M-PESA CON
#21 Posted : Wednesday, June 13, 2012 11:30:22 AM

http://www.nation.co.ke/News/Te...18/-/dxanuc/-/index.html
Teenager arrested in Sh75,000 M-Pesa fraud syndicate

The “Safaricom official” told the girl, who is waiting to join university, to save the number as 234 and present the phone to an M-Pesa agent so that he could facilitate return of the cash.

The suspect claimed she was not aware that she was dealing with criminals and innocently presented the phone to an M-Pesa agent.

According to a police officer investigating the incident, the girl was being held on suspicion that she was working in cahoots with the fraudsters, who went on to withdraw Sh75,000, which was part of the Sh120,000 in the M-Pesa agent’s account.

The officer said the fraudsters hacked into the system and accessed money belonging to M-Pesa agents by issuing instructions and directing agents to key in numbers with the intention of “fishing” their PINs.

At the time she was receiving the instructions, the suspect said she was unable to check whether the money had entered her account because of the incessant calls from the “Safaricom official” who identified himself as Paul Wambua.

The 'customer service manager 'I brushed off bore that name. strange.

Haiya Essyk kumbe u are a teenager!!!!Laughing out loudly
#22 Posted : Wednesday, June 13, 2012 11:35:51 AM

mtcheew!@ chemos

I meant,that Wambua fellow must be the same one who tried to con me with claims that he was a safcom customer service manager.
similar names.

#23 Posted : Wednesday, June 13, 2012 3:09:19 PM

Rahatupu wrote:
ZILLION wrote:
When will it end?(the con game)

There is a common one that goes like:
"uncle mtoto ameumwa na nyoka.... tafadhali nitumie pesa mia mbili niite bodaboda tumkimbize hosi...."

I got this message last year and used a reply I had picked up somewhere - I don't remember where. Even though I'm the one who wrote the reply, every time I read it, I couldn't help but laugh!!!

The reply went something like this:

Siko na pesa sa hii, tafadhali mwambie mtoto amuume nyoka naja.

#24 Posted : Thursday, June 14, 2012 10:27:32 AM

Siko na pesa sa hii, tafadhali mwambie mtoto amuume nyoka naja.

Best reply.

Pierce
#25 Posted : Wednesday, October 22, 2014 2:48:34 PM

Good people, I have also fallen prey, not sure to who but money is lost.

There is an Mpesa log that I withdrew money from an agent afew days ago and offcourse the money already deducted. I did not transact this said entry and was actually very far from the said agency.

Facts of the matter

1) I had my phone with me at the time indicated for the transaction
2) I have never shared my PIN with anyone
3)I have never even transacted using the said agent.
4)The Mpesa agency invlolved has not had any float for a while.

Safaricom has been saying they will call me back but very little help is forthcoming!
thuks
#26 Posted : Wednesday, October 22, 2014 3:57:41 PM

Pierce wrote:
Good people, I have also fallen prey, not sure to who but money is lost.

There is an Mpesa log that I withdrew money from an agent afew days ago and offcourse the money already deducted. I did not transact this said entry and was actually very far from the said agency.

Facts of the matter

1) I had my phone with me at the time indicated for the transaction
2) I have never shared my PIN with anyone
3)I have never even transacted using the said agent.
4)The Mpesa agency invlolved has not had any float for a while.

Safaricom has been saying they will call me back but very little help is forthcoming!

Do you have the thin sim? Someone may do this to fight competition but I hope this is not the case.
I care!
Pierce
#27 Posted : Wednesday, October 22, 2014 4:05:33 PM

I do not have the thin sim.
#28 Posted : Wednesday, October 22, 2014 5:31:15 PM

He he....

Another con trying to act as "Safaricom Customer Care" - 0708640000
#29 Posted : Saturday, July 11, 2015 2:51:44 PM

nitumie hizo pesa kwa hii number
XSK
#30 Posted : Saturday, July 11, 2015 6:53:34 PM

I received this same message several times and I thought it was genuine case. Kumbe ni wakora! Fortunately I ignored telling myself whoever it is will sooner or later find out that he sent msg to the wrong number
You will know that you have arrived when money and time are not mutually exclusive "events" in you life!
#31 Posted : Sunday, July 12, 2015 5:59:22 AM

XSK wrote:

I received this same message several times and I thought it was genuine case. Kumbe ni wakora! Fortunately I ignored telling myself whoever it is will sooner or later find out that he sent msg to the wrong number

This is a very bright but dangerous prank! Imagine if you had agreed with someone to send them money then you see this. If you dont confirm with the recipient before sending, you will lose pesa
#32 Posted : Sunday, July 12, 2015 10:52:19 AM

Just received one of those calls from 0771976834. I have really wasted that idiots 10 minutes. Never laughed so hard on what he called me after he realized am not an idiot! lol lol lol

innairobi
#33 Posted : Sunday, July 12, 2015 12:32:08 PM

lol. way to go. mtu hupotezea hawa watu as much time as possible without using your own money.
All my friends are heathens, take it slow. Wait for them to ask you who you know. Please don't make any sudden moves.