wazua Sun, Dec 7, 2025

Is there one Good Hospital/Physician In Kenya?
subzero
#1 Posted : Wednesday, November 04, 2009 6:34:00 AM

I have lost all confidence in Doctors and Hospitals in kenya am now looking for one who i can believe.

I have been/ heard about service in the 'top' hospitals in kenya,...Karen,Nairobi,Aga Khan. zote outpatient ni bure! dont know about in patient.

if you are on cover from health insurance,these guys will take you round,do numerous test and often recommend that they admit you/ operate on you
There are very many young doctors who look very unsure of themselves. forgive my naivity,but my view of a doc is someone who is kinda aged,looking experienced

akowally
#2 Posted : Wednesday, November 04, 2009 10:49:00 AM

You have come to the right place....I nowadays believe in good doctors than hospital...ask for who you need and skerians will gladly give you the answer i.e. is it a

paediatrician
general practitioner
dentist

e.t.c....check out this thread on

The Best Medical Insurance - Wallyak

and you will see very healthy discussions with akina jaribu and the like about hospitals esp the major ones...

When we pray in praise to God,he makes a difference in our lives.
JOIN MY FREE MINI-COURSE FOR WRITERS. CLICK HERE
#3 Posted : Wednesday, November 04, 2009 11:16:00 AM

I agree with Akowally. We can guide you on good doctors.

Nairobi hospital is good but their admission process can drive you up the wall and make you never want to go back there. Once admitted,you are certainly in good hands.
subzero
#4 Posted : Wednesday, November 04, 2009 1:58:00 PM

Thanks guys for that link to that post.

I read it and all i saw were more horror stories! You say nairobi hospital is good once you get admitted,i've heard complaints about their outpatient and people swearing/and advicing others not to step there.

Can i assume that the docs in outpatient are normally different from the ones in in-patient? i would be very consoled to hear that,in the unfortunate event that you ever get admitted you normally get better attention from specialists
coz from my experience all that outpatient docs do in these 'top' hospitals in prescribe the kawaida OTC drugs akina painkiller,antibiotics tu.
tony stark
#5 Posted : Wednesday, November 04, 2009 5:19:00 PM

@ Sub zero ati ' docs do in these 'top' hospitals in prescribe the kawaida OTC drugs akina painkiller,antibiotics tu. '
Kwani you want medicine for cancer ama ni ARVs you want.
Then in the first post you say 'these guys will take you round,do numerous test and often recommend that they admit you/ operate on you'
I beg to ask what do you want do you want medicine with no test,do you want investigations to find out what is wrong with you??

Complaints about health care are world wide and you have nothing to complain about when you compare the care you get in kenyan private hospitals and the care given by NHS in the UK for example. Insured people generally have a feeling of right because the believe they have paid for the service but health insurance like all insuarance has to limit cost and spread risk.
But when people utilise health care like a consumer good well service will definately deteriorate. Food for thought!!

SK A.L.U.M.N.I (Alcoholic Liason and Undergarments Manager of Nakedness Internationally)
ngwono
#6 Posted : Thursday, November 05, 2009 5:47:00 AM

@Subzero...You can reach out on one of our very own,very competent,honest and of high integrity @samuel.kivuitu@yahoo.com ......He will listen to your case and if he cant handle,he will refer you to the best person....hehehehe

Jesus Said,'If you abide in Me,and My Words abide in you,you will ask what you desire,and it shsll be done for you' (Jhn 15:7)
tony stark
#7 Posted : Thursday, November 05, 2009 11:45:00 PM

Ngwono i thought you were a man of the cloth!! Mbona kuni expose hivyo.
I have heard it all. Ndio hizo ni jina zangu and i will stand tall!!

SK A.L.U.M.N.I (Alcoholic Liason and Undergarments Manager of Nakedness Internationally)
Kamaa
#8 Posted : Friday, November 06, 2009 6:40:00 AM

@ ngwono

if sk profile means anything to this tony stark guy...

he can only offer professional help on Automotive / Motor Vehicles / Parts....

When you run so fast to get somewhere,you miss the fun of getting there... Life is not a race,so take it slowly....
When you hear what I say, you will not understand. When you see what I do, you will not comprehend
akowally
#9 Posted : Friday, November 06, 2009 7:25:00 AM

Glad you appreciated the other discussion.....

You can find more on the same at

health insurance

Acts 2:38: 38Peter replied,'Repent and be baptized,every one of you,in the name of Jesus Christ for the forgiveness of your sins. And you will receive the gift of the Holy Spirit.
JOIN MY FREE MINI-COURSE FOR WRITERS. CLICK HERE
subzero
#10 Posted : Sunday, February 21, 2010 7:25:07 AM

Please read this article in today's Sunday Nation

http://www.nation.co.ke/News/-/1056/865842/-/item/0/-/7k99sf/-/index.html

murenj
#11 Posted : Monday, February 22, 2010 5:47:12 AM

good doctors are nolonger judged by their ability to diagnose and treate conditions accurately. Good hospitals are not necessarily the ones that have all the medicine and all the equipment in the world. Therefore a good doctor is the one who makes a patient feel special and well cared for. Now, this calls for some politicking... blasting a few medical workers in the hearing of the patient.... breathing fire and brimestone..... mud slinging..... demanding the sacking of a certain nurse.........all this drama tailor made for the benefit of the patient. A good hospital is the one that has user friendly administration even if the users are going to kill themselves in the process.....coming to think of it, none of us can buy the love and care given to us by our mothers, yet we seek the same from others just because we have parted with a few misserable coins.....
popi
#12 Posted : Monday, February 22, 2010 7:42:54 AM

personal experience.
in dec 09, i went to inquire about the cost of a minor surgical procedure for my son in a famous hospital in muthaiga area. i was told it is 21,800/-. so i took the guy but after they realized i was covered by an insurance company, guess the bill i was slapped with - 47K plus some additional Kshs on top! i tried to complain lakini wapi.
#13 Posted : Monday, February 22, 2010 8:22:08 AM

Kenyatta is still miles ahead in terms of inpatient care and treatment. The other hospitals are more of nursing homes. Funny looking ICU's, ill equiped, funny wards but we all go there because of the prestige. I have a friend who goes for dialysis, went to Nairobi Hospital for a couple of treatments and then and discovered he was being fixed and the service was poor and he switched to Kenyatta.

Treatment is all about the time a doctor is willing to see you. The doctors at Kenyatta have that time. Money minded doctors do not remember faces and they will not give you more than five minutes.

I once went to Aga Khan hospital outpatient. Funny cubicles they have. I sat on the doctors chair as I could not tell where is where. The doc then showed me where to sit. That is the last time I stepped in there.
Toxicity
#14 Posted : Tuesday, February 23, 2010 8:32:34 AM

I have had two experiences with one of the so called Good hospitals in Kenya...

There is a time i took an ailing relative. As we left the house in a hurry we forgot to carry the insurance documents (card) that showed that the said patient was covered.
After they took her to the emergency room they wanted to do a test on her which was about 5000kshs.and they insisted i pay before the test was done. After trying to explain in vain that the patient was insured and they could even check her name on the database of the company she was working for i decided to pay for the test as i asked a relative to collect the card. As the patient had a debit card we decided to use it…after all the hustle they refused to use it as the owner of the debit card could not Put a signature(She was really weak) on to the card….I had to literally use my relatives hand to append a signature on the transaction.(Luckily they accepted!)

Still in the same hospital I went there now in person for treatment. They took my Medical cover card and the cashier lady told me in an unwelcoming voice ….that Company is not on the list. And a week earlier a colleague from the office had been treated in the same hospital with the Medical Cover…

With those two experiences and I believe this is common in most Private hospitals. A family friend advised me that the best place to seek treatment is at the Kenyatta National Hospital private Wing though the services might be “slow”, once you get a doctor you will get the best treatment.

And as FundamentAli puts it most of these Private hospitals have funny looking ICU’s save for maybe Matter.

I rest my case
update president set president = speaker where president is null
subzero
#15 Posted : Tuesday, February 23, 2010 10:52:35 AM