wazua Mon, Jun 22, 2026

Scrap women Reps and nominated Mps-JB
Wamunyota
#1 Posted : Monday, May 11, 2015 12:21:14 PM

Speaker of the National Assembly Justin Muturi has proposed the scrapping of the women representative and the nominated MPs seats.

Muturi has instead suggested that the two be replaced with 100 affirmative seats in order to resolve the two-third gender rule.

“There will be 25 nominated slots in the Senate, giving it a total of 72 thereby dealing with the issue of the two third gender rule in the Senate. In the National Assembly, there will be 100 slots bringing the total number of legislators to 390,” he said in his proposal.

The Speaker said the proposal would increase members in both Houses by 46 and it is bound to bring about the debate on the wage Bill. The Speaker urged Kenyans to make the sacrifice for the sake of empowering women and accept the proposed changes.

Muturi's proposal
Hutia Mundu!!
MKWASI
#2 Posted : Monday, May 11, 2015 1:08:21 PM

Honestly what is the work of women representative?

My proposal would be different:
Do away completely with the 1/3 rule. Let our women compete like everyone else.
#3 Posted : Monday, May 11, 2015 2:01:02 PM

Why dont countries such as the US and the UK from which we copy everything have these one third gender rules? Nkt
#4 Posted : Monday, May 11, 2015 2:13:06 PM

I support Muturi,otherwise we will end up with the whole population in parliament in the name of "gender" blah,blah!!..........I also support RAO. Let's go to the streets and throw a few stones and also test the ng'oa -bility of the SGS railway line.Kwani iko nini?
Alba
#5 Posted : Monday, May 11, 2015 3:33:56 PM

Just scrap them and do not replace them with anything. No wonder the government has a bloated wage bill.

I would even go as far as scrapping the senate. Most Kenyan politicians are idlers who accomplish nothing. Why pay them money to do this?

All this money spent paying pointless politicians can be used to enhance security by planting high resolution CCTV cameras and street lights all over urban areas.
#6 Posted : Monday, May 11, 2015 3:45:41 PM

Alba wrote:
Just scrap them and do not replace them with anything. No wonder the government has a bloated wage bill.

I would even go as far as scrapping the senate. Most Kenyan politicians are idlers who accomplish nothing. Why pay them money to do this?

All this money spent paying pointless politicians can be used to enhance security by planting high resolution CCTV cameras and street lights all over urban areas.

We should infact scrap the government and go back to the way our grandfathers governed themselves
#7 Posted : Monday, May 11, 2015 3:52:15 PM

MKWASI wrote:

I proposed this idea of elimating women reps and I was shafted and called a womanist!

Wamunyota
#8 Posted : Monday, May 11, 2015 4:18:15 PM

MKWASI wrote:

I proposed this idea of elimating women reps and I was shafted and called a womanist!

Apart from kuombwa vitu na kuslapiwa,there is nothing these WR have to show.Sad
Hutia Mundu!!
Alba
#9 Posted : Monday, May 11, 2015 4:49:36 PM

Kenya needs governors and MPs. Thats it

Senators, nominated MPs, Womens reps just eat government money with no useful purpose. They should go home.

A country with such a bloated wage bill and one that always runs a deficit and fails to provide basic services cannot afford them.
#10 Posted : Monday, May 11, 2015 6:48:17 PM

Alba wrote:
Kenya needs governors and MPs. Thats it

Senators, nominated MPs, Womens reps just eat government money with no useful purpose. They should go home.

A country with such a bloated wage bill and one that always runs a deficit and fails to provide basic services cannot afford them.

Ukweli, but you will be labeled all kinds of anti things. We just need leaders who are bold enough to tackle such - lakini tunaokoa kenya.