Arunga,a classic case of children raised by single women.
Rank: Member Joined: 2/17/2010 Posts: 234 Location: Nairobi
Rank: Elder Joined: 10/18/2008 Posts: 3,434 Location: Kerugoya
@Seeders, you have such an excellent way of correcting a mistake.  Thank you very much. I owe you one.
aemathenge wrote:@Seeders, you have such an excellent way of correcting a mistake.  Thank you very much. I owe you one. hear, hear
Rank: Elder Joined: 3/2/2009 Posts: 26,330 Location: Masada
Arunga's other name is Adongo according to Clay Muganda today's issue,which am told means the last one of a twin.Is Arunga a twin?@Intelligensia??? Two am told Arunga cleared 4th form at Precious blood at 16 years old and headed straight to AUSI where she "smoked" what is now derailing her.@Intellligensia??? Portfolio: Sold You know you've made it when you get a parking space for your yatcht.
Rank: Elder Joined: 9/23/2009 Posts: 8,083 Location: Enk are Nyirobi
Impunity wrote:Arunga's other name is Adongo according to Clay Muganda today's issue,which am told means the last one of a twin.Is Arunga a twin?@Intelligensia???
Two am told Arunga cleared 4th form at Precious blood at 16 years old and headed straight to AUSI where she "smoked" what is now derailing her.@Intellligensia??? Reliable info that the other twin is a boy who went to Alliance. Life is short. Live passionately.
In no particular relation to Miss Esther Arunga... Single-Parent Families - The Effects On Children "In mother-only families, children tend to experience short-and long-term economic and psychological disadvantages; higher absentee rates at school, lower levels of education, and higher dropout rates (with boys more negatively affected than girls); and more delinquent activity, including alcohol and drug addiction." Read more: http://family.jrank.org/...Effects-on-Children.htmlSet out to correct the world's wrongs and you will most certainly wind up adding to them.
Rank: New-farer Joined: 12/2/2009 Posts: 82 Location: kenya
@ Impunity The KCSE results are out and surprise surprise, the top boy and top girl were all raised by SINGLE MOTHERS!! am just stating a fact!! Opportunity may knock once, but temptation bangs on the front door forever..
Rank: Elder Joined: 3/2/2009 Posts: 26,330 Location: Masada
@mzae.....thats not a fact at all.Even lady Arunga passed very well and headed to AUSI.What matters is what happens once they are left alone to reason independently:Like while in the campuses or abroad.How many of these KCSE fliers keep the fire burning right through Varsity???Tell me a classic example. What they lack is social guidance and not educational. Portfolio: Sold You know you've made it when you get a parking space for your yatcht.
Rank: Elder Joined: 8/1/2008 Posts: 1,432 Location: Marsabit
mzazii wrote:@ Impunity
The KCSE results are out and surprise surprise, the top boy and top girl were all raised by SINGLE MOTHERS!! am just stating a fact!! Mhhh..Impunity,kwani your story has changed now? i thought your first reason for whining was of kids raised by single women? Anyway,other than the top boy and girl in KCSE being raised by single women,the 6th top student and the best boy in BIO were also from single women households. If we dug deeper,am sure we'd find more kids who've excelled academically and elsewhere despite being raised by single women. Nevermind what haters say, ignore them til they fade away - Just live your life
Rank: Member Joined: 5/8/2009 Posts: 263 Location: Gigiri, Nairobi
leona wrote:mzazii wrote:@ Impunity
The KCSE results are out and surprise surprise, the top boy and top girl were all raised by SINGLE MOTHERS!! am just stating a fact!! Mhhh..Impunity,kwani your story has changed now? i thought your first reason for whining was of kids raised by single women? Anyway,other than the top boy and girl in KCSE being raised by single women,the 6th top student and the best boy in BIO were also from single women households. If we dug deeper,am sure we'd find more kids who've excelled academically and elsewhere despite being raised by single women. @ Leona  You sound like the furthest you went in education is high school.  Simply because a girl and a boy from single parent homes emerged tops (Even if the top 100 were from Single families) does not imply such families are the best.  I don't know why I thought you would at least be aware of scientific methods of developing a generalized statement.  Think specimen collection, data analysis, use of research methods, SPSS,  This other members (those attacking Impunity like Mzazii and Mlefu)here can be excused cauze they most likely did abstract subjects in college such as religion and literature.  Dear sister, can we now say Maasai Girls School has proved that girls are better than boys in science subjects?  Its all in the genes  You need to be ashamed of yourself for atleast over the weekend.  In the meantime, I still love you. You are a dear sister to me. >>>>>> A thing of beauty is a joy for ever: Its loveliness increases; It will never pass into nothingness; But still will keep a bower quiet for us, and a sleep full of sweet dreams, and health, and quiet breathing. - Keats
>>>>>>>In life,there are three classes of people, 1. Those who make things happen, 2. Those who watch things happen 3. And those who ask what happened.
Where do you fall?
@leona, pole.... I dont really think you deserved that attack but anyhow.... it is life.
While i do admit that there are challenges in single parenthood, it is unfortunate to pour cold water at all the good jobs single parents are doing. And here, i am saying single parents because there are fathers out there doing a great job for their children on their own. I have a friend whose wife passed away a while back and is doing a great job with his two daughters and my hat's off for him.
In our society, we all have a role to play in these children's lives. We are all affected in one way or the other. For example, instead of sitting pretty throwing stones at the single parents and their children, ask yourself what you are doing about it. these children belong to our sisters, our cousins, our brothers, our fathers. They do not pop up from an island. They re in our lives. what are we doing to make sure, if i am a woman, and my brother's wife passed away, that i am filling the gap for her. Or if your sister has a child and you are a man, that you are stepping in to fill in the gap for this child so that the child does not have to grow up without the father figure? What are you all seated on a holy pedestal throwing stones doing to those children in your families that are affected? Majority of them do not need financial assistance(which is what most people try to avoid), all they need (as is indicated from this thread) is emotional and psychological support.....
Dont forget, those children, could be your own children. We have no control over our lives, you or your spouse could be absent for whatever reason. How would you want your children to grow up? Would you expect your sister or your brother to step in? then do the same for those children of your brothers and sisters that are affected or your children's friends that do not have one spouse. Instead of making noise, do something positive.
The KCSE results are out and surprise surprise, the top boy and top girl were all raised by SINGLE MOTHERS!! am just stating a fact!! Mhhh..Impunity,kwani your story has changed now? i thought your first reason for whining was of kids raised by single women? Anyway,other than the top boy and girl in KCSE being raised by single women,the 6th top student and the best boy in BIO were also from single women households. If we dug deeper,am sure we'd find more kids who've excelled academically and elsewhere despite being raised by single women. @ Leona  You sound like the furthest you went in education is high school.  Simply because a girl and a boy from single parent homes emerged tops (Even if the top 100 were from Single families) does not imply such families are the best.  I don't know why I thought you would at least be aware of scientific methods of developing a generalized statement.  Think specimen collection, data analysis, use of research methods, SPSS,  This other members (those attacking Impunity like Mzazii and Mlefu)here can be excused cauze they most likely did abstract subjects in college such as religion and literature.  Dear sister, can we now say Maasai Girls School has proved that girls are better than boys in science subjects?  Its all in the genes  You need to be ashamed of yourself for atleast over the weekend.  In the meantime, I still love you. You are a dear sister to me. >>>>>> A thing of beauty is a joy for ever: Its loveliness increases; It will never pass into nothingness; But still will keep a bower quiet for us, and a sleep full of sweet dreams, and health, and quiet breathing. - Keats
>>>>>>>In life,there are three classes of people, 1. Those who make things happen, 2. Those who watch things happen 3. And those who ask what happened.
Where do you fall?
Rank: Member Joined: 12/7/2009 Posts: 320 Location: nairobi
@Preety
Why do have to repeat that attack on Leona? @Leona, Dont worry, understand her
Hehehehehehe.....hii wazua siku hizi ina technical knock-out kweli! IF YOU EXPECT ME TO POST ANYTHING POSITIVE ABOUT ASENO, YOU MAY AS WELL SIT ON A PIN
Where do you fall?
@Pretty Welcome back. Take time and read this thread all the way from the top,before commenting,then you will realize that the whole point of the thread was discussing IF kids raised by single women end up as useless citizens of lesser value to the society and world in general,as my brother Impunity and a few others had indicated. I dont see anywhere in my statements where i've indicated that just because a school,or a person excels in one subject or the other makes him/them the best. A one off event in life doesnt make one better than the rest,It's being consistent in life that matters. I dont judge people by their background,gender,education level,physique..etc. I judge people by their contribution towards humankind in general and what positive impact they make in life. And by the way,just because some of us humbly choose not to shout from KICC's rooftop regarding our education level,achievements in life,physical attributes,our godfathers or material wealth,doesnt mean we have none to show off. You'd be surprised to find out who and what we carry with us. So,in that regard,you're free to conclude anything about me and my life. PS: The bone of contention here was IF kids raised in single parent settings excel in life...and NOT the KCSE results. And we,who are on the side of single parents,do NOT suggest that this is the best setting,we just wish our society would stop stereotyping such parents just because they chose,or it so happens that they have to raise their kids on their own.So,can we get back to the topic? Nevermind what haters say, ignore them til they fade away - Just live your life
@pretty, níkíí ùroria leona wee? TULIA.........UFUNZWE!
@Simon and others  Pole for repeating myself here.  I was posting but it was not sailing through from my end.  Dear sister Leona, it is not an attack.  I thought you were stronger than that.  I was not attacking your personality, beauty or lack of it.  I was only pointing out firmly that the arguments being entertained here are neither deductions, empirical or sensible.  It was paining to know that Leona is an Enemy of reason while I've adored her this long.  Do I need to see a psychiatrist for that?  Leona, see we meet at the gate of Norfork Towers.  We can go somewhere noisy to thrush issues out.  Pole you took it personal.  Otherwise, enjoy your weekend. @Simon  What language is that?  You need prayers from Fist of God Church.  Otherwise, enjoy yourself brother. >>>>>> A thing of beauty is a joy for ever: Its loveliness increases; It will never pass into nothingness; But still will keep a bower quiet for us, and a sleep full of sweet dreams, and health, and quiet breathing. - Keats
Where do you fall?
@Pretty This is a public forum,and we do not have to agree with each other's opinions. Afterall,that's why it's called a forum and opinions are meant to vary. Some people will argue just for the sake of it,others will argue from deep down their hearts and others will argue hoping to get a few 'hero worshippers' to adore and massage their ego. But whatever our reason for arguing is,should never make us lose our personality and focus wether we're using real or fake identities. Pretty,yameisha haya...tugange yajayo. So,what say yee regarding this attack on single parent family settings? Nevermind what haters say, ignore them til they fade away - Just live your life
Arunga,a classic case of children raised by single women.