statement from Bethuel Kiplagat
Ngalaka
#11 Posted : Friday, February 26, 2010 12:17:23 PM

Amekula mbuzi ya nani.

Nobody can command 100% acceptance.

Hata leta huyo Ndingi Mwana ..

Those NGO fellows fronted him now they are baying for his blood!
Absurd
Isuni yilu yi maa me muyo - ni Mbisuu
keraka
#12 Posted : Friday, February 26, 2010 1:13:52 PM

siendi na sitoki ng'o.kwani mtadooo????????
The only thing necessary for the triumph of evil is for good men to do nothing.
#13 Posted : Saturday, February 27, 2010 5:20:55 AM

Hes probably begging for a chance to redeem his lost chances...

I dont care much hes stays he goes... sufuria kwangu haziongezeki hazipunguki Ng'oo
#14 Posted : Saturday, February 27, 2010 6:23:21 AM

another old fool making a fool of himself and fooling other people, these fools!!
#15 Posted : Saturday, February 27, 2010 6:47:45 AM

Murungi is sure to resign before end of coming week.....The other commissioners should follow suit and leave this idiot to run the commission by himself.
#16 Posted : Saturday, February 27, 2010 8:02:17 AM

The old geezer lacks everyone's confidence and should quit rather than slug it out in court. He must understand TJRC and execution of its mandate are larger than him and his questionable tainted past.

But let's probe deeper.
Why are we directing our angst and ire at the old man? How did he end up there in the first place?
Fact: he didn't choose himself, some people did! Some civil society heavies/public officials who are now loudly calling for his removal did!
The govt. advertised for the position, he applied and was successfully chosen! For some in the interview panel to now come round and say he's not fit is sheer hypocrisy and incompetence.

So he is merely a symptom of a larger malaise - betrayal of public trust by public officials/ civil society. Those who chose him - why didn't they deploy all the NSIS, historical, etc resources to do a proper and thorough due diligence background on him to ascertain his suitability for the Head of TJRC? Why dont we vet the Heads of institutions? We are having this acrimony coz some pips slept on their jobs, period.
These people, this flawed selection process and maybe even certain aspects of the TJRC Act itself were fundamentally flawed, that saw him elevated to the position is what we should be directing our anger and attention at.
And this betrayal has precedents: Like when the Cabinet decided to go forward with Mau evictions and all the ministers agreed, only for some of this same ministers the next day to come out and say they disagree with the govt decision they helped reach! Why didn't they raise their concern, their objection, their disapproval before, at the most opportune time!?
This is the hypocrisy & incompetence we should be saying no to.
It is the selction panel that should be defending its chocie of Kiplagat, not himself really!

On the positive side its a reminder that you are guilty by association - if you dont like what your govt, company, chama,etc are doing quit so that any adverse reactions to their decisions/ activities does not haunt you much later in life.
#17 Posted : Saturday, February 27, 2010 10:15:18 AM

@intelligensia.. nice thinking

Who and why chose this guy? Dont you think that the appointing authority didnt know of his past misdeeds?

Who stands to loose the most if the TJRC succeeds
Why is he so adamant?- so out of character

Forgive me but i think a bigger scheme is afoot here
gk
#18 Posted : Saturday, February 27, 2010 11:09:54 AM

Fundaah wrote:
Statement by Ambassador Bethuel Kiplagat

Do I bow to the pressure of a well-orchestrated media based lynch mob, which is likely to be interpreted as confirming the allegations leveled against me?

Or do I stand my ground and invite the criticism that I am oblivious to perceived public opinion?

... all Kenyan’s have a constitutional right to be considered innocent until proven guilty in a court of law.

This is a fundamental “Human Right” which applies to me as much as to every man, woman and child on this earth.

It is indeed ironic that some of my accusers have been treated unfairly in the past as a result of the absence of this very principle.

...I cannot merely step aside. Doing so would amount to condoning and encouraging the abuse of human rights, mine included.

Since no one has brought any case against me and in order to clear my name, I am enjoining myself in a case already filed against the TJRC so that the allegations leveled against me are determined in a court of law once and for all.

....as has already been obersved elsewhere its due to lack of his social acceptability that he should leave.

...yet I empathise and I feel he did the right thing. Once he is cleared (if), then he can resign but not now Kip, stay put!!!!!

Cardinal
#19 Posted : Saturday, February 27, 2010 11:56:54 AM

This guy is in a very tricky situation.If he gives it to the pressure and resigns , then he has lost his credibility to be in any top office, he also loses credibility in all the good things that he might have done.

the best thing he can do now as a man, is to reign on, but eventually this will affect the TJRC work.

You know a man has got to do what a man got to do.

but am not so sure about what am saying.

His name reminds me on Greatness.Bethuel.

God reigns anyway
the sage
#20 Posted : Monday, March 01, 2010 7:33:36 AM

@Digitek you're right, who stands to benefitr the most when the TJRC commission falls is the answer. All the politicians are mentioned in so many reports and it will be a cold day in hell before they allow for a commission which can actually work.