wazua Tue, Sep 24, 2024

Safaricom lowers data bundles charges
#21 Posted : Monday, July 13, 2015 12:30:17 PM

I'm on Airtel 3GB postpaid for 1500/= a month. this is purely for my phone only.

I have never seen 3G, ever. Its always H or H+.

Can I get a better deal? I use almost all the 3GB in a month.

Excuse my thickness! I googled and H+ is faster than 3G apparently.

H+ is for HSDPA+, which delivers much higher speeds than normal 3G. Technically it is an upgraded 3G network. so if you have H+ then your network is faster than if you get only 3G. and H+ is used only for data download. so you will not see it in normal voice calls.

Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly
#22 Posted : Monday, July 13, 2015 1:39:40 PM

@dunkang, How do i post such a screenshot? Mine shows 61.56MB for the same period!
kayhara
#23 Posted : Monday, July 13, 2015 3:10:37 PM

Alfylavie wrote:
Bundle Packages:
150MBs at 50/-
1GB at 500/-
3GB at 1K/-
5GB at 2K/-
12GB at 5K/-
though am still not interested

still expensive but
the 1K one is the best look if I buy 1k+1k I get
6GB instead of 5GB, If I buy 1K 5 times I get 15GB instead of 12GB
but some people won't do this math and suffericom will make money
To Each His Own
#24 Posted : Monday, July 13, 2015 3:45:09 PM

kayhara wrote:
Alfylavie wrote:
Bundle Packages:
150MBs at 50/-
1GB at 500/-
3GB at 1K/-
5GB at 2K/-
12GB at 5K/-
though am still not interested

still expensive but
the 1K one is the best look if I buy 1k+1k I get
6GB instead of 5GB, If I buy 1K 5 times I get 1GB insted of 12GB
but soe people won't do this math and suffericom will make money

Safaricom realised the mistake and changed the information, just as they did with the "Night-Shift for the BigBox".

Here are their bundles;

Daily Data Bundles
7MB ------- 7SMS ------ 5/=
15MB ----- 15SMS ----- 10/=
35MB ----- 35sms ----- 20/=
60MB ----- 60 SMS ---- 30/=
150MB ---- 150SMS ----- 50/=

Weekly Data Bundles
5MB ------ 5/=
10MB ----- 10/=
30MB ----- 30/=
65MB ----- 50/=
130MB ---- 100/=

Monthly Data Bundles
350MB ------ 250/=
1GB -------- 500/=
3GB -------- 1,000/=
7.5GB ------ 2,000/=
12MB ------- 3,000/=

90 Days Data Bundles
6GB -------- 3,000/=
16GB ------- 6,000/=
30MB ------- 9,000/=

Mike Ock
#25 Posted : Monday, July 13, 2015 4:03:14 PM

people praising airtel unliminet with their takataka speeds

WHAT!
You must be accessing Airtel UnlimiNet from mashambani or you live in a hole or your expectations are that of an addict Torrenter/online gamer/live TV Streamer.

I use unliminet in Nbi City center and even huko bundus using a dual sim phone

Iko slow tu saana. I never exhaust my bundles as a result. I will use max 300 mb in a month

Simple google, wazua, fb, twitter sometime

I know other suffering unliminet users

Or are we all on dual sim?

But I like the 400 min to all networks for 1k

most dual sim phones have a 3g slot and the other is edge, unatumia gani for airtel - but for your needs (wazua, fb, twitter) edge is enough smile

I also used to trash Airtel until I discovered this
Mike Ock
#26 Posted : Monday, July 13, 2015 4:06:38 PM

I'm on Airtel 3GB postpaid for 1500/= a month. this is purely for my phone only.

H+ is for HSDPA+, which delivers much higher speeds than normal 3G. Technically it is an upgraded 3G network. so if you have H+ then your network is faster than if you get only 3G. and H+ is used only for data download. so you will not see it in normal voice calls.

Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly

Fair enough, but that H+ still remains intermittent as hell. My main reason for migrating away to Airtel
#27 Posted : Monday, July 13, 2015 4:34:54 PM

Mike Ock wrote:

Fair enough, but that H+ still remains intermittent as hell. My main reason for migrating away to Airtel

Even H is faster than 3G.

Symbol Name Generation Download Speeds UK Date
G GPRS 2G 0.1 Mb/s 2000
E EDGE 2.5G 0.4 Mb/s 2006
3G 3G 3G 2 Mb/s 2003
H HSDPA 3.5G 7.2 Mb/s 2006
H+ HSDPA+ 3.75G 21 Mb/s 2011
LTE LTE /4G 4G 100 Mb/s 2013
Enuma Elish
#28 Posted : Monday, July 13, 2015 5:56:52 PM

My safCON line is purely for Mpesa & Mobile Banking. I alternate between Zuku/Airtel for unlimited Monthly Internet. For calls/Whatsapp/FB, Airtel unliminet sorts me out nicely.
#29 Posted : Tuesday, July 21, 2015 6:02:14 PM

Still very strong with UnlimiNet..... 21 days and am at 6GB for KES 750/- (250*3). See the light people. See the light!!!!

#30 Posted : Thursday, July 30, 2015 9:22:53 PM

LATEST STATISTICS FROM COMMUNICATION AUTHORITY

Ceinz
#31 Posted : Thursday, August 13, 2015 9:37:22 PM

MASTAAJABU za SafCON bundles!!!

He! Im shocked, Safcon recently reviewed their safcon bundles silently. This means:-
1. I can no longer buy my usual 1500 MB + 750 Mb nightshift, 90 day bundle @ 1k, the cheapest 90 day bundle is 6GB @ 3K
2. You can no longer sambaza bundles whatsoever(This means I can no longer sambaza from my phone to my modem), any try is met by the message: Service no longer available!!!
“small step for man”
#32 Posted : Thursday, August 13, 2015 11:12:24 PM

Ceinz wrote:
He! Im shocked, Safcon recently reviewed their safcon bundles silently. This means:-
1. I can no longer buy my usual 1500 MB + 750 Mb nightshift, 90 day bundle @ 1k, the cheapest 90 day bundle is 6GB @ 3K
2. You can no longer sambaza bundles whatsoever(This means I can no longer sambaza from my phone to my modem), any try is met by the message: Service no longer available!!!

Boss, you are behind news!
chris79
#33 Posted : Friday, August 14, 2015 6:45:16 AM

Ceinz wrote:

That's a lie. There is a 1GB bundle at 500 bob. And a thao right now will get you 3GB instead of 1.5
#34 Posted : Friday, August 14, 2015 6:55:49 AM

chris79 wrote:
Ceinz wrote:

That's a lie. There is a 1GB bundle at 500 bob. And a thao right now will get you 3GB instead of 1.5

That 3GB is monthly. @Ceinz probably wants to spend 1k once in 3 months
#35 Posted : Friday, August 14, 2015 7:20:09 AM

Ceinz wrote:

Silently kitu gani? Haki Kenyans!!! They have been running adverts all over the place! When criticizing kindly stick to facts!