wazua Sun, Jun 21, 2026

7 Pages«<34567>
Obama visit - claiming moral high ground
#41 Posted : Monday, July 27, 2015 11:02:45 AM

Obama is a nice person, at least he's come to us so that we can celebrate his achievement and our achievement as a people.

He shared with us his core idea of how we should run our politics via his political ideas that have enabled him to be President for two terms, under conditions that many would deem hostile to the people of his race. He emphasized on liberalism, secularism, autonomy, and interestingly, communalism - like in his challenge to the youth and support for women - probably a 'soft feminism'.

He told us that corruption is our greatest weakness, and made some recommendations.

But we shouldn't forget that he was only speaking of his experience, something tempered by his own effort and interest. He represents a body politic that's playing a very different role from ours in the global scheme of things. Nay, it should be a moot point whether the ideas he's shared with us are what we need as a people and body politic. We have many opinions but policy isn't an easy matter, even for the US.

West Churchman's 'Challenge to reason' that reason takes more use of Science and its methods in the solving of problems even at the State level goes yet un-met. Yet I have no doubt that's the way forward to a peaceful and equitably flourishing world. For human consciousness is greatly enhanced by the scientific tools; nay, it's an inheritance from the ancients.

Going by the difference between how the US and Kenya compare with respect to Science, then one would be tempted to say that Mr. Obama wasn't really trying to be helpful.

The youth are supposed to be innovative and technologically savvy, but these depend on Scientific endeavors. Endeavors that are rooted in our experience, not in our assimilation to what I may call 'Western values'.

#42 Posted : Monday, July 27, 2015 11:55:32 AM

kollabo wrote:
sqft wrote:
Rahatupu wrote:
Shak wrote:
I have just googled Kenyan Minister tells off the United States and found a video of Wetangular on you tube

OAR was the guy on the chop board. He's the one whose been tossing out all manner of scandals at chupilee especially Waiguru, and Hassan.

What Obama said cannot be connected to Raila. Looks more like Martha based on her treatment of Condy Rice in 2008. That is my take with Baba goggles

'Don't lecture us' Kenyan PM tells US

So cousin embarrassed Baba like that. Sob sob sob

Shame! Big shame! Weta had rehearsed his finyo last week.

It could be either Babu, Japan embassy thief aka billboard, watermelon or Martha but it does not matter who and is a message to all opposition. I have now accepted we have a legally elected government till 2017.. Brick wall Brick wall Brick wall Brick wall
#43 Posted : Monday, July 27, 2015 12:20:21 PM

Meanwhile...

#44 Posted : Monday, July 27, 2015 12:25:38 PM

What Stiglitz has to say about Europe and American politics reveals much about how we're in the middle of some desert and how different our thinking should be with respect to our political responsibilities.

http://www.theguardian.c...contender-anti-austerity
#45 Posted : Monday, July 27, 2015 1:06:13 PM

Meanwhile...

But surely, hope he is not serious with what he is asking for. If Kenyans took Obama's speech seriously, he would be among the leaders who wouldn't be voted in.
#46 Posted : Monday, July 27, 2015 1:25:13 PM

Raila and his CORD brigade should not hold a presser on this issue hii maneno should kwisha leo they will look very foolish trying to argue with the most powerful man on earth infact they must try to ensure that the clip is never played again .On the flipside hii ni fodder for jubilee "mliskia atavenye obama alisema kuwahusu"will be very common in their rallies
limanika
#47 Posted : Monday, July 27, 2015 1:39:37 PM

True@madollar. When you realize you're in a hole the wise thing is to stop digging... But.. knowing what calibre we're dealing with... I think they will hold a presser or are seriously considering one... and everything including preparation will take more than the 30min meet with potus..
#48 Posted : Monday, July 27, 2015 1:56:01 PM

Salutations Tyco, Citizens of the Virtual Republic of Wazua.

The hullaballoo that was the POTUS visit notwithstanding, a picture has captured my imagination and refuses to go away.

The excitement it is generating in my little world has surpassed that generated by Jack Bauer and that says a lot.

You have been blessed with the power to look at the world from infinite perspectives. Please indulge me with your vision of this picture.

What does your inner noise say? What do you smell? What was the first thought that entered your mind? What message does it give you?

I mean, think about it. It is the occasion when Mr. Obama becomes the first United States President to visit Kenya.

The specific event centres on entrepreneurship and entrepreneurs.

The Chief Executive Officer of the leading enterprise in East and Central Africa, in his infinite wisdom, decides to do this.

I mean Damn !! Look at the body language. The placement of his right hand. That gaze.

Is this how we should engage in entrepreneurship? What should the “competition” do in response? Supposing they failed to do that, what would be the right interpretation? DAAMMNNN !!

#49 Posted : Monday, July 27, 2015 1:57:37 PM

Meanwhile...

But surely, hope he is not serious with what he is asking for. If Kenyans took Obama's speech seriously, he would be among the leaders who wouldn't be voted in.

especially on the single line of "content of their character"
#50 Posted : Monday, July 27, 2015 3:23:18 PM

limanika wrote:
True@madollar. When you realize you're in a hole the wise thing is to stop digging... But.. knowing what calibre we're dealing with... I think they will hold a presser or are seriously considering one... and everything including preparation will take more than the 30min meet with potus..

They have met the press the body language and probably long/awkward stares from the others will out the culprit. Sasa ni the obama clip vs them on TV,radio,internet plus analysis on print the whole of this week again where is "Think tank" we always hear about
7 Pages«<34567>