wazua Mon, Nov 18, 2024

Nakumatt thievery Exposed #NakumattOnTrial
#21 Posted : Wednesday, May 20, 2015 10:02:29 PM

GGK wrote:
Have any of you been to Nakumatt with the little ones ....and they picked lollipops? The damn things costs 55/=, yes 55/=. I almost committed murder over this! Imagine 3 lollipops at 165/=

As one said its not thievery but capitalism.....I only buy anything from them only as the last option

Next time utapatana na Ice Cream ya 285/=. Those small 40/= Ice Cream. They have a brand that goes for 285/= but they "forget" to put the price. You will just see 35/=, 40/=, 50/= as the prices. Wacha you fika the counter!
#22 Posted : Wednesday, May 20, 2015 11:54:40 PM

So if I see an item marked x sh on the shelf and choose to buy it, and when the moment of the actual buying I am told that it's actually (x+y) sh and I proceed to pay for it anyway, I should count it as theft?

Supposing this is theft, how does the company effect such a policy to its staff?
#23 Posted : Thursday, May 21, 2015 7:02:38 AM

Siringi wrote:
[quote=Mukiri]Uchumi same thing! I was embarassed at the till just the other daySad

Pastor I hope they did not try to do 4. ? smile Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly
This has happened a number of times in the past, and now I don’t buy that Nakumatt stores do this “accidentally”. I highly suspect deliberate deception at play here.

Here’s the play:
1. You get an item from the shelf, add its price to your cost calculator.
2. You get to the till, your total cost is higher than you have on your calculator.
3. You scrutinise the receipt, and ask the person at the till about.
4. They make a comment implying that you are petty to ask about such ‘small money’ (pesa ndogo), or someone runs back to the shelf and comes back claiming that the till price is the correct price.

I’m now questioning the integrity of Nakumatt’s operations. The fact that this has happened more than once bothers me. I wonder whether they take advantage of the fact that many people don’t check their receipts, and thus get away with such deception. Is it that this unethical (and possibly illegal) practice is quietly encouraged by silence internally?
I got fed up yesterday and went back to the shelf to document this.
I’m calling you out, Nakumatt, for the fact that this isn’t the first time this has happened to me – it has happened one time too many.
- See more at: http://nairobiwire.com/2...ml#sthash.rS3En9ln.dpuf[/quote]

C&P from nairobiwire:
"Muthoni Wa Wambugu I so relate. I have never been a person to check the price tag of anything until 2-3 weeks ago. I would record my withdrawal and spending (by just checking the total). So if i’m spending more, i would go out less. That was until 2-3 weeks ago. I decided to have a look at my receipts and realized my local Java stop always gave me other people’s receipts and i never noticed."

I have noticed this with coffee houses....I usually check the bill and the receipt and noticed a couple of times that the two were different. Although I was not overcharged, I wondered why they would bring me a different receipt......I think this may be how they steal from their employers.
#24 Posted : Thursday, May 21, 2015 8:52:10 AM

Same thing happened to me,I picked a pack of condoms thinking it's40 bob, shock on me when I paid KES 250 as if the condom came with an airport
subaru
#25 Posted : Thursday, May 21, 2015 9:40:59 AM

butterflyke wrote:
Siringi wrote:
[quote=Mukiri]Uchumi same thing! I was embarassed at the till just the other daySad

Pastor I hope they did not try to do 4. ? smile Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly
This has happened a number of times in the past, and now I don’t buy that Nakumatt stores do this “accidentally”. I highly suspect deliberate deception at play here.

Here’s the play:
2. You get to the till, your total cost is higher than you have on your calculator.
4. They make a comment implying that you are petty to ask about such ‘small money’ (pesa ndogo), or someone runs back to the shelf and comes back claiming that the till price is the correct price.

I’m now questioning the integrity of Nakumatt’s operations. The fact that this has happened more than once bothers me. I wonder whether they take advantage of the fact that many people don’t check their receipts, and thus get away with such deception. Is it that this unethical (and possibly illegal) practice is quietly encouraged by silence internally?
I’m calling you out, Nakumatt, for the fact that this isn’t the first time this has happened to me – it has happened one time too many.

C&P from nairobiwire:
"Muthoni Wa Wambugu I so relate. I have never been a person to check the price tag of anything until 2-3 weeks ago. I would record my withdrawal and spending (by just checking the total). So if i’m spending more, i would go out less. That was until 2-3 weeks ago. I decided to have a look at my receipts and realized my local Java stop always gave me other people’s receipts and i never noticed."

I have noticed this with coffee houses....I usually check the bill and the receipt and noticed a couple of times that the two were different. Although I was not overcharged, I wondered why they would bring me a different receipt......I think this may be how they steal from their employers.

even have been to restaurants where u r given an old receipt may be printed an hr ago i guess its a way of making away with some plates
#26 Posted : Thursday, May 21, 2015 10:05:34 AM

subaru wrote:
butterflyke wrote:
Siringi wrote:

Here’s the play:

C&P from nairobiwire:

even have been to restaurants where u r given an old receipt may be printed an hr ago i guess its a way of making away with some plates

Not long ago(2014 or earlier 2015), @Bigchick was issued a bond receipt by Kenya police showing that she should appear in court on Jan 2008
#27 Posted : Thursday, May 21, 2015 1:35:04 PM

subaru wrote:
butterflyke wrote:
Siringi wrote:

Here’s the play:

C&P from nairobiwire:

Not long ago(2014 or earlier 2015), @Bigchick was issued a bond receipt by Kenya police showing that she should appear in court on Jan 2008

To appear in court on a Saturday Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly
#28 Posted : Thursday, May 21, 2015 2:15:35 PM

subaru wrote:
butterflyke wrote:
Siringi wrote:

Here’s the play:

C&P from nairobiwire:

or may be it is printed as your order is placed and brought to your table 3 hours later when you ask for it after you have just finished your latte and used their wifi. not everthing is about people stealing from us. at times we are just too lazy to think or downright stupid for us to come up with 'moving away with some plates' theories.
#29 Posted : Thursday, May 21, 2015 3:07:51 PM

subaru wrote:
butterflyke wrote:
Siringi wrote:
Uchumi same thing! I was embarassed at the till just the other daySad

Here’s the play:

C&P from nairobiwire:

To appear in court on a Saturday Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly

True story post #131

[quote=Speculz]Three questions

1. How do we, the meek citizens know that those speed guns are calibrated correctly?

2. Do the current hand held speed guns actually take the picture of your plate as it clocks your speed?

3. Does operating a speed gun require training?

My very question.

Last week I was nabbed hapo Juja.

I was stopped and the cop came over with a kapaper scribbled my car number and 97Kms/hour.

I demanded to be shown the evidence but he ignored me.

He went and called his lady counterpart to deal with me. She had backfired bleach on her and that irritated me. I decided to follow whatever she says without argument coz with the bleach irritation I was likely to say bad things to her and worsen my situation.

So she gave me two options
1.Go to court now be fined 20K and proceed
2.Pay cash bail of 10K then appear in court later.

I asked her if she walks around with 10k in her pocket. She sneered at me and answered that if I can afford to drive then I should also afford to carry cash with me.I asked God to give me patience.

I told her we go to court. She did those Tango two calls and another cop came to relieve her as she took me to court.
On arriving at Juja P.S the fool told me they had reduced the cash bail to 5k coz I looked like I was in a hurry and they are willing to help me.

Meanwhile I had called for cash and my friend had arrived so I decided to pay the cash bail.

Shock on me when I got home the ticket read 22nd Nov as the day of Court(A Saturday)

I sent my lawyer to deal and he told he did not find such a file. I WAS CONNED BY COPS.

rryyzz
#30 Posted : Thursday, May 21, 2015 3:40:20 PM

Whenever i shop at nakumatt they say they don't have coins for change. Assuming each of their 1m customers each day leaves 2-4bob coz of lack of coins, that's 2-4m each day 'stolen' from their customers. And that's about 730m-1.6B that they illegally take from us each year.

That's why I shop at a kiosk,If njoroge doesn't have change or enough coins,he give s me a credit note which is offset against future purchases

Walk around with 4, 1 shilling coins at any one time and this shit of change is sorted out!!!!smile smile smile

Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly I always have loose coins with me. Never give them a chance to get away with my money
Too often we underestimate the power of a touch, a smile, a kind word, a listening ear, an honest compliment, or the smallest act of caring, all of which have the potential to turn a life around.... Leo Buscaglia
Money Whisperer
#31 Posted : Thursday, May 21, 2015 4:29:44 PM

Same thing happened to me,I picked a pack of condoms thinking it's40 bob, shock on me when I paid KES 250 as if the condom came with an airport

boss durex si trust
"Money never sleeps"
earthvoice
#32 Posted : Thursday, May 21, 2015 5:11:55 PM

"All intelligent investing is value investing -- acquiring more than you are paying for. You must value the business in order to value the stock." - Charlie Munger.
#33 Posted : Thursday, May 21, 2015 9:25:31 PM

How some reacted to similar case in different place and time http://forums.moneysavin.../showthread.php?t=927517
#34 Posted : Thursday, May 21, 2015 9:30:22 PM

#35 Posted : Friday, May 22, 2015 7:51:37 AM

Interesting times ahead.
#36 Posted : Friday, May 22, 2015 8:06:52 AM

Don't think will ever see a product priced lower at the till than displayed. LOOOOOL. That's just not Nakumatt's style.
tinker
#37 Posted : Friday, May 22, 2015 12:06:05 PM

And the practice is very rampant in Nai pubs - 50% times you booze, you are over charged. or the waiter ( who you gave cash) changes name tags & service location.
....He who began a good work in you will carry it on to completion..
Chaka
#38 Posted : Friday, May 22, 2015 12:35:32 PM

tinker wrote:
And the practice is very rampant in Nai pubs - 50% times you booze, you are over charged. or the waiter ( who you gave cash) changes name tags & service location.

That explains why those bars don't have the price list clearly displayed..
kiash
#39 Posted : Wednesday, May 27, 2015 12:26:37 PM

Haiya kumbe people are conned, the last time i asked people here of such there was no reply and now there is a whole page of such.

https://www.google.com/u...G_60XnKckWndARITklp23vQ