wazua Sun, Dec 7, 2025

Arunga,a classic case of children raised by single women.
#21 Posted : Wednesday, February 24, 2010 7:17:33 AM

@ Intelli are u Esther's rela? where do you get all this info?
gathinga
#22 Posted : Wednesday, February 24, 2010 8:58:01 AM

@Intelli. Esther says she met Helon 2 years ago...kwani ni relas na hawajuani jameni?
#23 Posted : Wednesday, February 24, 2010 10:06:34 AM

@gathinga, thats malaba not Hellon
#24 Posted : Wednesday, February 24, 2010 10:23:34 AM

I think it's very unfair and irrational to conclude that children raised in single parent homes turn out weird etc. I was raised by a single mum and i believe i turned out well. very well in fact.so stop bashing single women. They are very strong individuals who sometimes due to circumstances beyond their control have to take up the sole responsibility of raising kids the best way they know how. Wether your husband dies,takes off,goes to jail..etc and you have to raise your kids alone is to me,a huge challenge and i deeply respect women and men who raise kids on their own. Kids can chose to turn out weird wether in single or double parent settings.
I strongly believe that how you turn out in life dosent depend on where you were raised or by whom.It solely depends on YOU as an individual and its about time people stopped blaming their environment,parents,neighbours,politicians..etc for how they turn out in life. We have the capability to be accountable of our own lives.we hold the key to our present & future,not our past. These blame games are what kill our society because we always look for someone to blame. What Esther is doing or will do in future is her sole responsibility and blaming her Mum is very unreasonable.
#25 Posted : Wednesday, February 24, 2010 12:59:11 PM

@ Leonna
I strongly believe that how you turn out in life dosent depend on where you were raised or by whom.It solely depends on YOU as an individual
I beg to differ with you this statement. Not when a kid is taught everything in this world by those who bring them up. YOU are born naked even in the brain.

My two cents on this; Every child needs a Father,Mother, Sisters, Brothers cousins, neighbour etc. Each of these people have a very big part to play in a child's growth. The absence of either affects the child even though the present parent does all they can to cover for the missing one. They do a great job but they are limited. The child is also affected if any parent fails to do their part even if present. It is unfortunate that there is no manual for bringing up children. I think our ancestors approach where a child was brought up by the entire village is the way to go.
dasany
#26 Posted : Wednesday, February 24, 2010 1:08:57 PM

Esther Arunga's father is very much alive and he is an elder at SDA church. His name is Bob Arunga. in The true love issue which featured Esther Arunga she spoke about her father, also read this blog for more info.

http://kenyapolitical.bl...h-for-arungas-star.html
#27 Posted : Wednesday, February 24, 2010 1:38:15 PM

Just who has the truth? Seems we know too much yet too little.................... People are cooking up things as we go along... later, we might hear she was actually in NTV not KTN!
#28 Posted : Thursday, February 25, 2010 6:13:21 AM

Apologies are in order guys, the father is actually alive (and here I am busy killing him!)- a retired consultant who once worked at the Min. of Foreign Affairs. He is expected to talk to the media soon about the entire matter.

I have edited that part in my earlier post so that we don't misinform. I take responsibility for the error, nasikitika.
Read more at

http://www.marsgroupkeny...timedia/?StoryID=281601

By the way, the confirmation that she comes from a 2-parent family kind of renders this thread useless, as Arunga is not a classic case of a child raised by a single mother,huh? Plus those who were using her as an example now need to look far and beyond for more examples!!
#29 Posted : Thursday, February 25, 2010 7:24:15 AM

still doesnt change facts on what a child needs to grow up upright...
edit your posts, but mimi najua 'watoto wa mama' have become many and are unbecoming...so are those brought up by dads alone.. but they are much less unbecoming in social conduct..
nimesema!!!
gogeta
#30 Posted : Thursday, February 25, 2010 9:27:26 AM

@Leona Spot on!! a person is born with the ability to choose and the fact the he/she will have one parent will not determine the person he/she will become.
Think the unthinkable but wear a dark suit
#31 Posted : Thursday, February 25, 2010 10:04:58 AM

@Leona/ Bwenyeye - you have just stepped into the realm of the famous Nature-Nurture Controversy in psychology.
It is akin to asking: 'of which, nature or nurture, contributes more to an individual's personality? Or, which contributes more to the area of a rectangle, its length or its width?"

So its main thrust is: Are an individual's behavioural traits innate/ inborn qualities (thus nature) or are they shaped i.e nurtured, by the environment (parents, personal experiences,etc)?
Was Paul Tergat born an athlete or he learnt/ trained to be a world-class athlete?

If you believe in nature, then your behavioural traits were already programmed into your genes zamani n there's precious little you can do to change that behaviour - kama wewe ni mwizi, bad temper,lazy it is irreversible so get used to it!

Conversely, if you believe an individual's behavioural traits are learned and shaped by the environment then a person's behaviour can be changed. It means as babies they start on a clean slate (called tabula rasa) which gets filled up/moulded as time and experiences are accumulated to make up an individuals personality.

http://en.wikipedia.org/...i/Nature_versus_nurture
http://findarticles.com/.../is_0002/ai_2699000233/

wote
#32 Posted : Thursday, February 25, 2010 10:35:05 AM

Intellegentia, stop getting into areas you do not know, for the record Dr.Bob Arunga was until recently and for a longtime a senior official of the Addis Ababa based United Nations Economic Commission for Africa.
#33 Posted : Thursday, February 25, 2010 11:20:27 AM

@wote, I welcome corrections where wrong - pray attach your source as I've done
#34 Posted : Thursday, February 25, 2010 11:27:20 AM

identical twins raised in different environments show different personality traits.
#35 Posted : Thursday, February 25, 2010 2:07:47 PM

Ati upbringing daznt matter? Woi woi woi! Which schools taught such blatant lies? CAREFULLY READ the Bkismat's post! SLOOOWLY!!!
#36 Posted : Thursday, February 25, 2010 4:55:27 PM

There is definitely an effect on a child's character if the child is raised by a single dad or mum. The position of a child in the family also matters. First borns are headlong and like to have their way. They are likely to be CEOs. Second borns are more rebellious and are ready to go into uncharted waters like enterprise. Middle children are diplomatic but are more likely to suffer identity crisis. Last borns are easy going and likely to venture into creative areas like art, theatre and music.
#37 Posted : Thursday, February 25, 2010 5:00:26 PM

@simonkabz 999 posts! I think congrats are in order as and when you make your 1000th. @Wazua a present for this gentleman ;-)
#38 Posted : Thursday, February 25, 2010 5:10:58 PM

@sparkly, no comment. I have just been cracked up by Njoroge of papa....dude has really said it as it is, of thieving men openning churches to lie to the gullible youth n mislead them to leave their high profile jobs to join the churches. Reminds me of Jobn De'mathew's legendary hit song, 'ÙRATHI WA MA' (true prophecy). Easther will be ok coz God 'ndaríaga ngima'. Tafakari hayo n gd nite pple.
Djinn
#39 Posted : Friday, February 26, 2010 5:51:56 AM

@Impunity - sorry, but what drivel!

@Intelligentsia and others - thanks for shedding some light - I suppose the "apologists" of the single parent factor should eat copious amounts of crow.

@leona, I share your indignation - some people really!

I personally know two close family members that have been raised by a single parent and I think its really retarded to draw conclusions about children raised by single parents.

What is even worse is knowing how men take off and shirk their responsibilities when they learn their seed has taken root. Other than commit a sin and abort, what recourse to such women really have? And should we compartmentalize offspring of such.

What a crock of shit!!!

#40 Posted : Friday, February 26, 2010 8:04:43 AM

@Djinn,
Here, here.

Or as Jack Bauer would say, Copy that.