wazua Tue, Nov 26, 2024

statement from Bethuel Kiplagat
Fundaah
#1 Posted : Friday, February 26, 2010 8:49:54 AM

Statement by Ambassador Bethuel Kiplagat

Honorable Members of Parliament, Fellow Commissioners, Ladies and Gentlemen.

I appreciate that the task before us as a commission and as individuals is a very heavy responsibility.

The whole nation is looking upon us to deliver a process that will be victim-centred, grounded on fairness and justice, open and thorough in its deliberations and decisive in its recommendations.

Personally I have worked my whole life to bring peace and reconciliation between people. The TJRC offers me an opportunity to serve my country in the area of my calling.

Kenyans have been waiting for decades for a process such as the Truth, Justice and Reconciliation Commission. Over the last forty or so years, each generation of survivors and victims have lost several of their members, consigned to the grave before they had a chance to tell their stories, share their pain, confront their former tormentors and articulate the redress they seek.

As commissioners we therefore have our work cut out for us.

That is why I consider it so unfortunate that so much energy is being expended on the question of my suitability or otherwise to be the Chair of the TJRC.

The fact that I have been placed in the position of having to defend my integrity, my honour, my sense of justice, commitment to human rights ideals and democracy at this late stage in my life is quite a challenge to me.

One would have thought that my long career in public and diplomatic service should have cleared any lingering doubts but I am now faced with a dilemma:

Do I bow to the pressure of a well-orchestrated media based lynch mob, which is likely to be interpreted as confirming the allegations leveled against me?

Or do I stand my ground and invite the criticism that I am oblivious to perceived public opinion?

Despite having repeatedly defended myself in the media and in disregard of the numerous statements in my defense from a cross section of society, the debate continues.

My only recourse therefore is to clear my name through a formal legal process.

Ladies and Gentlemen, I am a believer in the rule of law and the fact that all Kenyan’s have a constitutional right to be considered innocent until proven guilty in a court of law.

This is a fundamental “Human Right” which applies to me as much as to every man, woman and child on this earth.

I believe that all people should abide by the rule of law and not take actions outside the law or make judgments based on unproven allegations.

In fact, the individuals claiming to represent Human Rights and other Civil Society Organizations should be the last to resort to a lynch mob mentality. It goes completely contrary to their mandate and fundamental principles of protecting the rights of everyone irrespective of status and station in life. It is indeed ironic that some of my accusers have been treated unfairly in the past as a result of the absence of this very principle.

I also believe that the trend to call for the resignation of any person based on media reports, perception and vaguely defined “public opinion” is a dangerous trend in particular when our history has shown how ignoring the rule of law can lead to catastrophic results.

If allowed to continue, it is not farfetched to imagine any of us in this room could in future be victims of similar campaigns as we carry out our public duties.

In view of these fundamental beliefs and more so as the Chairman of a commission, whose mandate, is to address past injustices, I cannot merely step aside. Doing so would amount to condoning and encouraging the abuse of human rights, mine included.

My fellow commissioners, as individuals who believe in Truth, Justice and the Rule of Law none of us should take any action or draw any conclusions based solely on allegations, opinion or perception.

So what next?

Since no one has brought any case against me and in order to clear my name, I am enjoining myself in a case already filed against the TJRC so that the allegations leveled against me are determined in a court of law once and for all.

From tomorrow, and while awaiting the determination by the court, I will redirect every ounce of my energy and commitment to the people of Kenya. They have been waiting for far too long for a chance to be heard.

It is in this spirit of truth, justice and reconciliation, that I ask you all to put any differences aside and work together to fulfill the mandate of this important commission.

God bless you and may God Bless Kenya. “May justice continue to be our shield and defender”.

Ambassador Bethuel Kiplagat
Chairman Truth, Justice and Reconciliation Commission
26th February 2010

Isaiah 65:17-Look! I am creating new heavens and a new earth, and no one will even think about the old ones anymore
#2 Posted : Friday, February 26, 2010 9:11:50 AM

This guy fails to understand that pple are not comfortable with him bcoz he served in a Govt that most pple accuse of gross human right violation and to cap it all he is mentioned in two commissions of enquiry.

This guy should honourably step down and give a chance to unbiased candidate someone like Ndingi mwana nzeki would do.
#3 Posted : Friday, February 26, 2010 9:14:06 AM

The dude should just resign, sometimes, perception becomes reality!!!!!
Kamzee
#4 Posted : Friday, February 26, 2010 9:26:52 AM

Surely,how more can a man destroy his honor in old age other than Kiplagats actions.
#5 Posted : Friday, February 26, 2010 9:29:06 AM

so which school of thought does this fellow belong to?

now the chorus for him to go will be sang even louder than before!! bure kabisa.
Fundaah
#6 Posted : Friday, February 26, 2010 9:34:45 AM

Impunity Redefined.....MTA do?
Isaiah 65:17-Look! I am creating new heavens and a new earth, and no one will even think about the old ones anymore
gathinga
#7 Posted : Friday, February 26, 2010 9:40:44 AM

kiplagat ande. there are many capable kenyans. besides acceptability is central in reconciliation. he cant be thrust down people's throats....

lets have Waki!
Jacy26
#8 Posted : Friday, February 26, 2010 9:51:59 AM

Can't quit won't quit is the mantra of old wazees in Kenya. Only death can remove them from power. It's very unfortunate indeed.
If you have only one smile in you, give it to the people you love - Maya Angelou
#9 Posted : Friday, February 26, 2010 10:05:56 AM

@ Selah, Ndingi is suitable but now he is old. I would rather have him rest.
#10 Posted : Friday, February 26, 2010 10:52:11 AM

What gets into the heads of old men in this country?.Instead of displaying wisdom,they show a total lack of it......Worse,the lack of wisdom seems to deteriorate as time passes by....Just yesterday,the geezer said he would make a major statement.I surely thought he would step down with honour......He may as well attend those sessions by himself.......I have totally lost the respect i had for the idiot....Bure kabisa!!
Ngalaka
#11 Posted : Friday, February 26, 2010 12:17:23 PM

Amekula mbuzi ya nani.

Nobody can command 100% acceptance.

Hata leta huyo Ndingi Mwana ..

Those NGO fellows fronted him now they are baying for his blood!
Absurd
Isuni yilu yi maa me muyo - ni Mbisuu
keraka
#12 Posted : Friday, February 26, 2010 1:13:52 PM

siendi na sitoki ng'o.kwani mtadooo????????
The only thing necessary for the triumph of evil is for good men to do nothing.
#13 Posted : Saturday, February 27, 2010 5:20:55 AM

Hes probably begging for a chance to redeem his lost chances...

I dont care much hes stays he goes... sufuria kwangu haziongezeki hazipunguki Ng'oo
#14 Posted : Saturday, February 27, 2010 6:23:21 AM

another old fool making a fool of himself and fooling other people, these fools!!
#15 Posted : Saturday, February 27, 2010 6:47:45 AM

Murungi is sure to resign before end of coming week.....The other commissioners should follow suit and leave this idiot to run the commission by himself.
#16 Posted : Saturday, February 27, 2010 8:02:17 AM

The old geezer lacks everyone's confidence and should quit rather than slug it out in court. He must understand TJRC and execution of its mandate are larger than him and his questionable tainted past.

But let's probe deeper.
Why are we directing our angst and ire at the old man? How did he end up there in the first place?
Fact: he didn't choose himself, some people did! Some civil society heavies/public officials who are now loudly calling for his removal did!
The govt. advertised for the position, he applied and was successfully chosen! For some in the interview panel to now come round and say he's not fit is sheer hypocrisy and incompetence.

So he is merely a symptom of a larger malaise - betrayal of public trust by public officials/ civil society. Those who chose him - why didn't they deploy all the NSIS, historical, etc resources to do a proper and thorough due diligence background on him to ascertain his suitability for the Head of TJRC? Why dont we vet the Heads of institutions? We are having this acrimony coz some pips slept on their jobs, period.
These people, this flawed selection process and maybe even certain aspects of the TJRC Act itself were fundamentally flawed, that saw him elevated to the position is what we should be directing our anger and attention at.
And this betrayal has precedents: Like when the Cabinet decided to go forward with Mau evictions and all the ministers agreed, only for some of this same ministers the next day to come out and say they disagree with the govt decision they helped reach! Why didn't they raise their concern, their objection, their disapproval before, at the most opportune time!?
This is the hypocrisy & incompetence we should be saying no to.
It is the selction panel that should be defending its chocie of Kiplagat, not himself really!

On the positive side its a reminder that you are guilty by association - if you dont like what your govt, company, chama,etc are doing quit so that any adverse reactions to their decisions/ activities does not haunt you much later in life.
#17 Posted : Saturday, February 27, 2010 10:15:18 AM

@intelligensia.. nice thinking

Who and why chose this guy? Dont you think that the appointing authority didnt know of his past misdeeds?

Who stands to loose the most if the TJRC succeeds
Why is he so adamant?- so out of character

Forgive me but i think a bigger scheme is afoot here
gk
#18 Posted : Saturday, February 27, 2010 11:09:54 AM

Fundaah wrote:
Statement by Ambassador Bethuel Kiplagat

Do I bow to the pressure of a well-orchestrated media based lynch mob, which is likely to be interpreted as confirming the allegations leveled against me?

Or do I stand my ground and invite the criticism that I am oblivious to perceived public opinion?

... all Kenyan’s have a constitutional right to be considered innocent until proven guilty in a court of law.

This is a fundamental “Human Right” which applies to me as much as to every man, woman and child on this earth.

It is indeed ironic that some of my accusers have been treated unfairly in the past as a result of the absence of this very principle.

...I cannot merely step aside. Doing so would amount to condoning and encouraging the abuse of human rights, mine included.

Since no one has brought any case against me and in order to clear my name, I am enjoining myself in a case already filed against the TJRC so that the allegations leveled against me are determined in a court of law once and for all.

....as has already been obersved elsewhere its due to lack of his social acceptability that he should leave.

...yet I empathise and I feel he did the right thing. Once he is cleared (if), then he can resign but not now Kip, stay put!!!!!

Cardinal
#19 Posted : Saturday, February 27, 2010 11:56:54 AM

This guy is in a very tricky situation.If he gives it to the pressure and resigns , then he has lost his credibility to be in any top office, he also loses credibility in all the good things that he might have done.

the best thing he can do now as a man, is to reign on, but eventually this will affect the TJRC work.

You know a man has got to do what a man got to do.

but am not so sure about what am saying.

His name reminds me on Greatness.Bethuel.

God reigns anyway
the sage
#20 Posted : Monday, March 01, 2010 7:33:36 AM

@Digitek you're right, who stands to benefitr the most when the TJRC commission falls is the answer. All the politicians are mentioned in so many reports and it will be a cold day in hell before they allow for a commission which can actually work.