wazua Sun, Nov 17, 2024

Thuo Investments plots
Wagash
#1 Posted : Tuesday, March 09, 2010 10:21:06 AM

I saw an ad on citizen tv about plots in Kilimambogo being sold by Thuo investments. Any experience with Thuo investment would be appreciated. Are they genuine? Would also appreciate tel numbers for Thuo since i did not take the contacts
The most important thing in life is not so much where we are but in what direction we are moving
#2 Posted : Tuesday, March 09, 2010 1:13:52 PM

If he's the same Thuo who was selling plots in Kitengela near Yukos then I've dealt with them and they are genuine. That said you need to take every precaution when buying land.

#3 Posted : Wednesday, March 10, 2010 6:20:29 AM

This is a MZEE by the name George Thuo who has absolutely no relationship with the MP....apart from the fact that they hail from the same constituency!
Fundaah
#4 Posted : Wednesday, March 10, 2010 6:33:31 AM

That said you need to take every precaution when buying land.

Please list some of them for our information
Isaiah 65:17-Look! I am creating new heavens and a new earth, and no one will even think about the old ones anymore
#5 Posted : Wednesday, March 10, 2010 8:35:18 AM

Fundaah wrote:
Please list some of them for our information

1. There's no such thing as Gentleman's agreement in land. There are more devils than angels in that sector.
2. If money is going to change hands make sure your lawyer is involved. make sure it's not just any lawyer/advocate/commissioner of oaths but one who's well-versed with property...
3. Get the plot number and follow it up. Sad to say this but you might need to chota kitu kidogo at Ardhi Hse for someone to tell you who owns the title and whether there's a dispute with the land. Also check whether the it's currently being held by a bank as security.
4. Check with the area land office.
5. Don't use the Agent's lawyer/advocate. Most insist you do this but it's not advisable.

Fundaah
#6 Posted : Wednesday, March 10, 2010 9:03:57 AM

Thanks 2012
(BTW why did you choose this name?)...great infor...

Look at this scenario...
A land company bought land in 1992.Sub-divide it into small plots ... sold it to members and issued share certificate..members can transfer the land to a third party... the company has a musteroll where any member who transfers his share is struct off and the new owner is listed ...The original owner has to do a sale agreement in own hand writing and sign that he /she does not have any further claim to the company or new owner and give the original certificate to the new owner with his name struck off and the new owner included...transfers and sale agreements are done at the land buying company s office and signed by the directors...The land buying company is owned by old wazees and has been in existence since early 70s..and no complaints so far..
No lawyers are involved and it looks like a clean deal ...Do you think this is a clean deal or their is a room for conmanship?

Isaiah 65:17-Look! I am creating new heavens and a new earth, and no one will even think about the old ones anymore
#7 Posted : Wednesday, March 10, 2010 9:41:55 AM

@fundaah

I joined SK in 2006 but I stopped usinng the Yahoo email I'd registered with and couldn't join Wazua with my old username hence 2012. I believe 2012 is the make or break for this nation. It's also said Nastrodamus and the Mayan calendar have this as the end of the world, not forgetting Placentas coming to rule Kenya. It's one year I'm really looking forward to.

As for the certificate issue, I never get into such deals because your land will be under some committee's discretion (read chairman and his family) not forgetting that they are the custodians of the most important document of that land. You'll never be at peace especially if you settle there with your family. The holder of the title owns the land.
Imagine buying a new car without a log book and in the back of your head you know that someone else somewhere has it, will you be at peace as driving that car?

Fundaah
#8 Posted : Wednesday, March 10, 2010 10:17:32 AM

2012 , the only problem is that most plots in Embakasi... Utawala.... Ruai... Syokimau are on share cerificates...Titles processing is on progress...If one has to wait until the titles are out ,given the ever appreciating land prices....plots will be out of reach...what is the worst that can happen on plots on share cerificates under a Limited liability land buying company?
When will title deeds ever been issued efficiently like birth certs and passports ?
Wa_ithaka
#9 Posted : Wednesday, March 10, 2010 12:03:59 PM

2012-with you on certificates. Imho its worth buy land on certificate if its for speculation rather than investing purposes. Somebody has advised that having a copy of the original title deed alongside the certificate might help. Your view?
The Governor of Nyeri - 2017
Fundaah
#10 Posted : Wednesday, March 10, 2010 12:38:08 PM

On the certificate...they indicate the LR no.of that land ..I believe you can do a search using the LR number...is it? How about also having a map of the plot including the LR no. is it of any help...also someone answer me...what is the worst that can happen when you are holding a plot against share certificate of a limited liability land buying company established in 1970s?
As indicated earlier seriously I am out of the stock market till 2013... God willing ..purely for the sake of my heart ... the small harvested shares investment has to land somewhere...
#11 Posted : Wednesday, March 10, 2010 12:41:45 PM

Wa_ithaka wrote:
2012-with you on certificates. Imho its worth buy land on certificate if its for speculation rather than investing purposes. Somebody has advised that having a copy of the original title deed alongside the certificate might help. Your view?

My friend, I have been conned twice buying land. Luckily I had all my money returned but after a long time. The first time was by an agent and the second was by a relative of the land owner. So pardon my overly cautious approach to land dealings. Trust no one. Go to Ardhi house and get details of the title before someone comes to you with a fake colour photocopy of a title like it happened in my case.

Wagash
#12 Posted : Wednesday, March 10, 2010 1:13:39 PM

Thanks people for your good advice. Will do my research and exercise all necessary caution.
The most important thing in life is not so much where we are but in what direction we are moving
Fundaah
#13 Posted : Wednesday, March 10, 2010 1:31:58 PM

Are there plots sizes which can be too small(eg 60fx40f) to be entitled to an independent title deed?....excuse my calousness on land matters..
Wa_ithaka
#14 Posted : Wednesday, March 10, 2010 1:54:28 PM

Fundaah-imho, any piece of land has to have a title deed. If you use that as a starting pt, I think you go further. I've heard people say that if you buy land on certificates, the potential upside is higher once you get the title deed, but I'm don't think (and I stand to be corrected), any bank would lend to you using the certificate as security alone.
In conclusion, unless, you are buying for a short speculative period, go the whole hog and get the deed.
Btw, there are ways of avoiding the bribery cost at Ardhi House.
Fundaah
#15 Posted : Wednesday, March 10, 2010 2:10:06 PM

Wa_ithaka wrote:
Btw, there are ways of avoiding the bribery cost at Ardhi House.

share with me on :
fundaah08@gmail.com

Fundaah
#16 Posted : Thursday, March 11, 2010 5:54:13 AM

There will be new demolitions to allow by-pass:

http://www.nation.co.ke/...0/-/pl452d/-/index.html

Just wondering , how comes people constructed permanent houses on the by-passes...does it mean there are areas on the by-pass that were allocated title deeds ? who is to blame...the owners or the Government for giving title deeds on a by-pass?

And does anyone have a map of the bypass especially at Utawala area?
haiyaa
#17 Posted : Thursday, March 11, 2010 7:16:57 AM

Fundaah wrote:
And does anyone have a map of the bypass especially at Utawala area?

On the same note ,is that murram road at Utawala from Syokimau side where the bypass will pass?
murenj
#18 Posted : Saturday, March 20, 2010 8:07:38 AM

some one please holler to me the contacts of this THUO mzee
Pablo
#19 Posted : Monday, October 11, 2010 12:56:47 PM

Sorry to revive this topic.
Did anyone invest.

They are saying the titles will come out in 4 months. Did they also say the same then??
Wa_ithaka
#20 Posted : Monday, October 11, 2010 1:59:26 PM

Want to know the same. Has anybody visited the location of the plots?