wazua Wed, Jun 17, 2026

8 Pages«<45678>
Safaricom Kshs 15bn Security Contract.
#51 Posted : Friday, June 13, 2014 2:17:24 PM

Pedes wrote:
Surveillance systems are good, human beings are better. The Israelis have known this, the US is just beginning to.

Eh how so? Fafanua tafasali
#52 Posted : Thursday, June 19, 2014 12:26:45 PM

National Security project by Safaricom

The hawks are lining up:

2001 Tetra Radio 450m
Saying they were awarded contract 10 yrs ago and in Court of Appeal due Sep 18

2012 ZTE 23bn
They won tender against Huawei who challenged the award due to late submission. Government cancelled tender.

2014 Safaricom 15bn
Awarded in single sourcing; pursues tender to obtain LTE spectrum
Huawei responsible for Safaricom network to do setup and deployment
Stands suspended by Parliarment
#53 Posted : Thursday, June 19, 2014 12:28:51 PM

kiash
#54 Posted : Thursday, June 19, 2014 2:38:07 PM

the way I see it... Kenya will never be able to procure anything.... too much siasa. if a local company is picked siasa... we just want big names here. Who cares if it is hackable? it's mere presence will stop lots and lots of petty crimes but we would rather protect 'public' funds and cry when we are attacked - when asked for solutions we shout - ensure that security is headed by the right person... kwani ni Ole Lenku's replacement atafanya kazi ya makarao hao wote wa D? When solutions are prescribed we fight them.... Kenya will never be able to procure anything from Kenyans because of siasa.
People need to understand one thing - THERE IS NOTHING WRONG WITH MAKING MONEY!! YOU DON'T SUPPLY GAVA SO THAT YOU JUST BREAK EVEN! considering the length of time it takes them to pay for stuff (IEBC bado haijalipa watu wa elections) there is a problem when people in GAVA make money off kandarasis but there is no problem with picking a Local implementer even if a cheaper one is available out there. We quote US or UK like they are our peers!! you guys have an economy less than the enconomy of Wyoming the 2nd last state in the US and you still compare yourselves to them? SERIOUSLY!! MTU WA KIBERA ANASEMA HATAKI TOYOTA BECAUSE WATU WA RUNDA WANAENDESHA BMW? Bure Kabisa Mafi ya Kuku

I missed out on this one but Masukuma have talked like 10 minds.Applause Applause Applause Applause Applause Applause Applause
kiash
#55 Posted : Thursday, June 19, 2014 2:43:03 PM

Ceinz wrote:
Kshs. 15 B Surveilance Contract.

Reading Tuesday's star article by Timothy Kiberia: Magic Bullet:Is Safaricom Cover for China's Huawei?
Picked out the following;

Kshs. 15 B for 1,800 cameras translates to approx. Kshs. 8,333,333 or $ 95,000 per camera.

Instant online quotation from Cisco, The World's number one supplier and installer of CCTV surveillance cameras and networks reveals a significantly lower cost.

The cost of the equipment and installation of the network in areas that already have their own fibre optic cables averages btwn. $ 5,000 and $8,000 per camera.

To illustrate this further, one needs to look at the City of Leicester in the Uk, which recently installed 2,083 cameras at a cost of £ 14 million or Kshs. 2.1 billion. Leicester got almost 300 more cameras and spent seven times less than what Kenya intends to spend.

Not forgetting that in August 2010, Safaricom selected Hauwei a its vendor of choice for the supply of its core network requirements and roll out of the 4G Network.

Huawei, like all other leading Chinese telecommunication companies, is linked directly to the Chinese military. In essence the 'Safaricom' contract means we are outsourcing our surveillance and intelligence to the Chinese government.

President UK describes this project as the magic bullet. Unfortunately there is no magic bullet here; Hauwei/ Chinese network equipment comes with the Magic Kill Packet that allows back-door penetration by the supplier- in this case the Chinese military. This in simple language exposes our critical national security infrastructure to the Chinese military.

It is this connection with the Chinese military and easily attack-able network that led to Hauwei being barred from the North American, Australian and most of Western Europe Market.

This is funny if not serious. To say we are exposing our security, what make are the jets being used by the Airforce, the helicopters by the army and those ships bought by "murungarus" for the navy + all the communication systems . What is the make of the phone being used at state house, the computers being used by the NSIS guys , the email systems aka outlook, thunderbird and lotus. All these are not Kenyan /local and are prone to hacking interception and all . I think this point should not be used to judge the contract.
kiash
#56 Posted : Thursday, June 19, 2014 2:50:31 PM

I didn't vote for jubilee and I am not their supporter but on this one the president is on the right track.

To the experts on big time corruption, kindly explain how this one is supposed to work. The main shareholders of safcom (GoK and Vodacom) met some senior state house operatives and cut a deal to get this big tender. Once the govt pays safcom using spectrum, the corrupt officers get their cut (of the spectrum I guess).

It was a big mistake to introduce the African to this thing called democracy. UMK should put his foot down on this one and ignore everyone including court orders.

Like @masukuma said, this thing will deter the small time crooks and change the whole dynamics of fighting crime in Kenya.

If Safcom delivers this project, who knows, other African govts might come calling. It could be the one deal that transforms a local company into a respected global service provider.
exactly!! this is how you build local companies - gava is the only thing that can build local companies to enable them to trade with others. Microsoft was built by US gava, Huaweii was built by China gava. Sisi tunapenda kununua vitu nje sana... we love brands that sound good but deny us of much needed revenue. think about it - if safcom got this... the money will be profits to share holders and even gava. that is how people use taxes to build themselves.Let's eat our own friking dog food bwana. No one will ever trust you if your own country cannot trust you. the greatest tragedy year before last year is that we were so willing to pay Safran Morpho 9 billion.... an amount that would build a quarter of thika road... 9 billion!! we were having beef about who owns symphony which as asking for 3. something billion... ati NANI ANAKULA? boss people are not in business to give free services or to be limited by a certain psychological upper limit to profits. Kwanza when internationals smell blood... they will be sharks and will kula you proper!! hata kama ni corruption - local corruption is better than international corruption... people buy large houses (construction) buy cars e.t.c. it's not the best but i would rather that we have that than giving a large amount of our taxes to another country.
no one will build kenya except us!! let's get that through our thick skulls.

Reminds me of a French campaign last year to promote made in France. The french fear German stuff coz of what they call Dutch Qualitet (if thats how its written) and they fear cheap stuff coming from China. They started this campaign mpaka they even label the porkchops (made from french pigs) coz its known the Germanys pigs are cheaper. Just how far a country can go to build and develop their own. I wish Kenyans ate more of Kenyan eggs than the South african ones. My one
#57 Posted : Thursday, June 19, 2014 2:56:49 PM

Pedes wrote:
Surveillance systems are good, human beings are better. The Israelis have known this, the US is just beginning to.

hata Mu7ni applies the same...
Pedes
#58 Posted : Thursday, June 19, 2014 3:19:59 PM

Pedes wrote:

The system being espoused by Safcom will go a long way in aiding police work, but, if that force is still not able to efficiently utilize the system due to poor training will not amount to much.
If you stay ready, no need to get ready.
#59 Posted : Thursday, June 19, 2014 3:22:32 PM

Its like giving calculators to monkeys...what will they do with them?

Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly
#60 Posted : Wednesday, May 06, 2015 4:08:21 PM

These things reminds me of the Series Person of Interest

8 Pages«<45678>