wazua Sun, Jun 21, 2026

6 Pages<12345>»
Sugar politics
limanika
#21 Posted : Friday, August 14, 2015 8:34:35 PM

Alba wrote:
limanika wrote:
@ alba, and how is Uganda doing it? Instead of MCAs & governors from western going to Uganda to learn they instead go to Turkey and other places for shopping!!

Based on what I am reading, Uganda itself does not have a sugar surplus. They also import cheap sugar from elsewhere. But it is so cheap that they can export some to Kenya. I do not understand./Brick wall Brick wall Brick wall

@ alba, Uganda has a thriving sugar industry that's my understanding. Hii story ya cheap import from elsewhere is what will happen... crooks Will import through Somalia and package as Uganda sugar... n those opposing are salivating...
Alba
#22 Posted : Friday, August 14, 2015 8:49:42 PM

limanika wrote:
Alba wrote:
limanika wrote:
@ alba, and how is Uganda doing it? Instead of MCAs & governors from western going to Uganda to learn they instead go to Turkey and other places for shopping!!

Based on what I am reading, Uganda itself does not have a sugar surplus. They also import cheap sugar from elsewhere. But it is so cheap that they can export some to Kenya. I do not understand./Brick wall Brick wall Brick wall

@ alba, Uganda has a thriving sugar industry that's my understanding. Hii story ya cheap import from elsewhere is what will happen... crooks Will import through Somalia and package as Uganda sugar... n those opposing are salivating...

So you are saying that only crooks will benefit from this deal?
limanika
#23 Posted : Friday, August 14, 2015 8:57:28 PM

Alba wrote:
limanika wrote:
Alba wrote:
limanika wrote:

So you are saying that only crooks will benefit from this deal?

Don't put words in my mouth.. akina sony will continue to produce.. m7 will export to Kenya (sounds strange? ) his quota as agreed.. . and the crooks will also import and sell.. packaged as Ugandan or Kenya sugar..
#24 Posted : Friday, August 14, 2015 11:06:04 PM

Alba wrote:

good points, but large scale mechanized farming will still kill the mumias and chemelil farmers, and will end up benefiting a few plantation lords.
Hapa hakuna solution to the sugar cane belt people at the end of the day in the continually globalized climate they will be the losers.

If they still want to deal with sugar, they would need to form cooperatives and use their leadership to press the government to give them some advantage in importing sugar and selling the same locally, instead of their leadership continually complaining about Uganda.

Lakini kama ni options; beef, poultry, cotton ...

It may benefit a few plantation lords but at least it will keep Mumias Sugar, SoNY and other factories viable au siyo?

In terms of other options, I think beef is out because grade cattle do not survive there for some reason. This makes commercial ranching difficult.

Cotton is out because it also requires heavy mechanization and large scale farms in order to be viable. This is why cotton which used to thrive in Kisumu in the 1970s is dead.

Also I understand that cotton requires a certain type of soil that has very good drainage. This is what made the Kisumu area ideal for cotton.
What also made Kisumu ideal is the climate which is very dry during the harvesting season. Excessive rain ruins cotton.

That leaves only poultry.

I was thinking more of Boran, Zebu types smile
But honestly the small scale farmers who are the main point contention here need to look far and beyond the box. Growing new skills and gaining experience can take some time, lakini for now anything is better than sugar.
#25 Posted : Friday, August 14, 2015 11:10:46 PM

kollabo wrote:
Am from western and its saddening. The problem is not Uhuru, the problem is not Uganda the problem is that we cannot see a lie even if the lie slaps us in the face.

True, we need prosperity politics, not the politics being played especially in this instance - siasa za ufukara.

SUgarcane in western kenya has proved time and time again that it can't compete with imports, thus the protectionist measures in place, and even with that we are still unable to run profitable sugar companies since greed has taken over.

Blocking imports is not the solution, given that those shouting loudest are clad in foreign imported suits, why don't they order fabric from rivatex wapeleke kwa local tailors washone nguo zao.

Nyasaye!

rikhtswa madimoni ghosi, kwenya mang'ondo si mang'ana genine. smile
#26 Posted : Saturday, August 15, 2015 8:33:23 AM

Rahatupu wrote:
I read Charles Onyango Obbo yesterday and I'd suggest we go the Uganda way and privatize all govt owned sugar mills.

maybe we should... the status quo is not working. we are having expensive sugar, tax payer money is being used to keep these factories a float and the worst thing is WE KNOW THAT THERE IS CHEAP SUGAR OUT THERE!

How comes the Muhindi at Butali,Western Kenya, Transmutation etc are making money? From the foregoing, it's apparent that privatisation of these mills would unlock the industry so to speak. GoK should quit this industry period.
#27 Posted : Saturday, August 15, 2015 4:22:48 PM

Small scale farming where government is heavily represented can never be profitably done. Having grown up in Central, we used to grow coffee and nowhere did we have government involvement. Even when time came to powersaw the coffee bushes it was, mkulimas choice.Dairying is too in the hands of the farmers and their local coops.

Bailouts are only a cover up as it has been proven small scale cane farming lacks economies of scale to profitably produce sugar.

Wacha we now use musevenis sugar
jokes
#28 Posted : Monday, August 17, 2015 8:36:39 AM

Alba wrote:

good points, but large scale mechanized farming will still kill the mumias and chemelil farmers, and will end up benefiting a few plantation lords.
Hapa hakuna solution to the sugar cane belt people at the end of the day in the continually globalized climate they will be the losers.

If they still want to deal with sugar, they would need to form cooperatives and use their leadership to press the government to give them some advantage in importing sugar and selling the same locally, instead of their leadership continually complaining about Uganda.

Lakini kama ni options; beef, poultry, cotton ...

It may benefit a few plantation lords but at least it will keep Mumias Sugar, SoNY and other factories viable au siyo?

In terms of other options, I think beef is out because grade cattle do not survive there for some reason. This makes commercial ranching difficult.

Cotton is out because it also requires heavy mechanization and large scale farms in order to be viable. This is why cotton which used to thrive in Kisumu in the 1970s is dead.

Also I understand that cotton requires a certain type of soil that has very good drainage. This is what made the Kisumu area ideal for cotton.
What also made Kisumu ideal is the climate which is very dry during the harvesting season. Excessive rain ruins cotton.

That leaves only poultry.

I was thinking more of Boran, Zebu types smile
But honestly the small scale farmers who are the main point contention here need to look far and beyond the box. Growing new skills and gaining experience can take some time, lakini for now anything is better than sugar.

What our farmers need is a knowledge from their sons,daughters, brothers, sister, whom they struggled to send to school, to study and bring back that knowledge and improve their lives in the village AKA AGRICULTURISTS;
In the Israel Negev deserts i saw farms called kibbutz that use soil blown by winds from Africa that fall on one side of a hill and they collect this fine dust as soil to farm vegetables, fruits and raise cows in place that as not rained in the last 7 years and they export this produce.
Kenya is Eden compared to Israel we just have the wrong people advising our parents and relatives.

Tokyo
#29 Posted : Monday, August 17, 2015 12:33:50 PM

Liberalise the damn industry
work to prosper
#30 Posted : Monday, August 17, 2015 12:49:44 PM

Politicians owe Mumias

http://www.nation.co.ke/.../-/v7f4dfz/-/index.html!

6 Pages<12345>»