wazua Tue, Nov 26, 2024

7 Pages«<23456>»
KPL Teams Continentally
urstill1
#61 Posted : Tuesday, March 11, 2014 5:25:39 PM

kollabo wrote:
@ecstatcy Sofapaka clobbered the living daylights out of Ismailia not Al Ahly. But I agree with you, millions of money should not be an excuse. Supersport chapad Man City in a friendly last year.

Kogalo simply capitulated in this one.

True that.

TP Mazembe made history by becoming the first African side to reach the Club World Cup final. What is their budget comparative to the likes of Barca, Bayern or Real in Europe or those South American teams?

Just this past year [2013], Raja Casablanca made it to the finals of the same Club World Cup with a shoe string budget when compared with the European and South American teams.

There is a lot more to African football success stories than money.

Had all those teams been in the Club World Cup, TP Mazembe wouldn't have been in the final. But again, sometimes it boils down to determination. Compare Zambia and SA in terms of football resources yet Zambia is way more successful due to their determination.
Alba
#62 Posted : Tuesday, March 11, 2014 6:04:51 PM

kollabo wrote:
@ecstatcy Sofapaka clobbered the living daylights out of Ismailia not Al Ahly. But I agree with you, millions of money should not be an excuse. Supersport chapad Man City in a friendly last year.

You are using a friendly as the basis of your argument ?

In any case giving examples of underdog teams that won and saying GM should have done the same does not make sense. For every instance that an underdog wins, there are 10 other instances where they lost.

Winning and losing happens in sports. Sofapaka beat Ismaily but lost several times in the Kenyan league. This is the nature of the game.

You do not measure a team's worth by one game especially a friendly. You measure it by consistency over several years: Esperance has won the Africa champions league very many times, the Tunisian league 18 times and are now leading the Tunisian league by 10 points. Every now and then they might be shocked in the 1st round but that only happens once in a blue moon. Just like Kenya beats NZ in sevens once in a while, only to lose by 50 next time.

Its possible that on any given day Gor Mahia might shock Esperance. But if they play 10 times , Gor Mahia will likely lose 8 times. Same with Sofapaka. Same with Leopards. And please dont compare Ismaily with Esperance.

Having watched the game, I reject the idea that GM capitulated. Esperance were superior tactically. Williamson was outcoached. And Kenya players are simply of low calibre. Kenyans players as boys they grow up playing football with ball ya jwala until they are 17 with no direction from knowledgable adults.

Meanwhile their counterparts in Tunisia are in structured youth development schemes by age 12. Almost all Esperance players are products of youth development and it showed.
#63 Posted : Tuesday, March 11, 2014 6:16:53 PM

Alba wrote:
kollabo wrote:

You are using a friendly as the basis of your argument ?

In any case giving examples of underdog teams that won and saying GM should have done the same does not make sense. For every instance that an underdog wins, there are 10 other instances where they lost.

Winning and losing happens in sports. Sofapaka beat Ismaily but lost several times in the Kenyan league. This is the nature of the game.

You do not measure a team's worth by one game especially a friendly. You measure it by consistency over several years: Esperance has won the Africa champions league very many times, the Tunisian league 18 times and are now leading the Tunisian league by 10 points. Every now and then they might be shocked in the 1st round but that only happens once in a blue moon. Just like Kenya beats NZ in sevens once in a while, only to lose by 50 next time.

Its possible that on any given day Gor Mahia might shock Esperance. But if they play 10 times , Gor Mahia will likely lose 8 times. Same with Sofapaka. Same with Leopards. And please dont compare Ismaily with Esperance.

Having watched the game, I reject the idea that GM capitulated. Esperance were superior tactically. Williamson was outcoached. And Kenya players are simply of low calibre. Kenyans players as boys they grow up playing football with ball ya jwala until they are 17 with no direction from knowledgable adults.

Meanwhile their counterparts in Tunisia are in structured youth development schemes by age 12. Almost all Esperance players are products of youth development and it showed.

Applause Applause Applause Applause Very well said!!!!
#64 Posted : Saturday, March 22, 2014 7:46:03 PM

Top Fry has also fried K'Ogalo 2-0??

It was Top Fry's first win of the season and their first clean sheet. Laughing out loudly

Maybe that 5 nil wasn't such a shocker :)
#65 Posted : Monday, July 20, 2015 12:10:07 PM

Gor played a very good game against Yanga. They should dispatch KMKM with ease later today and qualify for the quarters. I must also say that i think Olunga will be the next big thing in Kenyan football. Can't see him playing in this continent in the next two years if he stays focused.He can dribble, has the height,pace and a sweet left hard shot.
#66 Posted : Monday, July 20, 2015 12:13:33 PM

Gor played a very good game against Yanga. They should dispatch KMKM with ease later today and qualify for the quarters. I must also say that i think Olunga will be the next big thing in Kenyan football. Can't see him playing in this continent in the next two years if he stays focused.He can dribble, has the height,pace and a sweet left hard shot.

Word...intelligent footballer to say the least.
#67 Posted : Monday, July 20, 2015 12:42:44 PM

Copy that!!!
#68 Posted : Monday, July 20, 2015 1:13:13 PM

Copy that!!!

Pus he has the ability to hold the ball very well, wait for support and play that final pass.
Hope he has an equally good agent.
#69 Posted : Monday, July 20, 2015 1:48:22 PM

Copy that!!!

Pus he has the ability to hold the ball very well, wait for support and play that final pass.

Are there football agents in Kenya?????????????
#70 Posted : Monday, July 20, 2015 1:50:47 PM

Copy that!!!

George Bwana will get him a deal I think!!!
#71 Posted : Monday, July 20, 2015 3:52:56 PM

For me the biggest difference for Gor has to be the coach. Nuttal is a very good tactician, he has managed to recruit properly and focus the team on winning achievable goals.

Hope we go deep in this tournament. I am ok with a Semi or even a Quarter showing but I will not be too angry if we win it allsmile smile
#72 Posted : Monday, July 20, 2015 4:11:14 PM

Obi 1 Kanobi wrote:
For me the biggest difference for Gor has to be the coach. Nuttal is a very good tactician, he has managed to recruit properly and focus the team on winning achievable goals.

Hope we go deep in this tournament. I am ok with a Semi or even a Quarter showing but I will not be too angry if we win it allsmile smile

Gor have already scored against KMKM...

1-0 Meddie Kagere....
#73 Posted : Monday, July 20, 2015 4:13:23 PM

Obi 1 Kanobi wrote:

Gor have already scored against KMKM...

1-0 Meddie Kagere....

oops 1-1....
#74 Posted : Monday, July 20, 2015 5:22:26 PM

Copy that!!!

George Bwana will get him a deal I think!!!

Agents are vital especially in this global football scene, it does not augur well that kenya is not a known football power house thus a decent agent is needed to get a player into the European league.

Or he can befriend Wanyama, you never know a good word in the ear of Koeman might do wonders.
#75 Posted : Monday, July 20, 2015 5:33:40 PM

2-1 Gor lead ...Who else...Engineer Olunga
#76 Posted : Monday, July 20, 2015 5:46:07 PM

3-1...Olunga yet again.
#77 Posted : Monday, July 20, 2015 6:00:46 PM

3-1...Olunga yet again.

f***, this is huge!!!!

just what the doctor ordered, finally something for Kenya soccer to brag about.
Alba
#78 Posted : Monday, July 20, 2015 6:31:17 PM

One thing about Olunga I have seen is that unlike many Kenyan strikers, he is fundamentally sound. His movement off the ball is good, his ball control is good and his ability to shoot accurately with both feet is good. He rarely has a wayward shot and his shooting technique is textbook.

But don't sleep on the rest of the team. Sometimes Olunga gets the glory but the supply of balls from midfield and the wings has been very precise.

If you are a GM fan, you should be worried about losing coach Nuttall. This is the best coach GM have had since Len Julians.

And the team is doing well despite financial difficulty so you must also credit the chairman.
Alba
#79 Posted : Monday, July 20, 2015 6:33:37 PM

Funny how Simba fans were cheering Gor Mahia when they played Yanga.

Yaani that Tanzania rivalry is so fierce. No wonder they get 60,000 fans for the mtani jembe derby.
#80 Posted : Monday, July 20, 2015 9:56:11 PM

Alba wrote:
Funny how Simba fans were cheering Gor Mahia when they played Yanga.

Yaani that Tanzania rivalry is so fierce. No wonder they get 60,000 fans for the mtani jembe derby.

....and they were not happy that Gor fans declined to don the white tops!!!