wazua Sat, Oct 5, 2024

773 Pages«<8081828384>»
Kenya Airways...why ignore..
#1621 Posted : Tuesday, April 07, 2015 11:18:53 AM

So @obiero ... you say Loss Before Tax of 6.5bn for FY 2014-15 but if the 1H had a 12.5bn Loss Before Tax, where did KQ get/make 6bn from in 2H?

Never ever that is not possible...unless they doctor those results in ways unimaginable...
xxxxx
#1622 Posted : Tuesday, April 07, 2015 11:19:04 AM

[quote=obiero]

This will go down in history. The day @Obiero finally gave up on KQ. The biggest proponent of KQ around! The biggest proponent of any share/company around!! The guy who sold KCB and put money in KQ!!!

VERY SAD DAY INDEED!

@MaichBlack, change yo tagline to:

You know you've made it when you buy KQ smile smile smile smile smile smile smile smile
Cde Monomotapa
#1623 Posted : Tuesday, April 07, 2015 11:22:08 AM

I'm of the opinion that KQ should raise similar concerns as KGN about having to book unrealized losses/gains on the P&L which tend to exaggerate earnings in both directions.

With that in mind then the last published accounts aren't that scary, save for we don't know how many more planes might be put up for sale by the Board.
jerry
#1624 Posted : Tuesday, April 07, 2015 12:20:00 PM

jerry wrote:
Boris Boyka wrote:
whenever I tell you about inside issues please do not question my information.. oneni sasa..

Yes frofet! Your portfolio looks better nowsmile was worried at 90%+ KQ.

Fear not brother. I have decided to go long haul on KQ. Everyone knows for sure, it will post a loss in its FYR as at 31.03.2015.. I am picking the bottom, since it cant possibly go lower than KES 8 per share

It could not go below 20, then it could not go below 18, then it could not go below 15, 14, 12, 11, 10, 9... and now 8.

Yes. 7.95 > 8.0 smile There was a time @Obiero asked what to do and we told him to SELL around 10.xy can't rem which thread!

I sold KQ at KSh 7.80 around 2001/02 and I believe it can even go below that figure again easily. Don't forget it was once at 114/=! No splits have been done.

We are there again! 7.80-7.90
The opposite of courage is not cowardice, it's conformity.
#1625 Posted : Tuesday, April 07, 2015 12:35:04 PM

jerry wrote:
Boris Boyka wrote:
whenever I tell you about inside issues please do not question my information.. oneni sasa..

Yes frofet! Your portfolio looks better nowsmile was worried at 90%+ KQ.

Fear not brother. I have decided to go long haul on KQ. Everyone knows for sure, it will post a loss in its FYR as at 31.03.2015.. I am picking the bottom, since it cant possibly go lower than KES 8 per share

It could not go below 20, then it could not go below 18, then it could not go below 15, 14, 12, 11, 10, 9... and now 8.

Yes. 7.95 > 8.0 smile There was a time @Obiero asked what to do and we told him to SELL around 10.xy can't rem which thread!

I sold KQ at KSh 7.80 around 2001/02 and I believe it can even go below that figure again easily. Don't forget it was once at 114/=! No splits have been done.

We are there again! 7.80-7.90

Haya acha tungojee hizo results...roundi hii ni kubaya...
#1626 Posted : Tuesday, April 07, 2015 4:35:47 PM

So @obiero ... you say Loss Before Tax of 6.5bn for FY 2014-15 but if the 1H had a 12.5bn Loss Before Tax, where did KQ get/make 6bn from in 2H?

Increased revenue in h2 coupled with partial government refund of tax deductions

HF 30,000 ABP 3.49; KQ 414,100 ABP 7.92; MTN 23,800 ABP 6.45
#1627 Posted : Tuesday, April 07, 2015 4:44:45 PM

Increased revenue in h2 coupled with partial government refund of tax deductions
The split? If KQ made a positive contribution to profits (from OPERATIONS) in 2H then there's hope. I am still staying away.
heri
#1628 Posted : Tuesday, April 07, 2015 4:57:17 PM

How does refund of VAT impact the P&L . Unless they had provided for them or written them off?
hisah
#1629 Posted : Tuesday, April 07, 2015 6:20:36 PM

Printed a new yr low @7.50 today. Landing gear failure Sad
$15/barrel oil... The commodities lehman moment arrives as well as Sovereign debt volcano!
mulla
#1630 Posted : Tuesday, April 07, 2015 6:28:52 PM

hisah wrote:

even at this price investors are not interested....demand volumes were very low...
#1631 Posted : Tuesday, April 07, 2015 7:58:14 PM

mulla wrote:
hisah wrote:

even at this price investors are not interested....demand volumes were very low...

I blame @sparkly and his damned charts

#1632 Posted : Tuesday, April 07, 2015 8:02:46 PM

heri wrote:
How does refund of VAT impact the P&L . Unless they had provided for them or written them off?

Are you saying that the sum will have no effect on P&L? IFRS dictates that the sums have to be provided for since they are realisable pending payments.. Please read the 2013 FY results

Aguytrying
#1633 Posted : Tuesday, April 07, 2015 10:52:49 PM

mulla wrote:
hisah wrote:

call me a prophet of doom. I don't see kq recovering these multibillion shilling losses anytime soon. even return to profitability seems to be a dream.
I think this one is headed to keep mumias company at the gov corup comfort zone corner
The investor's chief problem - and even his worst enemy - is likely to be himself
#1634 Posted : Tuesday, April 07, 2015 11:21:02 PM

Aguytrying wrote:
mulla wrote:
hisah wrote:

call me a prophet of doom. I don't see kq recovering these multibillion shilling losses anytime soon. even return to profitability seems to be a dream.
I think this one is headed to keep mumias company at the gov corup comfort zone corner

Riswaaaa :) Pepo mbaya

Cde Monomotapa
#1635 Posted : Tuesday, April 07, 2015 11:26:02 PM

Aguytrying wrote:
mulla wrote:
hisah wrote:

@Aguy atulize... Hapa kadogo economy will be promoting local tourism for TPS! Akue mpole smile http://www.capitalfm.co....irst-year-of-operation/

That BAMB has significant NSSF in it. So?
Thitifini
#1636 Posted : Wednesday, April 08, 2015 12:57:15 AM

Mumias disciples.

60% Learning, 30% synthesizing, 10% Debating
hisah
#1637 Posted : Wednesday, April 08, 2015 2:56:21 AM

Cde Monomotapa wrote:
Aguytrying wrote:
mulla wrote:
hisah wrote:

@Aguy atulize... Hapa kadogo economy will be promoting local tourism for TPS! Akue mpole smile http://www.capitalfm.co....irst-year-of-operation/

@cde - btwn kq and tps the latter offers better value considering kq's bad spell commenced long before tourism sector took a plunge. JJ alone can't fix kq's financial sink holes.

If tourism figures don't improve soon kq will be another bailout candidate. The tourist arrival numbers are terrible to say the least as well as the hotels shutting down at the coast.

http://mobile.nation.co..../-/1vii5oz/-/index.html

The big picture is now how KES will deflate with key forex earning sectors (tourism, agri) facing south. KE macro environment is getting sticky and a new CBK is yet to get in office. Will be tough this 2015 without stimulus... Worst case will be a disorderly $KES (>98) weakness which if it happens will tank NSE20.

$15/barrel oil... The commodities lehman moment arrives as well as Sovereign debt volcano!
#1638 Posted : Wednesday, April 08, 2015 6:18:55 AM

mulla wrote:
hisah wrote:

I blame @sparkly and his damned charts

@Obiero the charts and I are innocent.
Omena
#1639 Posted : Wednesday, April 08, 2015 7:06:44 AM

Cde Monomotapa wrote:
Aguytrying wrote:
mulla wrote:
hisah wrote:

If 30% of JJ passengers were new customers, then most of the remaining 70% of customers were existing KQ travellers who are now flying at a much cheaper price. The overall net effect looks bad
 It’s what you learn after you think you know it all that counts.
Cde Monomotapa
#1640 Posted : Wednesday, April 08, 2015 7:07:47 AM

hisah wrote:
KQ trying hard to mount a breakout. Overhead resistance runs all the way to 14/- Heavy volume required to dismiss this resistance forest.

If only KQ would produce such statistics.

Air New Zealand passenger numbers up 2.7% - traffic highlights for Dec-2014:

Passenger numbers: 1.4 million, +2.7% year-on-year;
Short-haul: 1.3 million, +2.5%;
Domestic: 932,000, +3.2%;
Tasman/Pacific: 336,000, +0.7%;
Long-haul: 163,000, +4.5%;
Asia/Japan/UK: 60,000, +10.4%;
North America/UK: 103,000, +1.4%;

Passenger load factor: 85.1%, -1.2 ppts;
Short-haul: 83.8%, +0.1 ppt;
Domestic: 83.6%, +0.2 ppt;
Tasman/Pacific: 84%, +0.2 ppt;
Long-haul: 86.1%, -2.7 ppts;
Asia/Japan/UK: 84.9%, -4.8 ppts;
North America/UK: 86.8%, -1.5 ppts.

More - http://centreforaviation...ysis/206499/12-2014.pdf

@hisah, true, JJ is only part of the solution as far as meeting this stellar stats you posted here earlier. Commendable progress by JJ in a year to do 500K* domestic already.

There was a convo with @Realtreaty on the KK thread about the relationship between Alcoblow & a car. Whereby the car owner can be busted and the car gets a new driver and keep moving.. smile

Pursuant to that, KQ is hence a export service doing over 50 destinations to make that over USD1.2B revenue. This new flight schedule should bring that out better. It can be seen that KQ is still key in serving TPS's other EA markets as follows;

Kenya Airways to boost operations with new flight schedule
As part of its transformation program, Kenya Airways announces several flight scheduling changes that will take effect from 1st of April 2015. This change is expected to boost connectivity for our passengers by 20%. Kenya Airways will now operate improved schedule that ensures efficient use of its aircraft and crew and flight connections for passengers. There will be an increase in flight frequencies some cities on its network especially in Africa and changed flight schedule.
http://www.ghanaweb.com/...s/artikel.php?ID=352940

Also, with the soon to close fleet renewal that has been distorting US-KE trade figures (Boeing-GE), we can engage in more consistent business granted US direct flight. I suppose have to await Kasin B.O later in the year for the US-Africa summit in KE?