Museveni wrote:
The iTax system much better surprisingly.

Taking forever to load

Sit tight for the next two weeks as hoards swarm in. Try access in the evenings though. Better yet try filr earlier

Finally managed, I was shocked that KRA already knew how much withholding tax had been withheld on my earnings complete with the reference number.You've to include all the WT deductions and reference number, if you miss/conveniently forget, the system automatically rejects your returns and reminds you of the outstanding WT credits you've not updated.

Nimeskia uchungu the amount of tax due to KRA which I'm supposed to pay to the extent that I have included all the particulars of my landlord including his bank details in the descriptive address

And in your wisdom you imagine the landlord will pay from his pocket? Think again unless you have a long term water tight lease!!! Your rent just went up by a MINIMUM of 12%. Thank yourself later.

My lease agreement is for 2 years starting July last year, They can't increase my rent till in June 2016,By then,I will have moved

How tight? Are there clauses like bla bla bla by either party by giving a notice of 3 months bla bla bla.

Those clauses can be used to do you in!

Yes,ya kuhama!

Wewe kwisha!!! You will just be given notice.

Of course if you are interested you can always "sign a new lease under new terms". You will not be told this (re-signing) in black and white but you will know!

Most lofty agreements are undone by these small clauses. For example, how can I claim to have a ten year lease if all that is required is a three months notice to vacate???
PeterReborn
#42 Posted : Friday, June 26, 2015 2:59:48 PM

Elephant Man wrote:
Managed to file for a colleague last Wednesday. His only income is from employment and tax is paid via PAYE etc.

This morning he has received two notifications - one an e-Return Acknowledgement Slip showing that no tax is due and another notification called a Payment Defaulter Notice saying he owes KRA 63k for the year 2014! (which he has been given 30 days to pay or collection enforcement measures will ensue). Any other horror stories?

How is that possible?which year were you filing for?

When you clicked validate on the last sheet, did it show you a positive figure? That is the amount due to them(tax due-tax paid). Mine also has a positive figure

I have just filed my returns.Amount due was zero but they have sent me a defaulter notice of 500K.WTF?
Consistency is better than intensity
Museveni
#43 Posted : Friday, June 26, 2015 8:02:36 PM

PeterReborn wrote:
Elephant Man wrote:
Managed to file for a colleague last Wednesday. His only income is from employment and tax is paid via PAYE etc.

This morning he has received two notifications - one an e-Return Acknowledgement Slip showing that no tax is due and another notification called a Payment Defaulter Notice saying he owes KRA 63k for the year 2014! (which he has been given 30 days to pay or collection enforcement measures will ensue). Any other horror stories?

When you clicked validate on the last sheet, did it show you a positive figure? That is the amount due to them(tax due-tax paid). Mine also has a positive figure

I have just filed my returns.Amount due was zero but they have sent me a defaulter notice of 500K.WTF?

They call it "self assessed income tax" that is why according to you tax due is zero.
Now whether your employer has been remitting your tax is a different story.

The first notification is an acknowledgement that you have filed self assessed returns succesfully. It is a sumnary of what you uploaded. Meaning you can never be fined for not making returns for that year.

The default notice is the difference between what the KRA guys have in their system and what they expect from your declared annual income (hint).

That default notice is not a cause for worry though if you are employed. It does not mean you havent paid your tax dues. It shows there are discrepancies in the records. Have your P9 form ready duly signed from the employer and sit tight.

On expiry of that given period expect an invite to meet the taxmen or maybe taxladies, your P9 ready at hand.

Now if your income is not from 'formal' employment (haujahajiriwa- umejihajiri), hope you kept your tax remittance receipts well.

Finally, if you have paid more tax than was due, the invite should be on the way too to verify that you did pay in excess & to confirm your bank details for a refund.

Swali nyeti ni, how fast are the refunds processed? 30 days like the default? Anyone with experience to share.
Live and learn; and don’t forget, nothing ventured, nothing gained.
holycow
#44 Posted : Sunday, June 28, 2015 6:40:12 PM

I'm also a defaulter. It even claims there is accrued interest and penalties. I guess it pays to stick to the analogue method.
#45 Posted : Monday, June 29, 2015 11:18:00 AM

holycow wrote:
I'm also a defaulter. It even claims there is accrued interest and penalties. I guess it pays to stick to the analogue method.

Me nimeshindwa kabisa...Pray Pray
#46 Posted : Monday, June 29, 2015 11:25:34 AM

How do you incorprate expenses in this system for us in consultancy?
PeterReborn
#47 Posted : Monday, June 29, 2015 1:48:46 PM

Museveni wrote:
PeterReborn wrote:
Elephant Man wrote:

They call it "self assessed income tax" that is why according to you tax due is zero.

The first notification is an acknowledgement that you have filed self assessed returns succesfully. It is a sumnary of what you uploaded. Meaning you can never be fined for not making returns for that year.

The default notice is the difference between what the KRA guys have in their system and what they expect from your declared annual income (hint).

That default notice is not a cause for worry though if you are employed. It does not mean you havent paid your tax dues. It shows there are discrepancies in the records. Have your P9 form ready duly signed from the employer and sit tight.

On expiry of that given period expect an invite to meet the taxmen or maybe taxladies, your P9 ready at hand.

Now if your income is not from 'formal' employment (haujahajiriwa- umejihajiri), hope you kept your tax remittance receipts well.

Finally, if you have paid more tax than was due, the invite should be on the way too to verify that you did pay in excess & to confirm your bank details for a refund.

Swali nyeti ni, how fast are the refunds processed? 30 days like the default? Anyone with experience to share.

so apparently they are still updating their records manually to the itax system.How do they expect the two to reconcile if they are still updating their records manually?This is ridiculous!!!
Consistency is better than intensity
#48 Posted : Monday, June 29, 2015 2:04:35 PM

Microsoft Excel is waiting for another application to complete an OLE actiond'oh!

Poilaq
#49 Posted : Monday, June 29, 2015 4:41:21 PM

Museveni wrote:
PeterReborn wrote:
Elephant Man wrote:

Woi.

Anyone knows how to fill in this return if one has not worked for the full year?

The computations show a refund is due. I know this is not the case and suspect that the spreadsheet is only designed to compute tax on full year earnings.
#50 Posted : Monday, June 29, 2015 7:34:04 PM

holycow wrote:

Me nimeshindwa kabisa...Pray Pray

Would wish to know whether @Maka is a lady

HF 30,000 ABP 3.49; KQ 414,100 ABP 7.92; MTN 23,800 ABP 6.45
livie
#51 Posted : Tuesday, June 30, 2015 1:44:58 PM

Poilaq wrote:
Museveni wrote:
PeterReborn wrote:
Elephant Man wrote:

Woi.

Anyone knows how to fill in this return if one has not worked for the full year?

The computations show a refund is due. I know this is not the case and suspect that the spreadsheet is only designed to compute tax on full year earnings.

And for those in self employment having left paid employment....how does one fill the form, kindly anyone?
If you are going to be thinking only one thing, you might as well be thinking big. -Donald J . Trump
#52 Posted : Tuesday, June 30, 2015 3:28:51 PM

And for those in self employment having left paid employment....how does one fill the form, kindly anyone?

Same as employed people.

Fill in total income for the year if from farming/biashara etc

If you paid some tax for that, enter that as well

If you haven't paid tax, too bad. Unaenda kujishtaki and the excel sheet will show you how much you ought to pay

livie
#53 Posted : Tuesday, June 30, 2015 3:32:54 PM

Same as employed people.

If you haven't paid tax, too bad. Unaenda kujishtaki and the excel sheet will show you how much you ought to pay

Thanks @Lolest, a quick one, if you didn't make enough money to reach tax threshhold, how does that work...? ni hustle tu
If you are going to be thinking only one thing, you might as well be thinking big. -Donald J . Trump
#54 Posted : Tuesday, June 30, 2015 4:41:03 PM

livie wrote:

Same as employed people.

Thanks @Lolest, a quick one, if you didn't make enough money to reach tax threshhold, how does that work...? ni hustle tu

should be same as above. Just fill. The Excel will confirm whether you are right about your income
Museveni
#55 Posted : Tuesday, June 30, 2015 5:16:27 PM

Poilaq wrote:
Museveni wrote:
PeterReborn wrote:
Elephant Man wrote:

Woi.

You do not need the excel.

Under returns there is "file nil return"

That should sort those not employed.
Live and learn; and don’t forget, nothing ventured, nothing gained.
#56 Posted : Tuesday, June 30, 2015 5:49:21 PM

Microsoft Excel is waiting for another application to complete an OLE actiond'oh!

Hii macros ndo nini jamaneni?
I only have like 5 hrs before I am locked out!
Sad Sad

#57 Posted : Tuesday, June 30, 2015 5:53:08 PM

What is the worst that can happen?

Today is d-day and unless a miracle happens I will not finish.
I did it half way and the system notified me am registered for VAT.This is courtesy a supplies bz I used to do in 2013 which has since stopped.It was in my bz name.

Somebody please advise "where do I go from here"

Used to file returns but when bz stopped,I stopped too.
#58 Posted : Tuesday, June 30, 2015 6:46:50 PM

Kwani from January mlikuwa wapi?

#59 Posted : Tuesday, June 30, 2015 11:03:57 PM

Kwani from January mlikuwa wapi?

Taking care of business & our security!!!
shenzitype
#60 Posted : Wednesday, July 01, 2015 2:20:35 AM

Malizaaaad!!!!!!!!!!!!

Out of curiosity, is there any way of capturing the Life Insurance Premium Relief? I managed but only after going through the an amendment of the returns by downloading an amendement form. [BTW don't shoot me if an amendment means further penalties]Brick wall

Am OUT!Silenced