wazua Mon, Jun 22, 2026

Sh58bn cable car plan to tackle Nairobi traffic jams
wanyee
#21 Posted : Thursday, June 18, 2015 7:52:13 PM

Add Mo1's voice ...mutasungushwo ..mutasungushwo..muafrighaaa akuna gitu hataonyeshea
#22 Posted : Thursday, June 18, 2015 8:40:07 PM

Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly
The Kenyans I know? with our behaviours?
I give up.Pray
#23 Posted : Thursday, June 18, 2015 9:00:34 PM

Stolen from somewhere..

C&P

Being caught up in a three kilometre gridlock in the name of "my car" can be a waste of time and resources. Nairobi needs a reliable public transport system. Our collective poor background is also our bane.. The reckless struggle to own a car even when you will not be able to fuel and service it for purposes of cheap ostentation is very bad for our economy. A million shillings permanently parked on the pavement and a source of endless quarrels with neighbours in a flat of bedsitters should be used for something else.

kiash
#24 Posted : Thursday, June 18, 2015 11:26:45 PM

I thot we saw qdero in a tram somewhere, then these guys come and say the plans of a cable car are on!! Just go Colombia way.There was a time we had trips for Nairobi leaders to Colombia and it was a fact finding mission but as usual there might have only joy riders.
Hii cable car cannot work.Its like those jungus take wakienda skiing huko juu.The thing rotates and does not stop.Shida Kenya ni stima.What will happen when there are blackouts? there is no fire rescue in Nairobi and so you will hang up there for several hours waiting for sonko rescue team and then finally decide to jump.Just like it happens in Likoni when those ferrys stall.
#25 Posted : Friday, June 19, 2015 5:55:23 AM

kiash wrote:
I thot we saw qdero in a tram somewhere, then these guys come and say the plans of a cable car are on!! Just go Colombia way.There was a time we had trips for Nairobi leaders to Colombia and it was a fact finding mission but as usual there might have only joy riders.
Hii cable car cannot work.Its like those jungus take wakienda skiing huko juu.The thing rotates and does not stop.Shida Kenya ni stima.What will happen when there are blackouts? there is no fire rescue in Nairobi and so you will hang up there for several hours waiting for sonko rescue team and then finally decide to jump.Just like it happens in Likoni when those ferrys stall.

Kwanza I thought they were planning to have one at Mt. Kenya or somewhere like Oldonyo sabuk only to read ati Muthurwa. Even though this is a private project, are we really serious?
Muriel
#26 Posted : Friday, June 19, 2015 8:18:20 AM

On this one I'm a bit confused.

My gut tells me this is another Mumias in the making, but on the other hand, the traffic in Nairobi is driving me nuts.

I had 3 meetings today. Westlands, Upperhill, Ngara in that order. Then of course go home. As a person poorer than Jaggernaut, I was using public transport.

Ohhh boy.

Something has to be done. Something, anything. Just anything.

At this rate, with VAT, traffic etc, let them bring the chariots of Elijah too. Otherwise, can't even imagine otherwise.

You did not consider boda boda?
Wamunyota
#27 Posted : Friday, June 19, 2015 9:18:58 AM

Muriel wrote:
On this one I'm a bit confused.

My gut tells me this is another Mumias in the making, but on the other hand, the traffic in Nairobi is driving me nuts.

I had 3 meetings today. Westlands, Upperhill, Ngara in that order. Then of course go home. As a person poorer than Jaggernaut, I was using public transport.

Ohhh boy.

Something has to be done. Something, anything. Just anything.

At this rate, with VAT, traffic etc, let them bring the chariots of Elijah too. Otherwise, can't even imagine otherwise.

You did not consider boda boda?

or Tuktuk?
Hutia Mundu!!
#28 Posted : Friday, June 19, 2015 5:55:09 PM

will not work. those cable cars carry how many each?

What they need is a reliable public mass transportation system. Trains and buses and restrict all private cars or charge them a very high fee to enter and park in the CBD (like 5k a day) They can build parking lots 30kms radius away of CBD.

I have done some research and seen that this cable thing can work. Also no public funds will be used. Let the entrepreneur/company do it and charge for the service. We should dream big...

C&P
The Bolivia Mi Teleférico system consists of three monocable aerial cable car lines, the Red Line, Yellow Line, and Green Line, which are also the colors of the Bolivian flag. Each line has a maximum capacity of 6000 passengers per hour. There are 443 cable car cars distributed throughout the network, each of which seats 10 passengers. Cars depart every 12 seconds, and the network is open 17 hours a day.
Tara
#29 Posted : Friday, June 19, 2015 6:41:45 PM

1. In a city that has electricity issues? Can you imagine being stuck in that thing high up in the air on a hot day? Disaster!!!

2. Is Nairobi on a hill or something or how are these cable cars supposed to work? Are they the ones that run on rails?

#30 Posted : Friday, June 19, 2015 6:47:37 PM

Tara wrote:
1. In a city that has electricity issues? Can you imagine being stuck in that thing high up in the air on a hot day? Disaster!!!

2. Is Nairobi on a hill or something or how are these cable cars supposed to work?

It's about 1yr since i last had a power outage. Also they will have backup generators just in case power ever goes off.

The line will be suspended on giant pillars, height like the mulika mwizi poles.