Hillary Clinton presidential bid
Alba wrote:Nabwire wrote:Alba wrote:Having a hispanic wife will not get Jeb Latino votes. They don't care about his wife. Look at the latest polls and you see that Hillary leads Jeb among Latinos 67-25. Hillary's problem is with white liberals who care about issues like the environment and abortion and who think she is to friendly with big business.
Back in 1984 and again in 2008, some in the media suggested that having a female running mate would get the women vote. It never happened. So having a latino wife likely will not cut it.
Heck Ted Cruz and Marco Rubio are Latinos but they likely will not get most latino votes especially Ted Cruz.
However if Jeb promises immigration reform with a plan they like, he might get a lot of votes as his brother did. However Jeb will have a tough time winning the primary.
The fact that Latinos prefer Jeb to Marco Rubio shows they do not automatically care about race or tribe. They just want immigration reform. You are being very emotional over this. Most of what you have written is just rhetoric. Back in 2007, Hillary was leading Obama by a huge margin and was the favorite to win the Democratic ticket, how things change! I will hazard to guess that you do not live in the US, if you can say something like Latinos dont care about Jeb Bush's wife!!!! The only thing you got right is Jeb may have a hard time being nominated as the Republican candidate, once he gets this nomination, he might as well start taking portraits that will be hung at the White House. Kusadikika is more on point. Then please tell us this: If they care so much about his wife then how come he still trails Hillary badly in the polls? How come Obama trailed Hillary badly in the polls? You do realize that we have over a year before the elections right? You do realize polls are just that polls, and they change over time.
Rank: Elder Joined: 12/27/2012 Posts: 2,256 Location: Bandalungwa
Nabwire wrote:
How come Obama trailed Hillary badly in the polls? You do realize that we have over a year before the elections right? You do realize polls are just that polls, and they change over time.
Obama trailed Hillary because in 2007 he was an unknown quantity. He had to work hard to introduce himself to the public. Hillary was well known. But Jeb is already well known. People know him and his wife. He was Florida governor and comes from a famous family. Look if Latinos cared so much about who is latino and who is not, don't you think they would all line up behind Rubio and Cruz?
nakujua wrote:when I look at the crystal - huyu Clinton hatakuwa president, she won't even get the nomination. my ignorance tells me that between clinton and jeb, hakuna tofauti - both are anti gay, pro war and sweethearts to the 1%. With the former carrying lots of baggage and if by some miracle she gets the nomination the baggage will keep her from crossing that ka finish line. Nasikia fununu on the ground that the republicans would love to battle her.
By the way over the weekend kulikuwa na tu plots tulikuwa tunauzwa some place huko pa, and there were a good number of kenyans buying - I was amazed by the kenyan contingent turnout, being duped. We do not take people seriously who make opinions based on ignorance, if it was based on your crystal blue balls, we would have taken you seriously If Obiero did it, Who Am I?
Alba wrote:Kusadikika wrote:
@Alba, your argument has one major flaw, it is rational. You have assumed that Latino voters are rational people and that they only vote on issues and that their major issue is immigration. That may be so but I would want to suggest that all people and that includes Latinos vote more on emotion than clear cut rational issues and that is why campaigns are so important. The candidate that people "feel" best wins and it is here that Jeb IF he gets to be the Republican candidate will have a big advantage over Hillary in winning the Latinos. Not because of his wife but because he speaks their language. He speaks Spanish fluently.
Latinos in the US live in a parallel country with the rest of the people there. They speak their own language, watch their own TV stations and listen to their own radios. There are so many Latinos who are citizens of the US and have lived there most of their lives but don't speak English and because they only interact with their own they live very comfortably and do not lack for anything.
Jeb, IF he becomes a candidate will be the first presidential candidate who will be able to speak to them in their own language. You can be sure he will give an interview to every major Latino radio and TV station and like Mandela said when a man speaks to you in a language you understand he speaks to your mind but when he speaks to you in your own language he speaks to your heart. That is why even young children will for years forget everything that Obama said but will always remember that he said "Niaje wasee" and "Hawayuni"
He could say everything Hillary says in English in Spanish and that will make all the difference. The Latinos in the US are from different places so they speak with different accents and different dialects but I am told that even by Latino standards Jeb learnt proper Spanish so he speaks Spanish sanifu and they enjoy listening to it just the way all Kenyans who speak bad Kiswahili enjoy listening to Swaleh Mdoes Kiswahili sanifu. It also helps that his stand on immigration is Latino friendly. In my opinion Jeb Bush will have a harder task winning the Republican Party Nomination than winning the general election. IF he is the GOP candidate he will be president.
You just wasted a lot of paragraphs rebutting a non-existent argument. You built a straw man and pummeled it into the ground. I was discussing whether or not Latinos will vote for Jeb Bush because of his wife. I never discussed whether they will vote for him because he can speak Spanish. In any case, emotions aside, Latinos will vote for a candidate whom they think will address their most pressing issue. Many Mexicans are watching their relatives who do not have papers miss out on opportunities for jobs, college etc. They badly want their relatives and friends to get papers. If they find a candidate whom they think will address this issue to their satisfaction, that is whom they will vote for. If latinos were as emotional as you claim then they would all be clamouring to vote for Rubio, Cruz and Jeb. Note that Jeb Bush has been airing TV commercials of himself speaking in Spanish since as far back as October 2014 yet he still trails Hillary among Latinos by a factor of 71-26 or 67-30 depending on which poll you use. That fact alone renders your argumenty about emotion mute. You are right.
Rank: Elder Joined: 12/17/2009 Posts: 3,583 Location: Kenya
Swenani wrote:nakujua wrote:when I look at the crystal - huyu Clinton hatakuwa president, she won't even get the nomination. my ignorance tells me that between clinton and jeb, hakuna tofauti - both are anti gay, pro war and sweethearts to the 1%. With the former carrying lots of baggage and if by some miracle she gets the nomination the baggage will keep her from crossing that ka finish line. Nasikia fununu on the ground that the republicans would love to battle her.
By the way over the weekend kulikuwa na tu plots tulikuwa tunauzwa some place huko pa, and there were a good number of kenyans buying - I was amazed by the kenyan contingent turnout, being duped. We do not take people seriously who make opinions based on ignorance, if it was based on your crystal blue balls, we would have taken you seriously  sasa how does one make an opinion about a far away land, without ignorance - even a househelp who happens to live with the masters only spreads rumors about the same household.
Rank: Elder Joined: 12/17/2009 Posts: 3,583 Location: Kenya
Alba wrote:Nabwire wrote:
How come Obama trailed Hillary badly in the polls? You do realize that we have over a year before the elections right? You do realize polls are just that polls, and they change over time.
Obama trailed Hillary because in 2007 he was an unknown quantity. He had to work hard to introduce himself to the public. Hillary was well known. But Jeb is already well known. People know him and his wife. He was Florida governor and comes from a famous family. Look if Latinos cared so much about who is latino and who is not, don't you think they would all line up behind Rubio and Cruz? Forgive my ignorance, lakini hata guys from cuba are latinos (in the american sense) - had always thought latinos ni those illegal migrants from mexico.
Trump is on fire hahaha!!!! The dude thinks he's in a boardroom "There are only two emotions in the market, hope & fear. The problem is you hope when you should fear & fear when you should hope: - Jesse Livermore .
Rank: Veteran Joined: 11/17/2009 Posts: 2,040 Location: GA
murchr wrote:Trump is on fire hahaha!!!! The dude thinks he's in a boardroom Jeb perfomance was below par as long as trump is around it will be very hard for jeb or anyone else to shine and breakaway from the rest. As one pundit put it the winner tonight was hillary
Rank: Veteran Joined: 4/16/2014 Posts: 1,420 Location: Bohemian Grove
madollar wrote:murchr wrote:Trump is on fire hahaha!!!! The dude thinks he's in a boardroom Jeb perfomance was below par as long as trump is around it will be very hard for jeb or anyone else to shine and breakaway from the rest. As one pundit put it the winner tonight was hillary Trump is possibly the worst kind of competition you can face because he has nothing to lose.
whiteowl wrote:madollar wrote:murchr wrote:Trump is on fire hahaha!!!! The dude thinks he's in a boardroom Jeb perfomance was below par as long as trump is around it will be very hard for jeb or anyone else to shine and breakaway from the rest. As one pundit put it the winner tonight was hillary Trump is possibly the worst kind of competition you can face because he has nothing to lose. You are right. I remember in the days when City Council of Nairobi had those toilets that never used to be cleaned in the middle of the city and chokoras would hide in them and then come out holding human s*it in their hands and even some would apply it on their bodies. They would snatch wallets and steal women's purses and just walk casually away taunting you to fight them. They could do anything they wanted and were very daring because they knew nobody wanted to smell like sh*t for fighting them.
Hillary Clinton presidential bid