wazua Wed, Nov 27, 2024

Budget 2015/16 2.1Trillion Kshs
Ericsson
#21 Posted : Thursday, June 11, 2015 6:51:38 PM

Capitalisation of banks and mortgage institutions raised from ksh.1bn to 5bn by 2018.It will be implemented gradually.
Capital for insurance companies raised as follows;General insurance to ksh.600mn,life to ksh.400mn.Composite insurance to ksh.1bn
Fuel levy raised by ksh.3 for super and diesel
Wealth is built through a relatively simple equation
Wealth=Income + Investments - Lifestyle
wazuaguest
#22 Posted : Thursday, June 11, 2015 6:58:47 PM

Ericsson wrote:
Capitalisation of banks and mortgage institutions raised from ksh.1bn to 5bn by 2018.It will be implemented gradually.
Capital for insurance companies raised as follows;General insurance to ksh.600mn,life to ksh.400mn.Composite insurance to ksh.1bn

Will Mwalimu Sacco crack it with Merallis Bank?
Africa belongs to Africans.
Boris Boyka
#23 Posted : Thursday, June 11, 2015 7:10:09 PM

wazuaguest wrote:
Ericsson wrote:

Will Mwalimu Sacco crack it with Merallis Bank?

cc @ Maichblack on unaitas issue
Everybody STEALS, a THIEF is one who's CAUGHT stealing something of LITTLE VALUE. !!!
Boris Boyka
#24 Posted : Thursday, June 11, 2015 7:50:03 PM

What KRA need to do is start taxing masufferers just like midro class. No escape...tax and tax properly. Let them feel pain sana then they vote with their brains rather than tribes when they realise how their money gets wasted.

Right now those sufferers vote for idiots who do nothing.

Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly True kabisa....Idling tax...tax changaaa...tax gumzo bases...tax families with >3 children....tax owners of sufferrer patent.
Everybody STEALS, a THIEF is one who's CAUGHT stealing something of LITTLE VALUE. !!!
kiash
#25 Posted : Thursday, June 11, 2015 8:12:45 PM

What KRA need to do is start taxing masufferers just like midro class. No escape...tax and tax properly. Let them feel pain sana then they vote with their brains rather than tribes when they realise how their money gets wasted.

Right now those sufferers vote for idiots who do nothing.

Agree.Kwanza the mama mbogas, hawkers, anyone with a kiosk etc and you will see that 500B they are talking about will be found.There is a lot of money circulating in the informal sector.The numbers we get from the mobile transfer sijui how many billions is transacted per day tell it all.
#26 Posted : Thursday, June 11, 2015 10:57:52 PM

What angers me most are the departments/Ministries that returns money to treasury because for a whole year they didn't implement the projects that had been earmarked for a specific year. For every coin that is returned on such ground, it means delayed development. More suffering for wananchi's who couldn't access medicine, markets(eg coz of poor roads), education etc. In the same year that we failed to implement projects, China implements five times more of the same. Then we come around and wonder why we are still poor.

Part of the problem lies in delayed disbursements at the beginning of the financial year. Ordinarily, very few if any gov't dep'ts are lucky to see any money before September, a whole three months into the financial year. That's why there's always a rush to spent around May as the financial year draws to a close.
#27 Posted : Thursday, June 11, 2015 11:10:15 PM

Winter is here, you just dont see it.

80% of that money will go into someone's pockets.

Laughing out loudly I'd like to "know" how someone will do this when all tender processes are going to be online. Ama ni kuibiwa ukiangalia tu!

Are the counties ones Online too?

They should be, most likely from the next financial year commencing next month. Almost all county headquarters have by now been hooked up to the gov't 'faimba' network.
#28 Posted : Thursday, June 11, 2015 11:15:37 PM

Winter is here, you just dont see it.

80% of that money will go into someone's pockets.

Laughing out loudly I'd like to "know" how someone will do this when all tender processes are going to be online. Ama ni kuibiwa ukiangalia tu!

Are the counties ones Online too?

They can "be forced" to put their tenders on the same platform, sema wepewe mondays, tuesdays kitu kama hiyo, where would the issue with counties using this platform arise? there are too many solutions being sold out there, unless they are preparing to eat and "they" are not one person.

I agree they should. My question is whether they are on the IFMIS platform now. If the govt purchases can be centralised in a system accessible easily and transparently by all stakeholders, govt would save a lot of money. First, suppliers would compete openly without the "deal" additions added on top of the actual prize. Two, govt would save through economies of scale by negotiating for discounts from suppliers due to the huge volumes involved. Until that is done, we shall continue buying a pen at 120shillings and a tissue for 500bob per piece; and nothing will ever change. Uhuru started this system when he was a Finance Minister, I hope he see it through in his team as PORK. As someone once said here, eating will be quite hard soon.

I know quite a few that have been on IFMIS beginning some time in the last calendar year though not fully (some kind of semi-manual hybrid system). However, going forward, they're all expected to be on IFMIS 100%.
#29 Posted : Friday, June 12, 2015 12:19:18 AM

Will EABL go back to brewing Senator?
#30 Posted : Saturday, June 13, 2015 7:06:13 PM

12% of gross rent.

That means no expenses will be allowed. If that's the case then landlords will have no incentive to maintain their properties as maintenance costs will not be deductible expenses.

Or is it 12% of net rent?
#31 Posted : Saturday, June 13, 2015 7:56:43 PM

Gordon Gekko wrote:
12% of gross rent.

That means no expenses will be allowed. If that's the case then landlords will have no incentive to maintain their properties as maintenance costs will not be deductible expenses.

Or is it 12% of net rent?

there is already 16% VAT on rent &service charge for commercial property. This is passed on to tenants. I bet govt is looking to tax landlords direct for gross total rent exclusive of VAT

If this is the case, the rent so taxed should not be included in taxable income for corporate tax purposes
#32 Posted : Saturday, June 13, 2015 7:58:29 PM

Rankaz13 wrote:
What angers me most are the departments/Ministries that returns money to treasury because for a whole year they didn't implement the projects that had been earmarked for a specific year. For every coin that is returned on such ground, it means delayed development. More suffering for wananchi's who couldn't access medicine, markets(eg coz of poor roads), education etc. In the same year that we failed to implement projects, China implements five times more of the same. Then we come around and wonder why we are still poor.

Part of the problem lies in delayed disbursements at the beginning of the financial year. Ordinarily, very few if any gov't dep'ts are lucky to see any money before September, a whole three months into the financial year. That's why there's always a rush to spent around May as the financial year draws to a close.

Also, incomplete projects
#33 Posted : Monday, June 22, 2015 4:11:02 PM

Could come in handy. Entire budget speech read on 11-Jun-2015
http://mygov.go.ke/file/2015/06...-Statement-2015-2016.pdf

pops
#34 Posted : Monday, June 22, 2015 10:18:58 PM

If we omit the jargon, this budget is geared towards raising funds for election campaigning in 2017. Most the funds to be raised are for infrastructure projects that seem to be costing a lot more than normal. I.e. SGR. There are some which into billions have been guzzled and there is nothing to show for it I.e. Konza city and galana irrigation project. Add onto that corruption at county level, and removing Ceilings on mp salaries. The level of greed continues to amaze me. I wish all those stealing choke on this ill gotten wealth at the expense of poor Kenyans!!!
#35 Posted : Tuesday, June 30, 2015 3:31:01 PM

So teachers have won a hefty award of 50-60% for a period of 4 years. Has this rendered the budget untenable? Don't teachers already make up 7.5% of our budget?

The story on the left is how it ends. The story on the right is how it begins
#36 Posted : Thursday, August 06, 2015 10:21:18 PM

Business Daily wrote:
The Central Bank of Kenya (CBK) has differed with the Treasury on the proposed increase of commercial bank core capital to Sh5 billion, saying it would lead to rushed consolidations and make big banks more dominant.

Patrick Njoroge, the CBK governor, told Parliament to stop the proposed increase of bank capital from Sh1 billion to Sh5 billion in the next three years and instead push for smart regulation of banks.

http://www.businessdaily...6/-/jwxhioz/-/index.html