POTUS Obama in Kenya
PeterReborn wrote:Much Know wrote:maka wrote:murchr wrote:PeterReborn wrote:Much Know wrote:Worst part of whole visit for Kenya was KU, what a letdown! you have many nice buildings lakini hao maprofessor wenu hapana, quite shallow.  Boss you need to get your facts right. KU was just used as a venue for the meeting with the civil society but that doesnt mean that the civil society members were professors.Obama went to open the YALA centre in KU.KU has heard tremendous growth under Mugenda and even the student population surpassed THE in more than three years now. I was wondering what these guys here are saying. Civil society ndio imeitwa professors. I watched it all and I liked the way Obama put down some of them esp those who were asking him to get into the business of governing. Most of them had very good presentations that Obama took note of. The elephant lady, the maasai girl from Pangani, the muslim gal mobilizing women to get into anti-radicalization campaign even Obama admitted to have learnt from her. Or did I miss something? Hio ya shallow professors ndio ipi tena? Mugenda was not even present She was present seated at the back in a black and white skirt suit.Even the Elephant guy who spoke before Dr.Paula was on point hadi Obama said that he spoke eloquently... Apologies if am wrong, huyo begging mama from family of 41 children identified herself as having attained doctoral studies (unfortunately someone told me KU/lecturer), there were KU lecturers inside. However it's not only the misspelled billboards, there is definitely an emerging quality issue with KU, a bit overcrowded/over expanding kind of thing. The woman aint a professor at KU.Which university in Kenya doesn't have quality issues?You need to ask anyone who has undertaken an MBA at THE.VERY Overcrowded. Stop defending KU so much. KU has significant challenges with quality of education and management. Worse than any found at UoN and Moi. Their quantity over quality policy is simply a sham. New building and infrastructure doesn't equal a great learning environment. "Occasionally I drop a tea cup to shatter on the floor. On purpose. I am not satisfied when it does not gather itself up again. Someday perhaps that cup will come together."
Truth be told, some of those fellows at KU - whoever they were - were asking extremely stupid questions and giving bull crap stories. You are given a chance to ask the leader of the free world (whatever the hell that is) and you start telling stories about how you have three girls of your own who have not gone far because of "these other girls". What the hell??? What do you expect Obama to do? Ati I want to start sijui what where they are married bla bla bla! Eish!!! When you get a chance like that, you ask a thought provoking question that might even affect policy in future in one way or the other. The minute you get the invite, you should brainstorm on things that you have issues with that POTUS can do something about, research, talk to people, heck, get ideas from a forum like this and refine your question. Look at your question, interrogate it's relevance, what you aim to achieve etc. Sio kuleta pang'ang'a just for the sake. Never count on making a good sale. Have the purchase price be so attractive that even a mediocre sale gives good returns.
Bykhovets wrote: Stop defending KU so much. KU has significant challenges with quality of education and management. Worse than any found at UoN and Moi. Their quantity over quality policy is simply a sham. New building and infrastructure doesn't equal a great learning environment.
KU and Mugenda have done great in terms of infrastructure and failed miserably in terms of quality education! And that is why institutions need a change of guard. Mugenda should now leave and KU gets someone with a focus on QUALITY EDUCATION. Mugenda has done his bit with infrastructural development. The Quality of education at KU is a joke! Classes of hundreds of students! How do you teach a fellow in first year calculus with a microphone while he is at the back of a class of 500 students? How does a lecturer supervise a CAT being done by 500 people? Does he even bother to mark the CATs? If he has 6 classes, those are 3000 students/Scripts. You expect him to mark 3000 CAT I, 3000 CAT II, 3000 assignment I, 3000 assignment II, 3000 Final Exam scripts??? Seriously? You expect him to engage the students and discuss their work/ideas. Not in a million years!!! KU also had full Engineering departments with no single Engineer or even a lecturer trained in the area the course is focusing on! Even the chairman is from a different discipline - like History or Linguistics!!! Read the Engineers Board of Kenya Report on KU Engineering courses and you will not believe your eyes!!! Total joke. Never count on making a good sale. Have the purchase price be so attractive that even a mediocre sale gives good returns.
MaichBlack wrote:Bykhovets wrote: Stop defending KU so much. KU has significant challenges with quality of education and management. Worse than any found at UoN and Moi. Their quantity over quality policy is simply a sham. New building and infrastructure doesn't equal a great learning environment.
KU and Mugenda have done great in terms of infrastructure and failed miserably in terms of quality education! And that is why institutions need a change of guard. Mugenda should now leave and KU gets someone with a focus on QUALITY EDUCATION. Mugenda has done his bit with infrastructural development. The Quality of education at KU is a joke! Classes of hundreds of students! How do you teach a fellow in first year calculus with a microphone while he is at the back of a class of 500 students? How does a lecturer supervise a CAT being done by 500 people? Does he even bother to mark the CATs? If he has 6 classes, those are 3000 students/Scripts. You expect him to mark 3000 CAT I, 3000 CAT II, 3000 assignment I, 3000 assignment II, 3000 Final Exam scripts??? Seriously? You expect him to engage the students and discuss their work/ideas. Not in a million years!!! KU also had full Engineering departments with no single Engineer or even a lecturer trained in the area the course is focusing on! Even the chairman is from a different discipline - like History or Linguistics!!! Read the Engineers Board of Kenya Report on KU Engineering courses and you will not believe your eyes!!! Total joke. We totally lost it on University education.... possunt quia posse videntur
Bykhovets wrote:PeterReborn wrote:Much Know wrote:maka wrote:murchr wrote:PeterReborn wrote:Much Know wrote:Worst part of whole visit for Kenya was KU, what a letdown! you have many nice buildings lakini hao maprofessor wenu hapana, quite shallow.  Boss you need to get your facts right. KU was just used as a venue for the meeting with the civil society but that doesnt mean that the civil society members were professors.Obama went to open the YALA centre in KU.KU has heard tremendous growth under Mugenda and even the student population surpassed THE in more than three years now. I was wondering what these guys here are saying. Civil society ndio imeitwa professors. I watched it all and I liked the way Obama put down some of them esp those who were asking him to get into the business of governing. Most of them had very good presentations that Obama took note of. The elephant lady, the maasai girl from Pangani, the muslim gal mobilizing women to get into anti-radicalization campaign even Obama admitted to have learnt from her. Or did I miss something? Hio ya shallow professors ndio ipi tena? Mugenda was not even present She was present seated at the back in a black and white skirt suit.Even the Elephant guy who spoke before Dr.Paula was on point hadi Obama said that he spoke eloquently... Apologies if am wrong, huyo begging mama from family of 41 children identified herself as having attained doctoral studies (unfortunately someone told me KU/lecturer), there were KU lecturers inside. However it's not only the misspelled billboards, there is definitely an emerging quality issue with KU, a bit overcrowded/over expanding kind of thing. The woman aint a professor at KU.Which university in Kenya doesn't have quality issues?You need to ask anyone who has undertaken an MBA at THE.VERY Overcrowded. Stop defending KU so much. KU has significant challenges with quality of education and management. Worse than any found at UoN and Moi. Their quantity over quality policy is simply a sham. New building and infrastructure doesn't equal a great learning environment. All universities in Kenya have major shortcomings and for Kenya to grow these shortcomings must be addressed.The discussion about which university in Kenya is better is neither here nor there.What we need is the universities need to engage and train graduates to be prepared for the Job market.We need to start inculcating the spirit of entrepreneurship so that the students are not only job seekers but also Job creators. The idea of incubation centres in universities such as the The Chandaria Centre and the mentorship programs with Equity in KU are good initiatives. Universities need to engage the private sector to ensure that what is being trained is relevant to the market and that employers do not have to retrain the students too much so that they understand what happens they need to do in the job market.Strathmore University has been doing very well in Engaging private companies such as the various trainings done by IT companies. The Kenyan universities need to learn from Harvard Business school,Pretoria University and other Top universities on how to provide quality education to students. Consistency is better than intensity
MaichBlack wrote:Bykhovets wrote: Stop defending KU so much. KU has significant challenges with quality of education and management. Worse than any found at UoN and Moi. Their quantity over quality policy is simply a sham. New building and infrastructure doesn't equal a great learning environment.
KU and Mugenda have done great in terms of infrastructure and failed miserably in terms of quality education! And that is why institutions need a change of guard. Mugenda should now leave and KU gets someone with a focus on QUALITY EDUCATION. Mugenda has done his bit with infrastructural development. The Quality of education at KU is a joke! Classes of hundreds of students! How do you teach a fellow in first year calculus with a microphone while he is at the back of a class of 500 students? How does a lecturer supervise a CAT being done by 500 people? Does he even bother to mark the CATs? If he has 6 classes, those are 3000 students/Scripts. You expect him to mark 3000 CAT I, 3000 CAT II, 3000 assignment I, 3000 assignment II, 3000 Final Exam scripts??? Seriously? You expect him to engage the students and discuss their work/ideas. Not in a million years!!! KU also had full Engineering departments with no single Engineer or even a lecturer trained in the area the course is focusing on! Even the chairman is from a different discipline - like History or Linguistics!!! Read the Engineers Board of Kenya Report on KU Engineering courses and you will not believe your eyes!!! Total joke. The problem is not Peculiar to KU.you go for an MBA class in UON with over 200 students at Ambank House.The microphone is not working and he has no projector.He scribbles something on the board where even the students sitting on the front seats cannot see.Some lecturers attend less than 50% of the classes as they are busy consulting. The problem with our universities is greed for money.They are now running as businesses and have little focus on the quality of education. Consistency is better than intensity
Much Know wrote:maka wrote:murchr wrote:PeterReborn wrote:Much Know wrote:Worst part of whole visit for Kenya was KU, what a letdown! you have many nice buildings lakini hao maprofessor wenu hapana, quite shallow.  Boss you need to get your facts right. KU was just used as a venue for the meeting with the civil society but that doesnt mean that the civil society members were professors.Obama went to open the YALA centre in KU.KU has heard tremendous growth under Mugenda and even the student population surpassed THE in more than three years now. I was wondering what these guys here are saying. Civil society ndio imeitwa professors. I watched it all and I liked the way Obama put down some of them esp those who were asking him to get into the business of governing. Most of them had very good presentations that Obama took note of. The elephant lady, the maasai girl from Pangani, the muslim gal mobilizing women to get into anti-radicalization campaign even Obama admitted to have learnt from her. Or did I miss something? Hio ya shallow professors ndio ipi tena? Mugenda was not even present She was present seated at the back in a black and white skirt suit.Even the Elephant guy who spoke before Dr.Paula was on point hadi Obama said that he spoke eloquently... Apologies if am wrong, huyo begging mama from family of 41 children identified herself as having attained doctoral studies (unfortunately someone told me KU/lecturer), there were KU lecturers inside. However it's not only the misspelled billboards, there is definitely an emerging quality issue with KU, a bit overcrowded/over expanding kind of thing. If she said that she attained doctoral studies, does that make her an automatic KU professor? That conservation man had an interesting presentation, yes Obama acknowledged it but he was also blunt enough to tell everyone else to keep it short and simple. Anyway, now i see the discussion has changed from the profs to the quality of education in KU. The quality of education in public unis is on a death bed. If you really want an education and not papers, go to Strathmore, USIU or Catholic Universities. The others are in the business of making money for papers. "There are only two emotions in the market, hope & fear. The problem is you hope when you should fear & fear when you should hope: - Jesse Livermore .
PeterReborn wrote:MaichBlack wrote:Bykhovets wrote: Stop defending KU so much. KU has significant challenges with quality of education and management. Worse than any found at UoN and Moi. Their quantity over quality policy is simply a sham. New building and infrastructure doesn't equal a great learning environment.
KU and Mugenda have done great in terms of infrastructure and failed miserably in terms of quality education! And that is why institutions need a change of guard. Mugenda should now leave and KU gets someone with a focus on QUALITY EDUCATION. Mugenda has done his bit with infrastructural development. The Quality of education at KU is a joke! Classes of hundreds of students! How do you teach a fellow in first year calculus with a microphone while he is at the back of a class of 500 students? How does a lecturer supervise a CAT being done by 500 people? Does he even bother to mark the CATs? If he has 6 classes, those are 3000 students/Scripts. You expect him to mark 3000 CAT I, 3000 CAT II, 3000 assignment I, 3000 assignment II, 3000 Final Exam scripts??? Seriously? You expect him to engage the students and discuss their work/ideas. Not in a million years!!! KU also had full Engineering departments with no single Engineer or even a lecturer trained in the area the course is focusing on! Even the chairman is from a different discipline - like History or Linguistics!!! Read the Engineers Board of Kenya Report on KU Engineering courses and you will not believe your eyes!!! Total joke. The problem is not Peculiar to KU.you go for an MBA class in UON with over 200 students at Ambank House.The microphone is not working and he has no projector.He scribbles something on the board where even the students sitting on the front seats cannot see.Some lecturers attend less than 50% of the classes as they are busy consulting. The problem with our universities is greed for money.They are now running as businesses and have little focus on the quality of education. But KU is notorious for this. MBA at THE has the same problem. The numbers are crazy. I understand there was a time some fellows were not sitting for CATs. They could simply hire undergraduate students who could study and sit for the CATs on their behalf. I don't know if this still happens given that nowadays I believe they ask for IDs at the entrance to ensure only bonafide students attend classes. Apparently some time back some random Kenyans (non students) could attend selected classes for knowledge. Never count on making a good sale. Have the purchase price be so attractive that even a mediocre sale gives good returns.
The long and short of it is to me KU was the worst session full of Kenyan beggars with Phds, problem with these beggers is they have begged elsewhere 'in your name' and messed up, i know they chew money meant to benefit all from grants "mara youth women e.t.c" and when they saw Obama, these "intellectuals" all started by begging, instead of trying to learn from Obama and also we to learn, Obama had already set aside 1billion dollors "for women entreprenuers" (will end up with these grant people na maproposal zao not businessmen)selfish people, mimi, I, myself, whether ni mambo na elephant which we should know better, sijui woiyishe mamuslims, 41 children family e.t.c are all nonsense and it happened at KU, if that has nothing to do with KU i don't know. Even their begging ideas were not so good Time would have been better spent listening to mama mbogas and gumzo mtaani problems. Ras Kienyeji Man
Much Know wrote:The long and short of it is to me KU was the worst session full of Kenyan beggars with Phds, problem with these beggers is they have begged elsewhere 'in your name' and messed up, i know they chew money meant to benefit all from grants "mara youth women e.t.c" and when they saw Obama, these "intellectuals" all started by begging, instead of trying to learn from Obama and also we to learn, Obama had already set aside 1billion dollors "for women entreprenuers" (will end up with these grant people na maproposal zao not businessmen)selfish people, mimi, I, myself, whether ni mambo na elephant which we should know better, sijui woiyishe mamuslims, 41 children family e.t.c are all nonsense and it happened at KU, if that has nothing to do with KU i don't know. Even their begging ideas were not so good Time would have been better spent listening to mama mbogas and gumzo mtaani problems. How about you paste the link to this session ama it was off camera? "There are only two emotions in the market, hope & fear. The problem is you hope when you should fear & fear when you should hope: - Jesse Livermore .
POTUS Obama in Kenya