wazua Sun, Dec 7, 2025

Nairobi Traffic of Late
bird_man
#1 Posted : Tuesday, March 09, 2010 7:45:30 AM

For the last one week I swear something has been going wrong.I leave work at around 8.30pm and I just dont understand how there can be traffic jam at that hour!There was jam even yesterday at 9pm....

Is it just me or is the city getting really unbearable?Is any road closed some place?
Formally employed people often live their employers' dream & forget about their own.
#2 Posted : Tuesday, March 09, 2010 8:11:33 AM

I agree - can't understand whats cutting, and why there should be a jam at 9pm.

The longest I stayed in a jam was on Msa Rd from 9pm to 2am.
Yes, till 2 am. I have never understood exactly what happened and will clearly be seeking an explanation from St Peter at the Pearly Gates when the time comes. Some Kenyans are enterprising and did quick buisiness on that night - carrying a huge battery on a wheel barrow and restarting cars whose batteries had conked out for 50/=.
#3 Posted : Tuesday, March 09, 2010 8:41:49 AM

Muranga/forest rds closed
#4 Posted : Tuesday, March 09, 2010 9:09:35 AM

The biggest contibuter to the snarl up on Tom mboya and Murang'a road is the big Potholes right in the middle of the Globe round about right outside the entry to the Chinese site. It slows the traffic outflow on Thika road.
#5 Posted : Tuesday, March 09, 2010 9:09:43 AM

Univeristy way slip road closed. Very important road. Bunyala road expansion and a burst water pipe at the Globe roundabout that the city engineers have been unable to fix.
bird_man
#6 Posted : Tuesday, March 09, 2010 9:13:19 AM

The city buggers & traffic police need to do something urgently!It's getting crazy.....we are headed the Lagos traffic jam way. I think I will get a chopper soon!

Imagine being sold a house in South C ati "It's located 4mins drive from the City Centre".....haha!They should add...."On Sunday mornings only!"
Formally employed people often live their employers' dream & forget about their own.
anasazi
#7 Posted : Tuesday, March 09, 2010 9:31:49 AM

I share your frustration. The jam has become infuriating to say the least. Mpaka Sunday nowadays is no longer such a safe day. And sometimes its small things.... like the trench that was dug near Central police. Kazi iliisha but nobody fixing the road! Madness!
Form is temporary, class is permanent
tuvok
#8 Posted : Tuesday, March 09, 2010 9:50:04 AM

bird_man wrote:
The city buggers & traffic police need to do something urgently!It's getting crazy.....we are headed the Lagos traffic jam way. I think I will get a chopper soon!

Imagine being sold a house in South C ati "It's located 4mins drive from the City Centre".....haha!They should add...."On Sunday mornings only!"

Kweli! Kwanza the guys selling houses hapo mlolongo say that it's '10 minutes from Nyayo stadium'. Mostly true - coz with moderate traffic you can be near there in ten minutes. Near enough to see Nyayo stadium, but passing it could take another 2 hrs. :)
#9 Posted : Tuesday, March 09, 2010 10:08:58 AM

Poleni jameni.....The closest i have come to a jam is when the a neighbors donkey lay on the road and refused to give way to the bijuti...I am such a lucky idiot.
#10 Posted : Tuesday, March 09, 2010 10:17:29 AM

At least lets appreciate the fact that the jams r 4a gud cause. Wacheni baro zijengwe.
#11 Posted : Tuesday, March 09, 2010 10:18:52 AM

@Guka
Do you have to rub it in?Nktsmile
Njunge wrote:
Poleni jameni.....The closest i have come to a jam is when the a neighbors donkey lay on the road and refused to give way to the bijuti...I am such a lucky idiot.

Last Thursday at noon,i stayed in traffic for an hour and a half,from Old nation roundabout to Museum hill. Yaani my client who was waiting for me somewhere along Peponi rd,thought i was making up stories to cover for my lateness...until he also got stuck on Friday,at the same stretch of the road for 2hrs!

I used to take 20min to my office,but of late,it takes a cool 40min! It's sheer madness in Nairobi of late!!!
AmHere
#12 Posted : Tuesday, March 09, 2010 10:50:37 AM

Mimi pia ni kama Njunge. Thank the heavens for flexible working hours and work locations! Had even forgot what a jam felt like until I had to do some rounds the other day and almost died of frustration.
Ja-Kom
#13 Posted : Tuesday, March 09, 2010 11:04:30 AM

Poleni,..smileHameni Nbi.I take 6 minutes(sita) frm my hse to town..............in Kisumu.So Guka,iko pamoya nawe!
For just as through the disobedience of the one man the many were made sinners, so also through the obedience of the one man the many will be made righteous. Romans 5:19
Bree
#14 Posted : Tuesday, March 09, 2010 11:46:11 AM

The metropolitan city-(if its ever to be) could actually decongest nai traffic

but on a positive side, you can efficiently utilise the 2+hrs stuck on traffic.
If driving, buy some audio books depending on your tastereally
If in a mathree u can really read or study
If walking-you'll save on ur gym membership
#15 Posted : Tuesday, March 09, 2010 11:53:23 AM

I have decided I'll leaving my car in town overnight so that I have no jam issues and come next morning I have no parking problems either ...teheee
#16 Posted : Tuesday, March 09, 2010 12:34:45 PM

Daily Schedule:
07:45 hrs: Leave House, take brisk walk to office
07:55 hrs: Arrive at Office.
13:05 hrs: Leave office for the house for lunch.
13:15 hrs: Have leisury lunch, enjoy lunch time music.
13:45 hrs: Leave house for office.
13:55 hrs: Arrive at Office for after lunch session.
17:30 hrs: Leave office for the day, for house.
17:45 hrs: Arrive house change and get ready for evening, either inhouse or out.

The joys of working outside Nairobi City, eh metropolitan, Capital City, East African Hub, whatever.
centerbolt
#17 Posted : Tuesday, March 09, 2010 2:37:00 PM

so anybody wazuaing akiwa kwa jam....update on mpigs road towards msa road.....nataka kuishia saa hii
Wa_ithaka
#18 Posted : Tuesday, March 09, 2010 2:57:28 PM

We need to move the city to Isiolo. The traffic is way too much. I won't even open the chapter on Thika Road...
The Governor of Nyeri - 2017