Sports
2015 world athletics championships Beijing
Rank: Elder Joined: 10/4/2006 Posts: 13,821 Location: Nairobi
Obi 1 Kanobi wrote:bebeto wrote:From BBC "Kenyans fail doping test World Athletics Championships Posted at 11:54 Kenyan runners Koki Manunga and Joyce Zakary have tested positive for doping at the World Athletics Championships, the IAAF has announced. The 400m runners were targeted in pre-competition tests at their team hotel and have been handed provisional bans." Soiling the good name of others! These are no-name atheletes, no impact on our image. would worry if our frontline runners were caught doping, likes of Ezekiel Kemboi, Rudisha. Youtube man and our golden ladies etc. Hawa can dope as much as they want, only make sure they get away with it. I actually suspect inadvertent use - these are really no-name athletes competing in events where there is no pressure to win medals. si our world would fall apart if the big names were mentioned? Ben Johnson style!! All Mushrooms are edible! Some Mushroom are only edible ONCE!
Rank: Member Joined: 10/24/2013 Posts: 455 Location: Nairobi
Hyvin Kiyeng Jepkemoi wins gold medal for Kenya in 3000 Metres Steeplechase
Uram wrote:Hyvin Kiyeng Jepkemoi wins gold medal for Kenya in 3000 Metres Steeplechase raundi hii - we are taking them to the cleaners! All Mushrooms are edible! Some Mushroom are only edible ONCE!
We are laying down the law Absolutely loving this. "The purpose of bureaucracy is to compensate for incompetence and lack of discipline." James Collins
Let us pray for Asbel Kiprop Formal education will make you a living. Self-education will make you a fortune - Jim Rohn.
The Commonwealth Champion threw the third furthest distance ever and the longest effort by anyone in the last 14 years. It is better to keep your mouth closed and let people think you are a fool than to open it and remove all doubt... -Mark Twain
must say.... it feels nice to be Kenyan this year! by the way.... Eunice Sum and Co. wanakimbia lini? All Mushrooms are edible! Some Mushroom are only edible ONCE!
Hotbed of Gold medals!!
From BBC "Kenya which has a history of doping..."
Rank: Elder Joined: 2/22/2009 Posts: 2,449 Location: Africa
Two of our athletes caught doping. Hope all the winners are clean
Rank: Member Joined: 2/24/2010 Posts: 637 Location: Nairobi
Shak wrote:Two of our athletes caught doping. Hope all the winners are clean All the winners are clean.Its sweet victory n corporate sponsorships should be directed at this and Malkia strikers and stop wasting funds in football as in comparative advantage talk. The only thing necessary for the triumph of evil is for good men to do nothing.
The Guardian was breathless in its description of Yego’s winning heave on its live blog:
An astonishing throw by Julius Yego! He literally launches himself into his third attempt, straining every sinew as he releases the javelin and falling face down onto the floor. His nipples will have taken a hell of a scraping there. It’s ungainly. Unorthodox. And my goodness it’s worth it, the spear flying way past the 90-metre mark! It’s a throw of 92.72, a season’s best! And the Commonwealth record, previously held by Steve Backley.
By winning a world title Yego "amegonga ndipo". Youtube will make him the richest athlete Kenya has ever produced. His is a simple heartwarming story that everyone in the world can identify with. Am so happy for him.
Rank: Elder Joined: 12/27/2012 Posts: 2,256 Location: Bandalungwa
keraka wrote:Shak wrote:Two of our athletes caught doping. Hope all the winners are clean All the winners are clean.Its sweet victory n corporate sponsorships should be directed at this and Malkia strikers and stop wasting funds in football as in comparative advantage talk. But Malkia strikers have lost all their matches at the ongoing world cup. Anyway if you want succesful sports teams, then throw money at grassroots and youth levels. Don't concentrate all the money at the top.
Rank: Elder Joined: 12/17/2009 Posts: 3,583 Location: Kenya
Alba wrote:keraka wrote:Shak wrote:Two of our athletes caught doping. Hope all the winners are clean All the winners are clean.Its sweet victory n corporate sponsorships should be directed at this and Malkia strikers and stop wasting funds in football as in comparative advantage talk. But Malkia strikers have lost all their matches at the ongoing world cup. Anyway if you want succesful sports teams, then throw money at grassroots and youth levels. Don't concentrate all the money at the top. at least they qualified for the world cup, corporate sponsorship is not involved at the grassroots - that's the work of the federations, the companies come in when the teams are well exposed to reap max benefits and at the same time benefiting the team especially financially.
Rank: Elder Joined: 12/27/2012 Posts: 2,256 Location: Bandalungwa
nakujua wrote: at least they qualified for the world cup, corporate sponsorship is not involved at the grassroots - that's the work of the federations, the companies come in when the teams are well exposed to reap max benefits and at the same time benefiting the team especially financially.
I believe you are mistaken on this. Do you remember Copa Coca Cola and Safaricom sakata ball? These were tournaments that involved youth at the grassroots and unearthed a lot of talent. The likes of Johana Omollo who is now based in Belgium was unearthed in sakata ball. Its a model that could have also been adopted to other sports like basketball and volleyball. But Nyamweya ruined it by demanding kitu kidogo from Safaricom
smano wrote:This just tarnishes all the good work that has been done so far...hopefully it doesn not become a media circus. I hope the Kenyan athletics federation imposes lifetime bans to deter anyone else because the world will start thinking we have been doping all these years irrespective of whether short or long distance On a different note though, let me throw a spanner in the works....was that the strongest 400M hurdles lineup out there? I'm not trying to water down Nicholas Bett's efforts and achievement but I'd be very happy knowing we beat the best. I don't follow that particular race closely. I must admit I was wrong about Rudisha @ Kusadikika, clearly he had a plan and it worked out - nice analysis. Ezekiel Kemboi demonstrated vigorously by pointing at his head with both index fingers ( which by the way I found quite an unnecessary jibe aimed at his nearest rival) that you need brains as much as brawn to win. #ProudlyKenyan @Smano, that was the best team out there, Bett beat the defending champion, he ran the best time of 2015, it was no fluke!!! ..."Wewe ni mtu mdogo sana....na mwenye amekuandika pia ni mtu mdogo sana!".
Sports
2015 world athletics championships Beijing