wazua Sun, May 3, 2026

How will the teachers payhike influence the economy?
#11 Posted : Thursday, August 27, 2015 2:44:02 PM

Mike Will wrote:
More government money squandered on recurrent expenditure. I don't see any benefits for the tax payer.

It will still be squandered regardless. Better many people eating it spread through out the country, than a few elite!
Mike Will
#12 Posted : Thursday, August 27, 2015 2:47:29 PM

Mike Will wrote:
More government money squandered on recurrent expenditure. I don't see any benefits for the tax payer.

It will still be squandered regardless. Better many people eating it spread through out the country, than a few elite!

I hope you are being sarcastic.
#13 Posted : Thursday, August 27, 2015 2:54:01 PM

I like this ruling,

The govt leaders will need to look at themselves in the mirror to see the solution to the teachers pay crisis. How is it that Mpigs, CS's and high cadre govt positions earn on average 10 times what a teacher earns yet they expect the teachers to buy the same packet of milk, take their children through scholling etc.

There is also alot of wastage on per diems in endless conferences and trips to Mombasa and to foreign countries, let them cut down on this wastage.

As mentioned above, paying teachers will spread the wealth.
Liv
#14 Posted : Thursday, August 27, 2015 10:56:22 PM

I am not against the teachers salary increase. However We have a huge problem where everyone is thinking about how to get more from the exchequer ...legally or illegally without much increase in productivity. I expect the other civil servants to follow the teachers' script to have their salaries increased. A precedence has now been set and our Justice system does not care where funds will come from. We will continue borrowing to finance our excesses and greed as a people. At this rate Kenya will be in the same or in a worse situation than Greece in the next 5 to 10 years.
#15 Posted : Friday, August 28, 2015 6:36:35 AM

1.4b shared among 288000 people per month, si ni kidogo sana?

Yaani ni kama lunch moja serena per teacher. What is the hype about?

Anyway this is a kind of economic stimulus which goes to machinani. Teachers will have more purchasing power, wanunue safaricom airtime, phombe sigara na Kadhalika, more taxes for the government, more investment new employment opportunities etc
Cornelius Vanderbilt
#16 Posted : Friday, August 28, 2015 8:18:56 AM

what pay hike ? kwani kuna pesa? teachers are really out of touch with reality.
githundi
#17 Posted : Friday, August 28, 2015 8:53:10 AM

The problem is not teachers pay rise. It is the huge wage disparities where top civil servants earn about 80 times the wage of poorly paid civil servants.
The reason being we supposedly belief that our economy can support huge salaries for few top civil servants but always against salary increases for the many junior servants as supposedly the economy cannot support their salary increase.
I belief that where the Salaries and remuneration commission has failed us.
Democracy does not belong to the dead
wazuaguest
#18 Posted : Monday, August 31, 2015 9:16:40 AM

unfortunately no one has any moral authority to speak against teachers pay hike.MPs,MCA,Senators Judges,the hapless Sarah Serem commission etc.So the government should pay them and hope this spurs a national debate on public service salaries otherwise everybody should continue demanding for higher salaries until we reach Greek levels.Then we can take a cut,if that is the only way to learn.
Africa belongs to Africans.
jerry
#19 Posted : Monday, August 31, 2015 9:30:09 AM

wazuaguest wrote:
unfortunately no one has any moral authority to speak against teachers pay hike.MPs,MCA,Senators Judges,the hapless Sarah Serem commission etc.So the government should pay them and hope this spurs a national debate on public service salaries otherwise everybody should continue demanding for higher salaries until we reach Greek levels.Then we can take a cut,if that is the only way to learn.

True. It's the only way! A "casual" in the tea indystry is earning 23,000/= per month and a teacher 17k. And yes, the problem is disparities in salaries. MCA earning like a member of parliament? How many MCAs in Kenya?
The opposite of courage is not cowardice, it's conformity.
shocks
#20 Posted : Monday, August 31, 2015 10:18:28 AM

jerry wrote:
wazuaguest wrote:

True. It's the only way! A "casual" in the tea indystry is earning 23,000/= per month and a teacher 17k. And yes, the problem is disparities in salaries. MCA earning like a member of parliament? How many MCAs in Kenya?

huku ni wapi nitume mtu