wazua Tue, Nov 26, 2024

KENYA AIRWAYS - The shame of Africa
#21 Posted : Saturday, June 06, 2015 10:45:33 PM

premio wrote:
KQ has the youngest fleet in Africa younger than American Delta Emirates Qatar name it. KQ Might have a few challenges like other airlines due to schedule intergrity but mostly caused by Tech issues which means they wont operate a flight with a problem good safety.
Its the only carrier departing from Terminal 1A jkia as good as Bangkok Dubai better than Heathrow and JNB. KQ on board service is great its just facing a few challenges that will come and pass. The airport closure affects all airlines not just KQ. its beating BA hands down on the London-Nairobi route with the iconic 787dreamliner. They have new 737-800 NG with moodlighting Personal Wide DVDs mostly on Lagos AND joburg route. KQ is Africas best a few haters with little info about the aviation world spoiling its nane

kidogo challenges smile but how comes you mention they have the youngest fleet and yet they seem to have tech issues around schedule integrity as you mention, ama walinunua ndege bila kujua how to operate them efficiently.

lakini mimi napendanga kq sana, especially when I am in town and I happen to pass hapo bypass and I see the many planes za kq parked hapo, I feel lots of joy seeing the pride of kenya - if I will be blessed one day to fly - I will choose them.
Kausha
#22 Posted : Saturday, June 06, 2015 10:50:39 PM

Premio ok defend KQ hiyo tutakuachia but dont lie to us that second hand look and feel terminal 1A equates to bankok or dubai or is better than OR Tambo. KQ has been having tech challenges gor the past 8 years now.
We forecast it would be a goverment bailout case in June 2015 back in 2012 and voila right on time. If you asking me the airline needs to be reenginered from routes staff aircraft kila kitu. This young fleet in africa is pang'ang'a tupu. Airline business is global business. Emirates uses their older aircraft to serve Africa routes with superior results and KQ can not its light against them.
Kausha
#23 Posted : Saturday, June 06, 2015 10:55:11 PM

As we speak I have noticed 4 KQ 777 planes and a few lower capacity models permanently parked hapo military hangar fir the past 5 months now. Surely tech challenges can be resolved as they arise by utilizing these idle planes.
Thiong'o
#24 Posted : Sunday, June 07, 2015 12:25:50 AM

Kausha wrote:
As we speak I have noticed 4 KQ 777 planes and a few lower capacity models permanently parked hapo military hangar fir the past 5 months now. Surely tech challenges can be resolved as they arise by utilizing these idle planes.

@ Kausha Challenges are normal with businesses and KQ is definitely not the shame of Africa, @obiero had earlier picked what you’re pointing -could be mechanical issues, scheduling (repairs to runway), pilot issues or whatever. The airline industry with slim profit margins has forced carriers to focus on both cost reduction and revenue growth through better customer interactions and not for the faint hearted. – see what happened to Uganda Airlines, Jet link, even our own KQ had to recently rescue precision air http://www.theeastafrica...8/-/yjpnm3/-/index.html and the now “technically” bankrupt Malaysia Airlines carrier is due to unveil a spruced-up brand later this year http://www.economist.com...15/06/malaysia-airlines
This thread points to increasing consumer expectations but air travel still remains for many a disappointing, grumble-worthy experience.
For KQ
• Reduce costs and improve operational efficiency –with modernized fleet to incorporate more fuel-efficient aircraft. Achieved?
• Get to know their customers better.
• Cut the fat, not the muscle. - Management needs to be ruthless in cutting costs in all other areas that are not relevant to safety, reputation, branding, or customer value.
• Use digitization to reduce operating costs.
• Partner strategically.
http://www.strategyand.p...es/2015-aviation-trends
Fyatu
#25 Posted : Sunday, June 07, 2015 9:03:30 AM

Ali Baba wrote:
Fyatu wrote:
Now that business daily has decided to censor and to flag my comments as SPAM on Ndemo's article on why KQ should read the writing on the wall, i have to "remove" gas on the ever faithful wazua..Here are my grievances about KQ as an occasional traveller and a proud Kenyan

1. Perennial delay of flights. In almost all airports, passengers stranded and sleeping at waiting bays in the late hours of the night are most likely KQ passengers.

2. It might sound unbelievable but some KQ flights especially in the(787-300 series) have tattered seats, tattered interiors.Mind you these are aeroplanes plying international routes

3. Cabin crew hoarding alcoholic drinks as if - ni za mama yao.( a clever air hostess should know a passenger stranded for hours away from home should be appeased by onywaji (Juice ,chai, water or beer) for the entire period of the flight).

4. Chakula mbaya. Most passengers avoid KQ food for fear of diarrhoea

5.Total chaos, no aplogies, little help for those who have missed connection flights coz of KQ delays.

As if a delayed flight is not bad enough, passengers are bundled in those busses at JKIA and wait for odd 5-10 mins to be transferred to arrival terminal and the question that arises is, why did the aeroplane just not park at the terminal?

In a nutshell KQ should up their game especially on international flights because at this rate Rwandair, Ethiopian, Fastjet will run them out of business

It is not debt or financial woes that will kill KQ but this utter disregard of the customer.
I formerly worked in the airline industry in the US.And also as a frequent traveller,most of the complaints listed here by this guy are common with all airlines.Delta Airlines,United,AA,Ethipian etc,they all delay flights etc.This kind of complains come from people who feel that if its kenyan its inferior to a Mzungu's plane.The worst food I have eaten in airplanes was in British Airways and United.Ndemo's arguments against KQ were valid,but lots of wazuans seem to be those guys who worship the whiteman as a supreme being.

I'm proud of KQ...don't get me wrong. I agree delays happen all the time even for what is perceived as best.I don't read any mzungu-worship in my post....just lamentation of someone who felt aggrieved. Iam pro-KQ turnaround and understand that it is a major part of Kenya's economy . The food/keroro part was a bit exaggerated...i apologize to all offended
Dumb money becomes dumb only when it listens to smart money
Fyatu
#26 Posted : Sunday, June 07, 2015 9:08:03 AM

I also dont like the services.. next time I will fly Zimbabwe Airlines, Tanzania Air, Nigerian Air or Congo Airways.. Be proud of ua body even if ua 'ugly'..

Kenya should stop benchmarking itself with Tanzania, Uganda, etc

The attitude that as long as we are doing better than UG and TZ ,then we are doing very well is one of our greatest undoing as Kenya. We should aim higher
#27 Posted : Sunday, June 07, 2015 11:39:19 AM

if you keep praising and finding excuses for your kid's for poor performance they most likely will never improve.
Fyatu
#28 Posted : Friday, June 12, 2015 4:25:22 PM

you have to have been there to know the pain RINK
Fyatu
#29 Posted : Friday, June 12, 2015 4:29:10 PM

In as much as i love my country and my brands, something is critically wrong with KQ. Is this sabotage or what? why does it seem that KQ staff don't want to do what is right? or perhaps, are they just plain incompetent and don't know how to firefight or what to do in some situations?
#30 Posted : Friday, June 12, 2015 5:26:16 PM

Thiong'o wrote:
Kausha wrote:

@ Kausha Challenges are normal with businesses and KQ is definitely not the shame of Africa, @obiero had earlier picked what you’re pointing -could be mechanical issues, scheduling (repairs to runway), pilot issues or whatever. The airline industry with slim profit margins has forced carriers to focus on both cost reduction and revenue growth through better customer interactions and not for the faint hearted. – see what happened to Uganda Airlines, Jet link, even our own KQ had to recently rescue precision air http://www.theeastafrica...8/-/yjpnm3/-/index.html and the now “technically” bankrupt Malaysia Airlines carrier is due to unveil a spruced-up brand later this year http://www.economist.com...15/06/malaysia-airlines
This thread points to increasing consumer expectations but air travel still remains for many a disappointing, grumble-worthy experience.
For KQ
• Reduce costs and improve operational efficiency –with modernized fleet to incorporate more fuel-efficient aircraft. Achieved?
• Cut the fat, not the muscle. - Management needs to be ruthless in cutting costs in all other areas that are not relevant to safety, reputation, branding, or customer value.
• Partner strategically.

Applause
Rollout
#31 Posted : Tuesday, June 16, 2015 1:02:33 AM

digitek1 wrote:
Thiong'o wrote:
Kausha wrote:

For KQ
• Partner strategically.

Applause

My problem with KQ is mainly because they seem to disproportionally employ male air hosts than the female hostess.
#32 Posted : Tuesday, June 16, 2015 8:57:59 AM

Rollout wrote:
digitek1 wrote:
Thiong'o wrote:
Kausha wrote:

For KQ
• Partner strategically.

Applause

My problem with KQ is mainly because they seem to disproportionally employ male air hosts than the female hostess.

Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly
wa P
#33 Posted : Tuesday, June 16, 2015 10:45:46 AM

Rollout wrote:
digitek1 wrote:
Thiong'o wrote:
Kausha wrote:

For KQ
• Partner strategically.

Applause

Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly

Laughing out loudly Applause That is VERY GOOD customer feedback- straight from the heart. I hope KQ is in good enough humor to read and note.

But the problem lies with men passengers. They marry out nice hostesses with reckless abandon. I wonder how KLM manages to keep the nubile/ curvy Turkish hostesses in their Citi Hoppas.
#34 Posted : Wednesday, June 17, 2015 7:18:25 PM

wa P wrote:
Rollout wrote:
digitek1 wrote:
Thiong'o wrote:
Kausha wrote:

For KQ
• Partner strategically.

Applause

Laughing out loudly Applause That is VERY GOOD customer feedback- straight from the heart. I hope KQ is in good enough humor to read and note.

But the problem lies with men passengers. They marry out nice hostesses with reckless abandon. I wonder how KLM manages to keep the nubile/ curvy Turkish hostesses in their Citi Hoppas.

Drool Drool

premio
#35 Posted : Thursday, June 18, 2015 9:04:59 AM

Best airline in Africa for both business and leisure travel. not the biggest but best.
streetwise
#36 Posted : Thursday, June 18, 2015 3:46:03 PM

Best for lack of an alternative
winmak
#37 Posted : Thursday, June 18, 2015 4:02:58 PM

Rollout wrote:
digitek1 wrote:
Thiong'o wrote:
Kausha wrote:

For KQ
• Partner strategically.

Applause

He he...
For investors as a whole, returns decrease as motion increases ~ WB
kiash
#38 Posted : Saturday, June 20, 2015 11:53:02 AM

Saw a report sometimes back with Airfrance comparing itself with Singapore Airlines. This is on business class. There is no comparison.If you saw the training the cabin crew from Singapore Airlines undergo , no wonder its the best Airline.So Kenya Airways should try and copy the best airlines and not compare with the ones down there in the list.
mmarto
#39 Posted : Monday, June 22, 2015 8:56:52 AM

Fyatu wrote:
In as much as i love my country and my brands, something is critically wrong with KQ. Is this sabotage or what? why does it seem that KQ staff don't want to do what is right? or perhaps, are they just plain incompetent and don't know how to firefight or what to do in some situations?

While all of you are at it against KQ the world sees differently. Just today they won an african award for second year running, cargo though.

http://www.businessdaily...8/-/5lho6dz/-/index.html
The only time you should be looking down on others is when you are helping them up.
#40 Posted : Monday, June 22, 2015 3:03:41 PM

mmarto wrote:
[quote=Fyatu]In as much as i love my country and my brands, something is critically wrong with KQ. Is this sabotage or what? why does it seem that KQ staff don't want to do what is right? or perhaps, are they just plain incompetent and don't know how to firefight or what to do in some situations?

While all of you are at it against KQ the world sees differently. Just today they won an african award for second year running, cargo though.

http://www.businessdaily.../-/5lho6dz/-/index.html[/quote]

Skytrax ranking of world airlines

KQ at no. 86, way below Malaysia Airlines