wazua Sun, Jun 21, 2026

What's the 1 thing you would tell Uhuru & Potus
#1 Posted : Friday, July 24, 2015 11:04:41 PM

Potus

1. Introduce direct cargo flights into US for our perishable market.Enough of excuses.
2. Reduce trade barriers between US/Kenya.
3. #Thinking#

Uhuru

1. Allow farmers to sell own coffee/tea direct to their sourced markets and set their own price based on current market tariffs.
Societies can regulate but should not determine the final price on farmers behalf.
2. Remove duties on value added coffee/tea- competition for these 2 is stiff and our farmers are losing out.
4. Stop rice imports into Kenya and encourage farmers to grow and export our homegrown pishori rice to markets abroad including US.
5.Waive all storage/demurrage/detention charges incurred for imports as a result of Obama's visit.
6.Make it illegal for foreign investors to buy off large chunks of our land for planting coffee/tea which they later resell abroad. Creates Unfair competition.If they want fair game,land should be 80% locally owned and 20% foreign and Profit split in that ratio.
5.#Thinking#

#2 Posted : Friday, July 24, 2015 11:23:24 PM

Potus

1. Introduce direct cargo flights into US for our perishable market.Enough of excuses.
2. Reduce trade barriers between US/Kenya.
3. #Thinking#

Uhuru

1. Allow farmers to sell own coffee/tea direct to their sourced markets and set their own price based on current market tariffs.
Societies can regulate but should not determine the final price on farmers behalf.
2. Remove duties on value added coffee/tea- competition for these 2 is stiff and our farmers are losing out.
4. Stop rice imports into Kenya and encourage farmers to grow and export our homegrown pishori rice to markets abroad including US.
5.Waive all storage/demurrage/detention charges incurred for imports as a result of Obama's visit.
6.Make it illegal for foreign investors to buy off large chunks of our land for planting coffee/tea which they later resell abroad. Creates Unfair competition.If they want fair game,land should be 80% locally owned and 20% foreign and Profit split in that ratio.
5.#Thinking#

That's why I told you we shall have babies. Wachana na Swenani

Mine is very simple to POTUS

1. Legalise the Kenyans in the US. It may never happen but I can ask shouldn't I?
2. Direct flights to the US are essential to our economy.
3. Let Agoa not work for the brokers but for the producers in Kenya. Funny how Agoa is a big deal to Chandaria whilst we still have this free trade zone in Athi River with horrible pay.

Mr. President Obama. It is essential that you let our country grow to the levels that America has. The main reason America is great is about human rights. With that, we can let the system create entreprenuers who thrive.

As we speak on wazua we have to be careful. Bloggers are being arrested whilst Moses Kuria is still walking.

It is my view Mr. President, that unless you speak about the evils of "undermining", we shall never as a country grow. After all you were "undermining" when you challenged the system. Heck, you are still "underminging" when you say that gays are humans and not rhinos who's horns we can take.

If all I hear in your speech on Sunday is about Al-Shabaab, I shall be very disappointed.

I want you to state clearly that a President should never be allowed to visit a country and close Uhuru Highway just because he's the President. You are actually undermining my livelihood with that behavior.

That is all. Mr. Potus and Karibu Kenya

PS. I just have to say this. Secret Service, f*** you again. This is Kenya. Hii upus wenyu of shutting down Uhuru Highway is undermining my abilities to make money. f*** Potus and lets not meet another of you again in Kenya. We can skype.
#3 Posted : Friday, July 24, 2015 11:48:52 PM

Alma,If you leave Kenya legally to go work and stay in the US and live by the rules without eating your fellow room mate alive, why should it be difficult, after spending many years and renewing your visa?

Potus motorcade in US.-
nothing unusual, but we don't have many options with our limited infrastructure.

@ Potus,please show americans that our products are worth the US export standards by setting an example.ie drink locally brewed coffee,tea,take some fresh flowers,masai/kisii artifacts back to white house where the world can see them :)
#thinking#

#4 Posted : Saturday, July 25, 2015 12:07:31 AM

Alma,If you leave Kenya legally to go work and stay in the US and live by the rules without eating your fellow room mate alive, why should it be difficult, after spending many years and renewing your visa?

Potus motorcade in US.-
nothing unusual, but we don't have many options with our limited infrastructure.

@ Potus,please show americans that our products are worth the US export standards by setting an example.ie drink locally brewed coffee,tea,take some fresh flowers,masai/kisii artifacts back to white house where the world can see them :)
#thinking#

Kysee Im here to speak the truth and not politics.

There are Kenyans 20 yrs old in that country. We need them back. They are too scared to even talk. All they do is send western union. They are there. We need them back. You just have no idea how bad this problem is.

I will stick to my undermining.

It's not the work of gov't to ensure quality of the crap that comes out of Athi River. There are too many Nesbits there.

Let them create a law in the US that says, you can only buy coffee from a farmer in Nyeri. Just like Rwanda and Starbucks.

How come coffee is so cheap in Kenya to the point where a farmer can't pay for airtime lakini huko, kenyan coffee ndiyo mama yao?

Still have to tell the secret service to f*** off. If you think you post about potus and they don't know, you have no idea. Secret service. Don't close my road again. I'm not alshabab. its my home mutherf***ers.

#5 Posted : Saturday, July 25, 2015 12:41:41 AM

Let them create a law in the US that says, you can only buy coffee from a farmer in Nyeri. Just like Rwanda and Starbucks.

How come coffee is so cheap in Kenya to the point where a farmer can't pay for airtime lakini huko, kenyan coffee ndiyo mama yao?

Answer..

1. We export good grade,it's gets blended with other coffees and sold high at starbucks etc.
2. If we add value,the govt.slaps us with duties,it becomes costly and we lose to other markets.
3.Marketing agents take advantage of ignorant farmers.They source and sell to international markets at agreed prices. Ask the poor farmer the selling price of his coffee and he has no clue.
- But who will educate the farmer?
4.We export the best grades AA/AB- and consume low and cheap grades.

That's why it's labelled black gold.
#6 Posted : Saturday, July 25, 2015 12:48:11 AM

Answer..

1. We export good grade,it's gets blended with other coffees and sold high at starbucks etc.
2. If we add value,the govt.slaps us with duties,it becomes costly and we lose to other markets.
3.Marketing agents take advantage of ignorant farmers.They source and sell to international markets at agreed prices. Ask the poor farmer the selling price of his coffee and he has no clue.
- But who will educate the farmer?
4.We export the best grades AA/AB- and consume low and cheap grades.

That's why it's labelled black gold.

I remember entering a dunking donuts. then I'd enter Starbucks and knew I had real coffee.

my cappuccino was 5 bucks. Dunking donuts even had something called Chai on the menu.

Yet my cucu could not afford to keep workers in the farm just to prune.

my experience as these people is simple.

We need Starbucks going direct to the farmer. When that happens I shall believe in Uhuru and the photo ops.
#7 Posted : Saturday, July 25, 2015 1:03:36 AM

Finally.

A decent conversation.

What is exactly required for direct flights to take place between the two nations?

An Executive POTUS order?

Instructions/recommendations from US Transport and Homeland Security Cabinet Secretaries?

NTSA approval?

Senate/Congress recommendation?

There are a number of Congressmen and Senators, including one from their "opposition" GOP around. Are these the people to query during this visit?

what prevents people like the Michuki Family and others who have vast Coffee Estates deal directly with enterprises like Starbucks?

Perhaps if we knew the restraints or hindrances, we would know who to petition, now that they are in "town".

Thinking ....
Tokyo
#8 Posted : Saturday, July 25, 2015 8:11:45 AM

Get the hell out of Somalia
work to prosper
Dahatre
#9 Posted : Saturday, July 25, 2015 9:07:38 AM

To Uhuru regarding direct flights:

Ole Lenku at KAA is a liability...He is remembered for failing to secure Westgate and blaming a light bulb dropping into a trash bin for an airport fire.

mwondoe Ole Lenku if you want to increase JKIA's security rating.
#10 Posted : Saturday, July 25, 2015 10:04:20 AM

Kasin, please show some respect to your cousin. How can you not demand his presence upon your arrival?