wazua Wed, Jun 24, 2026

6 Pages123>»
Sugar politics
#1 Posted : Thursday, August 13, 2015 9:19:37 PM

How comes Uganda is producing cheaper sugar kutuliko, hata kama ni magendo, Brazil - Kenya - Uganda and back to Kenya is cheaper.
Why not protect other sectors.
limanika
#2 Posted : Friday, August 14, 2015 1:27:53 AM

Corruption. That 10-20per cent mark up every supplier to sugar companies must pay, that cut the sugar company bosses must make b4 paying farmers, this is what is killing our sugar, coffee and tea industries. Dairy is in private hands so it's safe.
#3 Posted : Friday, August 14, 2015 11:16:36 AM

Inefficiencies and poor management.
#4 Posted : Friday, August 14, 2015 11:21:43 AM

limanika wrote:
Corruption. That 10-20per cent mark up every supplier to sugar companies must pay, that cut the sugar company bosses must make b4 paying farmers, this is what is killing our sugar, coffee and tea industries. Dairy is in private hands so it's safe.

perhaps we should fix this! sioni vile sugar transported 11,000kms to Mombasa and shipped to Kampala and shipped back to Nairobi still beats Sugar from western! we should ask ourselves hard questions - for how long shall we enable this problem? imagine the sugar industry still has issues bila hii 'cheap' sugar from Brazil via Mombasa and Kampala! what is their excuse? we can see how cheap sugar would ruin their market but even right now it's in the industry is in the ICU and yet it's protected. We need to fix our sugar industry or move on! who says we must plant sugar? we can do other things! Central Kenya uprooted Coffee and Tea which is/was against the law! if something does not work for you - don't wait for other people to fix it for you.. take a step yourself... Kama haina faida... WACHANA NAYO!
#5 Posted : Friday, August 14, 2015 11:30:05 AM

I have found @guka and @mawinder quite knowledgeable in matters sugar. Would want to hear their take on this one. I tried getting into distributorship kumbe ni system ya majambazi.

What I know is that the vultures are salivating. They are very well connected and finance presidential campaigns seriously.I think there is more money in sugar than hard drugs in kenya.
gmg
#6 Posted : Friday, August 14, 2015 12:15:34 PM

I always wonder why farmers in Western Kenya keep on clinging on sugar?? In Central when the coffee returns dwindled people descended on those coffee trees with power saws. and moved on to dairy which is vey efficient so why cant westerners adopt the same approach. Even in Kiambu pple uprooted coffee and planted rental houses instead.
kollabo
#7 Posted : Friday, August 14, 2015 12:35:41 PM

Am from western and its saddening. The problem is not Uhuru, the problem is not Uganda the problem is that we cannot see a lie even if the lie slaps us in the face.
#8 Posted : Friday, August 14, 2015 2:48:02 PM

kollabo wrote:
Am from western and its saddening. The problem is not Uhuru, the problem is not Uganda the problem is that we cannot see a lie even if the lie slaps us in the face.

True, we need prosperity politics, not the politics being played especially in this instance - siasa za ufukara.

SUgarcane in western kenya has proved time and time again that it can't compete with imports, thus the protectionist measures in place, and even with that we are still unable to run profitable sugar companies since greed has taken over.

Blocking imports is not the solution, given that those shouting loudest are clad in foreign imported suits, why don't they order fabric from rivatex wapeleke kwa local tailors washone nguo zao.
#9 Posted : Friday, August 14, 2015 3:00:19 PM

I read Charles Onyango Obbo yesterday and I'd suggest we go the Uganda way and privatize all govt owned sugar mills.
#10 Posted : Friday, August 14, 2015 3:27:54 PM

Rahatupu wrote:
I read Charles Onyango Obbo yesterday and I'd suggest we go the Uganda way and privatize all govt owned sugar mills.

maybe we should... the status quo is not working. we are having expensive sugar, tax payer money is being used to keep these factories a float and the worst thing is WE KNOW THAT THERE IS CHEAP SUGAR OUT THERE!
6 Pages123>»