015 9:32:42 AM

Talent has to meet opportunity. Few years ago,Rugby was only played in Nairobi. Cricket was for long also limited to the few who lived in Ngara yet Kenya made to the world cup.
I think there is a huge reservoir of untapped talent out there.
kiriita
#108 Posted : Saturday, August 29, 2015 2:51:30 PM

Leo things are elephant. Sum could only manage bronze, Farah has completed another double taking the 5000m Gold with Ndiku having to settle for Silver...
#109 Posted : Saturday, August 29, 2015 5:24:59 PM

kiriita wrote:
Leo things are elephant. Sum could only manage bronze, Farah has completed another double taking the 5000m Gold with Ndiku having to settle for Silver...

I see the weed country will finish tops,followed by kiash country and kenya will come 3rd.
Sad Sad

timizo
#110 Posted : Saturday, August 29, 2015 6:27:12 PM

kiriita wrote:

I see the weed country will finish tops,followed by kiash country and kenya will come 3rd.
Sad Sad

I am of a different opinion. I have done some analysis based on tomorrows events and Jamaica does not pose the most serious threat to team Kenya. Unless something bad happens to the USA team, they should take tomorrow's relays, both men and women. If the USA makes a very serious mistake in the relays, Jamaica is still not guaranteed the gold. And if the top two women Javelin throwers are not in their best, the USA could take another gold. We need to take the Marathon and the 1,500 Men Gold to have any chance of being top. Let's forget the 5,000 women.... That is for Dibaba. Jamaica has little chance for a Gold medal tomorrow.

My prediction.... We finish 1st or 2nd with the USA taking 1st or 2nd. Jamaica will finish third. I am almost sure of that.

But do not forget the USA is leading on the placing table. Not sure which of the two, Placing or Medal table has more weight.
#111 Posted : Saturday, August 29, 2015 6:54:28 PM

timizo wrote:
kiriita wrote:

Sad Sad

I am of a different opinion. I have done some analysis based on tomorrows events and Jamaica does not pose the most serious threat to team Kenya. Unless something bad happens to the USA team, they should take tomorrow's relays, both men and women. If the USA makes a very serious mistake in the relays, Jamaica is still not guaranteed the gold. And if the top two women Javelin throwers are not in their best, the USA could take another gold. We need to take the Marathon and the 1,500 Men Gold to have any chance of being top. Let's forget the 5,000 women.... That is for Dibaba. Jamaica has little chance for a Gold medal tomorrow.

My prediction.... We finish 1st or 2nd with the USA taking 1st or 2nd. Jamaica will finish third. I am almost sure of that.

But do not forget the USA is leading on the placing table. Not sure which of the two, Placing or Medal table has more weight.

Well put 1st or 2nd may even come down even to the silvers.
Lakini after those two dopers who were caught next year in rio olympics things will be truly elephant seb coe the new IAAF top man is already under pressure i dont think under his watch he wants doping cases to keep on arising.Hapa ndio the kenyan athletes will feel the pressure..the random tests wacha tu

Alba
#112 Posted : Sunday, August 30, 2015 1:12:54 AM

Talent has to meet opportunity. Few years ago,Rugby was only played in Nairobi. Cricket was for long also limited to the few who lived in Ngara yet Kenya made to the world cup.
I think there is a huge reservoir of untapped talent out there.

This is the basic fact that Nakujua at al cannot seem to grasp. Thats it for me on that subject
Alba
#113 Posted : Sunday, August 30, 2015 1:14:45 AM

With regard to the womens 800m, there is always a woman from Eastern Europe who emerges from nowehere during championships, wins gold then dissappears to avoid drug testing, only to re-emergeat the next championship.
#114 Posted : Sunday, August 30, 2015 10:16:47 AM

to keep our place in the sun we need akina Asbel (apparently he caught flu some days back) to get atleast 1 more for us! tukipata silver kwa 1500 Women itakuwa poa. there are 2 more races the US may just up us on... 4 x 400 both women and Men. this thing is going down to the wire! We just need 1 more gold and a silver to seal our position at the top (medal standing wise)
#115 Posted : Sunday, August 30, 2015 10:23:56 AM

to keep our place in the sun we need akina Asbel (apparently he caught flu some days back) to get atleast 1 more for us! tukipata silver kwa 1500 Women itakuwa poa. there are 2 more races the US may just up us on... 4 x 400 both women and Men. this thing is going down to the wire! We just need 1 more gold and a silver to seal our position at the top (medal standing wise)

We missed women marathon Gold by 1 secondPray ..isorite.If we complain ,what do we expect Tanzanians or Nigerians to do?Laughing out loudly
D32
#116 Posted : Sunday, August 30, 2015 11:05:01 AM

Any more possible gold for Kenya?
They tried to bury us, they didn't know we were seeds.
D32
#117 Posted : Sunday, August 30, 2015 11:13:36 AM

D32 wrote:
Any more possible gold for Kenya?

Seen the 5K & 1.5K

Hope USA & JAM do not do something major in other events, but let's see...
They tried to bury us, they didn't know we were seeds.
#118 Posted : Sunday, August 30, 2015 11:37:14 AM

For the 4 X 400 trinidad and tobago may pull a suprise. Cherono will follow dibaba for the silver lakini predicting the 1500 with makhloufi akiwa around ni ngumu We may end up with 3 medals today in what order we wait to see
#119 Posted : Sunday, August 30, 2015 12:09:56 PM

madollar wrote:

For the 4 X 400 trinidad and tobago may pull a suprise. Cherono will follow dibaba for the silver lakini predicting the 1500 with makhloufi akiwa around ni ngumu We may end up with 3 medals today in what order we wait to see

We will finish 3rd.
Those Gor Luos should learn how to throw big STONES like discus and short-puts!

kiriita
#120 Posted : Sunday, August 30, 2015 2:08:42 PM

We missed women marathon Gold by 1 secondPray ..isorite.If we complain ,what do we expect Tanzanians or Nigerians to do?Laughing out loudly

Good point.