UNAITAS
streetwise
#721 Posted : Wednesday, June 10, 2015 9:37:51 AM

Ngoja bwana tushibe..
jerry
#722 Posted : Wednesday, June 10, 2015 10:19:16 AM

heri wrote:
New branch coming up in Naivasha. Unaitas is on a roll

Last year I heard Embu branch was in the works.
The opposite of courage is not cowardice, it's conformity.
heri
#723 Posted : Thursday, June 11, 2015 10:46:23 AM

DUNGA wrote:
@ MaichBlack

My view is that the Unitas matter is just hot air, other than good marketing, branding and a colorful website, there is nothing so outstanding to warrant the "next big thing tag". Visit a branch and you realize that they are just a traditional cooperative.

A few years back,Family Bank was cheered as the next Equity and the people who bought are still waiting.

Note that the share capital of Unitas has been increasing faster than the loan book, i.e people buying shares faster than the underlying business of loans ( Review the financials for 3 yrs and make your conclusion). My experience is that when you are so many you rarely make money.

Finally the capital is locked until they transform and do an IPO ( If it will ever happen), my view is that there are better opportunities e.g Safaricom investments sacco where you make a decent return now and not hope for transformation and listing .

valid points. There might not be another equity ever. the model worked because of favorable conditions then

Just checked the financials and note that while loans grew by 33% between 2013 and 2014, share capital grew by 107%
streetwise
#724 Posted : Thursday, June 11, 2015 11:31:02 AM

Thanks. So the data analysis actaully support the strong emotions guys seem to have investing at Unaitas
jerry
#725 Posted : Thursday, June 11, 2015 1:25:57 PM

streetwise wrote:
Thanks. So the data analysis actaully support the strong emotions guys seem to have investing at Unaitas

Where are the "lucrative" dvds coming from?
The opposite of courage is not cowardice, it's conformity.
heri
#726 Posted : Thursday, June 11, 2015 7:06:16 PM

Capitalisation of banks and mortgage institutions raised from ksh.1bn to 5bn by 2018.It will be implemented gradually

what does this mean for UNAITAS? They need to raise about Kshs 3B more
#727 Posted : Thursday, June 11, 2015 7:14:37 PM

heri wrote:
Capitalisation of banks and mortgage institutions raised from ksh.1bn to 5bn by 2018.It will be implemented gradually

what does this mean for UNAITAS? They need to raise about Kshs 3B more

Cash call. Existing owners are not poor
Boris Boyka
#728 Posted : Thursday, June 11, 2015 7:36:06 PM

Boris Boyka wrote:

Given their confirmed banking intent and ambitions to fund major projects...
www.businessdailyafrica....4/-/a93m0sz/-/index.html and
www.allafrica.com/stories/201409100235.html
it would be prudent to get enough cash for strong muscles before closing window as opposed to closing window now then have a cash call in two years time...My take. That said...BUY.

Good observation @Boris. They should aim at a minimum of Kshs. 3 Billion! The countries mentioned by CBK have a capital requirement of between Kshs. 2.2 Billion and Kshs. 9 Billion. Assuming CBK raise the requirement for Kenya banks to say Kshs. 5 to 6 Billion, Unaitas had better have atleast half of that so that it would be easier to raise the difference.

Unaitas
@Unaitas
@Prital1 The Transformation Journey
culminates in July 2016, and thus the closure
is expected around the same time. Thank you.
12:56 AM - 21 May 2015. via @twirra

@Maichmweusi..it has come to pass! Will she(unaitas) push the dates forward or what shall she do?
Everybody STEALS, a THIEF is one who's CAUGHT stealing something of LITTLE VALUE. !!!
streetwise
#729 Posted : Thursday, June 11, 2015 8:49:26 PM

Covert before due date and issue a rights
#730 Posted : Thursday, June 11, 2015 9:00:36 PM

Boris Boyka wrote:

Given their confirmed banking intent and ambitions to fund major projects...
www.businessdailyafrica....4/-/a93m0sz/-/index.html and
www.allafrica.com/stories/201409100235.html
it would be prudent to get enough cash for strong muscles before closing window as opposed to closing window now then have a cash call in two years time...My take. That said...BUY.

Good observation @Boris. They should aim at a minimum of Kshs. 3 Billion! The countries mentioned by CBK have a capital requirement of between Kshs. 2.2 Billion and Kshs. 9 Billion. Assuming CBK raise the requirement for Kenya banks to say Kshs. 5 to 6 Billion, Unaitas had better have atleast half of that so that it would be easier to raise the difference.

Unaitas
@Unaitas
@Prital1 The Transformation Journey
culminates in July 2016, and thus the closure
is expected around the same time. Thank you.
12:56 AM - 21 May 2015. via @twirra

@Maichmweusi..it has come to pass! Will she(unaitas) push the dates forward or what shall she do?

@Boris, hapa hakuna ujanja. They MUST shift the goal post!!! They need to raise more! As per our earlier discussion, anything below 3 billion will be a joke! Depending on the implementation guidelines and time table, they might have to raise the whole 5 Billion now!!!

"We are closing the shares sale SOON" might not be applicable any time soon!

But let's see how things play out. Do they have other options? Are those options palatable. Board meetings pap! Decisions decisons.
#731 Posted : Thursday, June 11, 2015 9:07:46 PM

@Boris - And when we discuss some of the issues here some of which have come to pass, we are told ati ni negative energy! Mara sijui Paralysis by Analysis!!!

Some people want us to bury our heads in the sand and only discuss "positive" things. Even the smallest of small time traders and hawkers do a SWOT analysis of their (proposed) business. They might not call it SWOT analysis but they do it anyway.

Watu wanataka tufanye "SO" analysis!!!
#732 Posted : Thursday, June 11, 2015 9:34:50 PM

@Boris - And when we discuss some of the issues here some of which have come to pass, we are told ati ni negative energy! Mara sijui Paralysis by Analysis!!!

Some people want us to bury our heads in the sand and only discuss "positive" things. Even the smallest of small time traders and hawkers do a SWOT analysis of their (proposed) business. They might not call it SWOT analysis but they do it anyway.

Sijui wale hawajanunua wanawashwa na nini na pesa si zao. 5b bring it on kwani ndio ya kwanza kenya? 2018 is 3 years away
#733 Posted : Thursday, June 11, 2015 9:43:22 PM

Sijui wale hawajanunua wanawashwa na nini na pesa si zao. 5b bring it on kwani ndio ya kwanza kenya? 2018 is 3 years away

This is exactly what I am talking about. This is Wazua. Not "base"!!!

You have to discuss/mention only positive things or keep quiet. That is not the Wazua I know.

@vvs (among others) keeps telling people not to fall in love with a stock. All the objectivity goes out the window.

@muchr - I comment on facts and opinions, good or bad, on shares I own or I don't. Deal with it!!!
#734 Posted : Thursday, June 11, 2015 9:51:35 PM

You have to discuss/mention only positive things or keep quiet. That is not the Wazua I know.

@vvs (among others) keeps telling people not to fall in love with a stock. All the objectivity goes out the window.

@muchr - I comment on facts and opinions, good or bad, on shares I own or I don't. Deal with it!!!

What is negativ? That capitalization requirements have been increased? How's that negative? Business goes on. If it's too much for you keep off. You should worry more of what you own eg KK
#735 Posted : Thursday, June 11, 2015 9:54:34 PM

I give up on you @murchr. Have a good night.
Boris Boyka
#736 Posted : Thursday, June 11, 2015 10:24:29 PM

What is negativ? That capitalization requirements have been increased? How's that negative? Business goes on. If it's too much for you keep off. You should worry more of what you own eg KK

@murchr has irregular rainssmile You are very much worried than maich and I....living in denial. We must analyse unaitas and make decisions basing on timelines....who doesn't work with timelines? or are you the owner/employee of unaitas..Unaitas need to give us new guidelines now...Mimi apana choka na wewe....you furnish us with information or you make a matress na hiyo pesa yako!
Everybody STEALS, a THIEF is one who's CAUGHT stealing something of LITTLE VALUE. !!!
Boris Boyka
#737 Posted : Friday, June 12, 2015 6:39:04 AM

jerry wrote:
its2013 wrote:
Boris Boyka wrote:
young farmer wrote:

business daily wrote:
Unaitas Sacco’s total share capital increased to Sh1.44 billion in 2014 from Sh693 million a year earlier as a result of an aggressive membership recruitment drive that has resulted in members increasing by 43 per cent to 200,000 from 140,000 over the same period.

Do the math

1.44B/10 = 144 Millions shares, Who know their share capital target if are still recruiting members.

still open....no closing window yet...No one wants Birrions to go away. Actually they may need to have 4B in capital. Lets wait and see.

So as we buy we are buying into an ongoing dilutuon whose rate we do not know.

Now that I'm in I also think there ought to be a "definite' period of capital mobilization.[/quote]

We have waited and seen. It is 5 B now. Lets wait for the timeline now.
#738 Posted : Friday, June 12, 2015 7:16:05 AM

Boris Boyka wrote:

@murchr has irregular rainssmile You are very much worried than maich and I....living in denial. We must analyse unaitas and make decisions basing on timelines....who doesn't work with timelines? or are you the owner/employee of unaitas..Unaitas need to give us new guidelines now...Mimi apana choka na wewe....you furnish us with information or you make a matress na hiyo pesa yako!

Boris when I turned 18, my mentor and I watched a football match in one of the clubs in town. He gave me an analogy I will never forget.

In a game/match/event there are 3 sets or people 1. The coach 2. The players 3. The jeer/cheering squad. The coach invests his knowledge to his players and - He gets paid for it in monetary form or by a win, the players invest in their time action and effort and they always get paid in monetary form, by a win or by the lessons they learn. The 3rd set of people, are always yelling and shouting the loudest, cheering those who win while making money or jeering and cursing their "opponents". The first 2 sets of people reap the rewards whatever the outcome (profits & Lessons) but the last set gets to pay for everything the first 2 achieve. (lost opportunity)

Back to UNAITAS everything a serious investor wants to knw about this counter is out there - ofcourse apart from how many people bought shares yesterday or who took out loans etc - Some news about the requirements for transformation into a bank (which should be fulfilled in 2018) should not cause someone who hasn't made their mind about acquiring a share to hyperventilate over nothing he owns. Keep buying the newspapers and am sure one of these days someone will or will not tell you something you want to hear.
streetwise
#739 Posted : Friday, June 12, 2015 9:09:30 AM

Well said. In layman’s language you can’t win a lottery ( charity) if you do not have a ticket.

In probability terms if you have no ticket the chances for you to win are zero.

On the other hand you can reuse the knowledge another place another time. Keep on learning
#740 Posted : Friday, June 12, 2015 10:21:50 AM

Only an extremely stupid person would analyze/research on/discuss a company ONLY AFTER BUYING INTO it! Actually most of the research, discussion etc. should be done BEFORE you put in your first shilling. Someone telling others to discuss ONLY the shares they own and avoid the rest including the ones they are considering buying is as pedestrian as they come. But then again as they confess, they are playing the lottery - not investing!!!

Personally I critic even the companies I have invested in and everyone here knows that! Just because you don't say something doesn't mean it is not there!

To quote @Duale, "Unaitas sio ya...". @Boris and I (among others) are considering buying a piece of Unaitas and as we do with ALL the other companies we buy into we have to look at all angles! Let us discuss issues and facts and avoid emotional outbursts.