wazua Mon, Jun 22, 2026

8 Pages«<34567>»
And the Jubilee Madness Continues...
#41 Posted : Friday, May 29, 2015 2:48:10 PM

when people die due to cholera mnasema sirikali saidia, wakati sirikali nasaidia,mnaleta nyef nyef nyef,mnataka nini?

ngumu, ngumu kabisa - we complain that nothing is done and when something is done we shout hii ni kenya it will never succeed.

The government is not nyaatha, kuna some serious failings - lakini tumekuwa watu wa ku oppose just for the sake.

But hey, what do I know - mimi hu shop chandarana hapo mobil plaza, maybe the guys against know better about the plight of mama mboga. smile

So kicking hundreds of small scale traders out of business through crap regulations is helping... SMH
#42 Posted : Friday, May 29, 2015 3:03:23 PM

Robinhood wrote:
when people die due to cholera mnasema sirikali saidia, wakati sirikali nasaidia,mnaleta nyef nyef nyef,mnataka nini?

ngumu, ngumu kabisa - we complain that nothing is done and when something is done we shout hii ni kenya it will never succeed.

The government is not nyaatha, kuna some serious failings - lakini tumekuwa watu wa ku oppose just for the sake.

But hey, what do I know - mimi hu shop chandarana hapo mobil plaza, maybe the guys against know better about the plight of mama mboga. smile

So kicking hundreds of small scale traders out of business through crap regulations is helping... SMH

sawa, now going through those regulation niambie the ones that will kick out the hundreds of small scale traders.

is it the obtaining of licences, which they are supposed to have even now, is it the introduction of weighing scales which I see in market nowadays weighing potatoes and stuff, is it the fine for selling outside the designated areas which even now is against the rules, is it the inspection of the food stuff...

ni nini, maybe sielewi - small scale traders will always exist to fill a particular market segment, supermarkets and others are also present to fill a gap, and I think regulations when it comes to food stuff is vital.
#43 Posted : Friday, May 29, 2015 5:48:23 PM

Um Sayala wrote:
Mimi naomba tu serikali watoe wachuuzi kwa BARABARA ya Eastleigh. They have taken the side walks, now they are literally selling their wares on the road. sema Jam

I have even seen the mama mbogas selling their wares on tom mboya and moi avenue pavements turning the cbd into a mini gikomba.

And when the govt tries to do something about this kind of madness, wazuans are up in arms rebuking govt.

BTW we have hundreds of agricultural officers, public health officers and city council askaris in nairobi, who we the tax payers are paying each month, and whose job is to ensure that agricultural produce is of the right quality, and handled in the right manner and sold in designated places that meet standards of sanitation and hygiene. Seems the hawker mentality has also crept into wazuans. Wazuans should read the Agriculture act, public health act and city council act on what the specific roles of each of these officers should be.

I hate it when people change the issue being discussed just to win an argument! Surely Wazua is past that level. Who here is supporting hawking in the CBD/middle of the road.

And how are these regulations supposed to deal with things like cholera? How many times have we seen county owned markets starting with Marikiti closed down by health officials because of unhygienic conditions and rodents all over the place?

And who here is opposed to having conditions and quality produce? I have not seen any!!!

@nakujua and @ jaggernaut - click the link, read EXACTLY what the regulations propose, read and understand wazuans sentiments, take a deep breath and then respond!
#44 Posted : Friday, May 29, 2015 6:02:56 PM

I think the taking away of estate kiosks is an addition of the media. Otherwise hawking on roads should END. And there are laws in place that take care of that already. How about they start with those. We need regulation on the type of fertilizer being used by farmers and the type of food being fed to livestock. I hear some are giving these animals anti-biotics to fatten them, soon we shall be resistant to meds.
#45 Posted : Friday, May 29, 2015 7:11:22 PM

Um Sayala wrote:
Mimi naomba tu serikali watoe wachuuzi kwa BARABARA ya Eastleigh. They have taken the side walks, now they are literally selling their wares on the road. sema Jam

I have even seen the mama mbogas selling their wares on tom mboya and moi avenue pavements turning the cbd into a mini gikomba.

And when the govt tries to do something about this kind of madness, wazuans are up in arms rebuking govt.

BTW we have hundreds of agricultural officers, public health officers and city council askaris in nairobi, who we the tax payers are paying each month, and whose job is to ensure that agricultural produce is of the right quality, and handled in the right manner and sold in designated places that meet standards of sanitation and hygiene. Seems the hawker mentality has also crept into wazuans. Wazuans should read the Agriculture act, public health act and city council act on what the specific roles of each of these officers should be.

I hate it when people change the issue being discussed just to win an argument! Surely Wazua is past that level. Who here is supporting hawking in the CBD/middle of the road.

And how are these regulations supposed to deal with things like cholera? How many times have we seen county owned markets starting with Marikiti closed down by health officials because of unhygienic conditions and rodents all over the place?

And who here is opposed to having conditions and quality produce? I have not seen any!!!

@nakujua and @ jaggernaut - click the link, read EXACTLY what the regulations propose, read and understand wazuans sentiments, take a deep breath and then respond!

smile been trying to read it over and over, and I can not see any measure that will kill mama mboga - unless kuna kitu sioni, inspection, scales, quality assurance, inspectors, selling within a market - its not just for argument sake, honestly highlight what will kill mama mboga from that article, and the genesis of the outrage.

maybe my spectacles have been covered in mjengo dust, lakini ukweli yangu yote mimi sioni - naomba usaidie hapo.
#46 Posted : Friday, May 29, 2015 7:28:09 PM

wacha nijaribu ku list the measures stated in the article;

1. all food crop produce shall be offered for sale only at designated markets.

2. any person found selling food items outside the designated markets will face a Sh500,000 fine or imprisonment for a period of one year.

3. The AFFA shall appoint qualified persons as inspectors to carry out inspections of all food crops produce and products,

4. At every market place, vendors will be expected to provide proof to inspectors that food crops on sale were harvested at maturity or as per the market requirements

5. The sellers must also convince inspectors that food items on display were sorted, graded, processed, packaged, labelled, transported, and stored to standards specified by AFFA.

6. All food crops produce and products dealers shall display and use a weighing scale that has been properly calibrated, serviced, inspected.

7. Under the regulations, traders must obtain licences from AFFA to grow, transport, store, process or trade in agricultural produce. Importers and exporters of agricultural produce must be registered by the sector regulator and operate strictly as specified in their licensing conditions.

8. The rules require counties, working in collaboration with the AFFA, to issue a movement permit to enable trans-shipment of food crops across the country.

9. The draft regulation seeks to restrict charges on commodities to the county of production. This means unlike the current case where every county imposes charges (cess) on products in transit, only the county where the farms are located will demand such taxes.

10. The draft rules state that dealers handling the input must apply for licences to import, repackage or repack fertilisers.
#47 Posted : Friday, May 29, 2015 9:48:46 PM

@nakujua, take the first and second measures into consideration.

A central market place must be constrained in space that Toi market for example, which is already congested can't fit all the mama mbogas in the areas bordering it. I'm not sure there's alternative and convenient space for the excess vendors.

In fact, the way I see it, these measures have higher costs than benefits and are ineffective against the problems they're intended to solve.

#48 Posted : Saturday, May 30, 2015 2:02:33 PM

A central market place must be constrained in space that Toi market for example, which is already congested can't fit all the mama mbogas in the areas bordering it. I'm not sure there's alternative and convenient space for the excess vendors.

In fact, the way I see it, these measures have higher costs than benefits and are ineffective against the problems they're intended to solve.

A designated market can be also on the road side, I see the local government guys collecting those daily rates from the roadside vendors.

I think there needs to be well defined areas set aside for selling stuff, in estates it can be that corner area where the mama mboga get together to sell, or that kiosk that pays a licence fee with a ka outside area with vegetables, its a designated area and a licence is paid, the same goes for supermarkets and other shops selling the same - I see no issue, even now most selling areas are well defined, I think controlling areas set aside for selling such is vital both for revenue collection and also for planning purposes.
#49 Posted : Saturday, May 30, 2015 10:53:02 PM

A designated market can be also on the road side, I see the local government guys collecting those daily rates from the roadside vendors.

I think there needs to be well defined areas set aside for selling stuff, in estates it can be that corner area where the mama mboga get together to sell, or that kiosk that pays a licence fee with a ka outside area with vegetables, its a designated area and a licence is paid, the same goes for supermarkets and other shops selling the same - I see no issue, even now most selling areas are well defined, I think controlling areas set aside for selling such is vital both for revenue collection and also for planning purposes.

In places like Kibera, all roads, most 'chochoros' have mama mbogas. So if a roadside can be used then all mama mbogas will be in designated areas, it won't be possible to charge one for not being in the designated area.

Or, all mama mbogas will now have to pay a fee to be in a designated place plus county license fees, plus inspection costs ...

The complicated process of each mama mboga proving the quality of her wares - probably by showing a receipt- time costs of waiting in the queues at marikiti or 'wherever', plus cost of corruption ... it's too much.

And we'll still not be able to be more certain of quality than we are presently are.
#50 Posted : Sunday, May 31, 2015 12:09:51 AM

In places like Kibera, all roads, most 'chochoros' have mama mbogas. So if a roadside can be used then all mama mbogas will be in designated areas, it won't be possible to charge one for not being in the designated area.

Or, all mama mbogas will now have to pay a fee to be in a designated place plus county license fees, plus inspection costs ...

The complicated process of each mama mboga proving the quality of her wares - probably by showing a receipt- time costs of waiting in the queues at marikiti or 'wherever', plus cost of corruption ... it's too much.

And we'll still not be able to be more certain of quality than we are presently are.

Hapo sawa, but the meat guys inspection has not stopped the mushrooming of butchers at every corner.
A receipt from the supplier should do, the latter knows the source and quality - currently even the mama mbogas know the sukuma from ruai sewage and those from other parts.

Designating trade areas is important in planning, I am sure you would not want to wake up one day and find a market outside your house door. Roadsides can be set apart, but residential areas can be kept for that purpose.

In most areas the trading areas are well defined, I mean if we fear corruption and processes then we will never grow.
8 Pages«<34567>»