wazua Wed, Nov 27, 2024

Safaricom hits banks with new M-Pesa transfer fees
doubletap
#21 Posted : Saturday, August 29, 2015 9:57:01 AM

Mike Will wrote:
doubletap wrote:
Think it would be much easier if the banks made an app that is linked to your phone no for individuals and a registered no for companies which is then connected to your bank account just like your ATM card. Then every transaction is from your account and payment is directly to your account. Using a security app every transaction is verified. If the app is then owned by all the banks and institutions that require financial services and run as a private entity. A service provider. If you need physical cash there are ATM's or bank agents kila mahali.

What exactly does your solution propose to solve? And why would it succeed where credit cards have failed? d'oh!

Can't you see what the solution is? Ok very simply the banks own there own service, one making it cheaper for you and me to transact, heck maybe they could just make it free and charge corporates, another benefit is that your money is in your b/Ac the exact same way your ATM card is linked so why do you need it in your phone? And you can pay/send someone directly from your ac no need to topup mpesa. The system is not competing with cards [at the moment], its dealing with mpesa, give the same service but linked to you bank account going through the bank system.

Think about it mpesa is linked to your phone no, the bank system will also use your phone no difference is where the money ends up in your mpesa account or your bank account and with the use of smart phones becoming more common the app with adequate security measures could just work perfectly.

Look at the issue at hand safaricom is charging banks more for bank to mpesa transactions and the other way round. Solution do away with Mpesa or give us the option to choose
You have to learn the rules of the game. And then you have to play better than anyone else - Albert Einstein
doubletap
#22 Posted : Saturday, August 29, 2015 10:05:14 AM

vickip wrote:
i think its is very risky especially for those investors who are very establish because then they have to worry on how secure their money is since the risk of hackers using phone numbers to get your money increases

Very valid fears and with any system the human element is the weakest measures can be taken eg, maximum daily withdrawals, using third party security apps that generate unique codes for every login etc.
You have to learn the rules of the game. And then you have to play better than anyone else - Albert Einstein
Mike Will
#23 Posted : Saturday, August 29, 2015 11:52:16 AM

doubletap wrote:

Can't you see what the solution is? Ok very simply the banks own there own service, one making it cheaper for you and me to transact, heck maybe they could just make it free and charge corporates, another benefit is that your money is in your b/Ac the exact same way your ATM card is linked so why do you need it in your phone? And you can pay/send someone directly from your ac no need to topup mpesa. The system is not competing with cards [at the moment], its dealing with mpesa, give the same service but linked to you bank account going through the bank system.

Think about it mpesa is linked to your phone no, the bank system will also use your phone no difference is where the money ends up in your mpesa account or your bank account and with the use of smart phones becoming more common the app with adequate security measures could just work perfectly.

Look at the issue at hand safaricom is charging banks more for bank to mpesa transactions and the other way round. Solution do away with Mpesa or give us the option to choose

In not so many words you have described Equitel. Correct?
#24 Posted : Saturday, August 29, 2015 1:18:36 PM

doubletap wrote:
Mike Will wrote:
doubletap wrote:
Think it would be much easier if the banks made an app that is linked to your phone no for individuals and a registered no for companies which is then connected to your bank account just like your ATM card. Then every transaction is from your account and payment is directly to your account. Using a security app every transaction is verified. If the app is then owned by all the banks and institutions that require financial services and run as a private entity. A service provider. If you need physical cash there are ATM's or bank agents kila mahali.

What exactly does your solution propose to solve? And why would it succeed where credit cards have failed? d'oh!

@My grandfather is owns a mobile phone but doesn't have a bank account. Same to my grandmother and very many other people in this country.
There are 20m mobile subscribers and maybe 3m people who have bank accounts.
moneydust
#25 Posted : Saturday, August 29, 2015 1:45:32 PM

doubletap wrote:
Mike Will wrote:
doubletap wrote:

@My grandfather is owns a mobile phone but doesn't have a bank account. Same to my grandmother and very many other people in this country.

If the banks get a MVNO license they can give the customer the option of sending money to a bank account or a mobile phone number..just like Equitel.
If I were Safaricom I would be very worried about giving banks the motivation to come up with an alternative system.These high charges that its levying are doing just that.
ngapat
#26 Posted : Saturday, August 29, 2015 2:03:49 PM

watesh wrote:
ngapat wrote:
The banks should start by cancelling the linking of bank accounts to mpesa.
Then they can combine together and start their own network or mvno since people want money on their mobiles

Good luck with that

Hahaha banks need mpesa more than mpesa needs them. Remember mpesa started and grew without any help from a bank.
One strategy they can employ is bill payments from your mobile or online. A number of people get salaries into their bank accounts, bypass safaricom and get a payment platform that is efficient and easy to use.
Am waiting for Equitel to introduce DSTV, KPLC prepayments and others and my mpesa usage will drop by 80%

This is the status quo that needs to be challenged.The believe banks needs Mpesa more than mpesa needs banks is what makes them bow to whatever torture they get from mpesa.
Equity realized this and is trying to find an alternative to Mpesa and i believe its just a matter of time before Safaricom feels its impact.
“Invest in yourself. Your career is the engine of your wealth.”
Mike Will
#27 Posted : Saturday, August 29, 2015 2:24:17 PM

ngapat wrote:

This is the status quo that needs to be challenged.The believe banks needs Mpesa more than mpesa needs banks is what makes them bow to whatever torture they get from mpesa.
Equity realized this and is trying to find an alternative to Mpesa and i believe its just a matter of time before Safaricom feels its impact.

Mpesa works simply because you don't need a bank account to conduct your business. If the banks have a better system then for sure the customers will come.
doubletap
#28 Posted : Saturday, August 29, 2015 3:55:30 PM

True and that is where smart phones come in with an app on there phones and banks like Equity why would you need mpesa. Granted Mpesa has opened up the market and made it easier to pay and get paid the banks can and should set up this system. If you think about it they don't even need a mobile operator licence, they need to form a company that only works on the app and the service, how the customer connects is the customers preference, safaricom, equitel, orange or zuku as long as the app works you can transact.

It is still early days but the writting is on the wall mpesa will not survive for long as a monopoly.

Mike Will
#29 Posted : Saturday, August 29, 2015 4:30:51 PM

doubletap wrote:

True and that is where smart phones come in with an app on there phones and banks like Equity why would you need mpesa. Granted Mpesa has opened up the market and made it easier to pay and get paid the banks can and should set up this system. If you think about it they don't even need a mobile operator licence, they need to form a company that only works on the app and the service, how the customer connects is the customers preference, safaricom, equitel, orange or zuku as long as the app works you can transact.

It is still early days but the writting is on the wall mpesa will not survive for long as a monopoly.

And how would you sell this to mpesa customers?
#30 Posted : Saturday, August 29, 2015 7:58:50 PM

Mike Will wrote:
doubletap wrote:

And how would you sell this to mpesa customers?

What wins for Mpesa is the simplicity in substituting cash transactions. It is a simple USSD (SMS) based system and a good substitute for cash. Plans to upgrade it to more complex systems like the linking with bank accounts, debit cards and mobile apps have failed. @doubletap is missing it.
enyands
#31 Posted : Sunday, August 30, 2015 3:10:16 AM

ngapat wrote:
watesh wrote:
ngapat wrote:
The banks should start by cancelling the linking of bank accounts to mpesa.
Then they can combine together and start their own network or mvno since people want money on their mobiles

Good luck with that

Hahaha banks need mpesa more than mpesa needs them. Remember mpesa started and grew without any help from a bank.
One strategy they can employ is bill payments from your mobile or online. A number of people get salaries into their bank accounts, bypass safaricom and get a payment platform that is efficient and easy to use.
Am waiting for Equitel to introduce DSTV, KPLC prepayments and others and my mpesa usage will drop by 80%

All the organs of the body were having a meeting, trying to decide who was the one in charge...

"I should be in charge," said the brain , "Because I run all the body's systems, so without me nothing would happen."

"I should be in charge," said the blood , "Because I circulate oxygen all over so without me you'd waste away."

"I should be in charge," said the stomach," Because I process food and give all of you energy."

"I should be in charge," said the legs, "because I carry the body wherever it needs to go."

"I should be in charge," said the eyes, "Because I allow the body to see where it goes."

"I should be in charge," said the rectum, "Because Im responsible for waste removal."

All the other body parts laughed at the rectum And insulted him, so in a huff, he shut down tight. Within a few days, the brain had a terrible headache, the stomach was bloated, the legs got wobbly, the eyes got watery, and the blood Was toxic. They all decided that the rectum should be the boss

The Moral of the story? Even though the banks get all the credit .... safaricom is usually in charge
#32 Posted : Sunday, August 30, 2015 6:42:22 AM

moneydust wrote:
doubletap wrote:
Mike Will wrote:
doubletap wrote:

If the banks get a MVNO license they can give the customer the option of sending money to a bank account or a mobile phone number..just like Equitel.
If I were Safaricom I would be very worried about giving banks the motivation to come up with an alternative system.These high charges that its levying are doing just that.

The MVNO will still run using some telco's infrastructure eg Equitel and Airtel. How much is Equity paying Airtel?
watesh
#33 Posted : Sunday, August 30, 2015 4:21:34 PM

moneydust wrote:
doubletap wrote:
Mike Will wrote:
doubletap wrote:

The MVNO will still run using some telco's infrastructure eg Equitel and Airtel. How much is Equity paying Airtel?

I think the MVNO approach is only good if you have a high number of customers
wazuaguest
#34 Posted : Sunday, August 30, 2015 4:41:45 PM

Chase bank are also toying with the idea of an MVNO but I would suggest to banks to apply for an MVNO through the KBA and then share the resources. But knowing banks this is far fetched
Africa belongs to Africans.
shocks
#35 Posted : Monday, August 31, 2015 10:27:33 AM

wazuaguest wrote:
Chase bank are also toying with the idea of an MVNO but I would suggest to banks to apply for an MVNO through the KBA and then share the resources. But knowing banks this is far fetched

When small banks couldn't roll out atms on their own, they had to work together under kenswitch to fend off competition from the big guys. We might see another cooperation here.
Banks can actually hack this, make payment of bills possible and use their atm network.
#36 Posted : Monday, August 31, 2015 2:52:26 PM

The M-Pesa simplicity is amazing- ID and PIN# only and you are done. Various bank's iterations make it complex and a lot of people get lost in between. Eg when i want to transfer cash online from my bank account to my Mpesa, i need internet connection, a bank generated password etc which is just cumbersome and not worth it.
#37 Posted : Monday, August 31, 2015 5:18:50 PM

it is simple because there is no better alternative, before cars, horses were the best modes of transport
#38 Posted : Monday, August 31, 2015 5:38:25 PM

kyt wrote:
it is simple because there is no better alternative, before cars, horses were the best modes of transport

I dont think this is a car/horse kind of thing. There are alternatives just that no other does it like Safaricom. There's Airtel money, equitel, orange money, mobikash, etc Some of these banks are thriving because of integrating their systems with the MPESA platform. Eg CBA which now has 10M+ customers just because of Mshwari. MPESA has close to 19M+ users. There are so many alternative out there for those who are not happy with Safcom to use
doubletap
#39 Posted : Monday, August 31, 2015 7:36:47 PM

kyt wrote:

True, the process is pain free so to speak and the same could be done with an app. Log in and your good to go hide all the complexity from the user. With the app on your phone you just need the other persons no and amount which bank or network then does not matter. Then you could get a SMS confirmation
#40 Posted : Monday, August 31, 2015 7:41:49 PM

doubletap wrote:
kyt wrote:

True, the process is pain free so to speak and the same could be done with an app. Log in and your good to go hide all the complexity from the user. With the app on your phone you just need the other persons no and amount which bank or network then does not matter. Then you could get a SMS confirmation

You are very naive. How many ppl in kenya have smart phones? Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly