wazua Sun, Jun 21, 2026

Kenya Police: an obstacle to progress?
#1 Posted : Thursday, June 04, 2015 9:42:56 AM

Does anyone else feel this? Our police force has become a major obstacle to national progress?

Lack of security, harassing innocents, messing up traffic, constantly taking bribes, no rule of law, bad decisions etc?

Isn't it time they got radical surgery?

They seem to be the weakest link in the chain of growth this country is going through. A constant reminder of how little we can achieve while they are still around, in their present form.

Does anyone have the guts to reform them, or will they always be the weight that pulls the whole nation down?
#2 Posted : Thursday, June 04, 2015 11:26:13 AM

I agree.
Can someone remind me what they are supposed to be doing because the vetting showed me that when you become a snr officer you somehow by osmosis or other inexplicable means suddenly became a very good entrepreneur and shortly thereafter start minting and banking millions of shillings in your/ or wife's account.I really hope KRA is following up these fellows.

I say lets do away with them - weka APs.

We should not accept to live with the narrative that that is the way the KPs are, will remain.
Carthage
#3 Posted : Thursday, June 04, 2015 3:02:58 PM

WE SHOULD FIRE THEM ALL AN REBUILD AFRESH
IT HAS BEEN DONE BEFORE

Firing of traffic police force stands as a symbol of hope in Georgia

TBILISI, Georgia—If there's a visible metaphor for the promise of Georgia's fledgling democracy, it might be right here on the tree-lined, pot-holed streets of the capital.
A year ago, the most feared and hated people in Georgia were the traffic police, not the KGB goons, the criminal militias or the fat-cat business pals and wealthy relatives of the former president.
"The traffic police were the real symbol of corruption," said Alexander Rondeli, a presidential adviser and a former Georgian diplomat. "Everything bad from the post-Soviet days was concentrated in them."
The traffic cops would station themselves on city streets or rural highways, using their white batons to wave over motorists at random. Their arbitrary, on-the-spot fines could easily equal a week's wages for the average Georgian.
Arguing a fine could result in a beating, the loss of one's vehicle or worse. Part of each officer's daily take was kicked up to his superiors, further links in the chain of corruption.
"So we fired them," President Mikhail Saakashvili said. "We fired the Georgian police."
He didn't mean just a few corrupt officers. He meant the entire national force.
It's since been replaced by polite, Western-trained recruits in smart new uniforms who travel in blue-and-white VW patrol cars.
"People actually like the police now," Rondeli said. "Most importantly, it shows people that the very worst part of our society could be reformed. It shows them there's hope."
Carthage
#4 Posted : Thursday, June 04, 2015 3:06:19 PM

Another Example

One Florida town has been hit by corruption and it is so bad, the entire police force has been fired. The most corrupt city in the state has been exposed for its unlawful ways during a recent audit. All cops and elected officials in office have been let go or will be soon as this is just one of the stipulations that had to be followed to spare the city of Hampton, as its corruption runs deep.
Read more at http://thefreethoughtpro...rce/#4IBF8GVBOmgHKSPt.99
#5 Posted : Thursday, June 04, 2015 3:23:05 PM

So stupid and irritating. And dumb.

#6 Posted : Thursday, June 04, 2015 3:27:00 PM

BTw with this new ecitizen DL renewal...how do you prove its genuine I have printed it out and when i run it through a bar code scanner it doesnt tell me anything.anyone?
#7 Posted : Thursday, June 04, 2015 10:50:28 PM

BTw with this new ecitizen DL renewal...how do you prove its genuine I have printed it out and when i run it through a bar code scanner it doesnt tell me anything.anyone?

just out of curiosity, what bar code scanner did you use, kama zile za supermarket ama the ones on the smartphones.

I am assuming you would need the app that the traffic cops or the ntsa guys have to get any meaningful info.
whiteowl
#8 Posted : Thursday, June 04, 2015 11:12:07 PM

just out of curiosity, what bar code scanner did you use, kama zile za supermarket ama the ones on the smartphones.

I am assuming you would need the app that the traffic cops or the ntsa guys have to get any meaningful info.

last time I checked NTSA database was lagging behind KRA's especially when you added new classes to your DL .I don't know if it's ok this month.They should include a verification option on the USSD menu.It will be easier that way.
kiash
#9 Posted : Friday, June 05, 2015 11:33:13 AM

Does anyone else feel this? Our police force has become a major obstacle to national progress?

Lack of security, harassing innocents, messing up traffic, constantly taking bribes, no rule of law, bad decisions etc?

They seem to be the weakest link in the chain of growth this country is going through. A constant reminder of how little we can achieve while they are still around, in their present form.

Does anyone have the guts to reform them, or will they always be the weight that pulls the whole nation down?

I think the best way would be to devolve the police force.Say you are out of Kiganjo and you are posted to a certain county and the county security heads are your local bosses. Then if anything happens, they are the first to go . These county heads should be incharge of organising everything.I like the way that Mombasa guy Malwa acts but i do not think he has enough power.Have the likes of PC's. Shida itakuwa transfer.
There is also results oriented thing as long as there is no one to give us the results, nothing will happen. There are always statistics sijui wizi, rape the numbers. Give us the areas where they happened and who is the boss in the place.

I do not know if its the case actually , post a CID officer(several) in every county so that those deaths do not go unexplained. In Kenya, its only the rich whose deaths are investigated.
By the way what was the reason of the vetting of those big bosses who are millionaires? for further appointments?d'oh! d'oh! to be fired? retired?
#10 Posted : Friday, June 05, 2015 11:48:36 AM

kiash wrote:

I think the best way would be to devolve the police force.Say you are out of Kiganjo and you are posted to a certain county and the county security heads are your local bosses. Then if anything happens, they are the first to go . These county heads should be incharge of organising everything.I like the way that Mombasa guy Malwa acts but i do not think he has enough power.Have the likes of PC's. Shida itakuwa transfer.
There is also results oriented thing as long as there is no one to give us the results, nothing will happen. There are always statistics sijui wizi, rape the numbers. Give us the areas where they happened and who is the boss in the place.

I do not know if its the case actually , post a CID officer(several) in every county so that those deaths do not go unexplained. In Kenya, its only the rich whose deaths are investigated.
By the way what was the reason of the vetting of those big bosses who are millionaires? for further appointments?d'oh! d'oh! to be fired? retired?

the vetting was just a way of fulfilling the constitution and keeping the noise down.
lakini at the end of the day no matter how good the constitution is - if at the individual level we are not willing to change then we might as well be better of chasing the wind.