68 Pages«<2627282930>»
Garissa university attack.
#271 Posted : Saturday, April 04, 2015 7:30:00 PM

My two cents on way forward:
1. Cripple Somali economy in Ke.
2. Militarize the NEF.
3. Make military drilling part of high school carriculum so that the young one are equipped to handle emergency situations immediately.
4. Make NIS an executing agency with full police powers and privileges.
#272 Posted : Saturday, April 04, 2015 7:56:24 PM

Rahatupu wrote:
My two cents on way forward:
1. Cripple Somali economy in Ke.
2. Militarize the NEF.
3. Make military drilling part of high school carriculum so that the young one are equipped to handle emergency situations immediately.
4. Make NIS an executing agency with full police powers and privileges.

Another like button

5. Strategic locations for Recce squads with dedicated choppers.
6. Ruthless eradication of corruption
7. Hefty rewards for useful intelligence
#273 Posted : Saturday, April 04, 2015 8:03:41 PM

1 was from tz,caught within the compound..
1 was an employee of the uni. with legal kenyan docs.- scary.
1 was arrested by students after 3 of them identified him as being one of the attackers.He was staying in a nearby hotel next to the Airstrip.
2 were arrested while attempting to flee garissa early in the morning.

In short the terrorists must have been more
in number.

#274 Posted : Saturday, April 04, 2015 8:15:35 PM

RT @coldtusker: “@kabetes: Hon. Barre Shill has told me that they gave intelligence to the gov't about the eminent attack in Garissa but it wasn't acted on.
#275 Posted : Saturday, April 04, 2015 8:16:31 PM

1 was arrested by students after 3 of them identified him as being one of the attackers.He was staying in a nearby hotel next to the Airstrip.

in number.

And they lived amongst them. Security starts with the individual
#276 Posted : Saturday, April 04, 2015 8:54:59 PM

in number.

NKT!!!!!!!
whiteowl
#277 Posted : Saturday, April 04, 2015 9:15:02 PM

Kihara joni wrote:
Rahatupu wrote:
limanika wrote:
At some point during MO1 time there was something called chief's Baraza, where the local chief would hold regular meetings at village level (I don't remember if these were monthly or quarterly). Everyone basically had to attend, romour was that if you are caught in your shamba or operating your shop at the time of mtg, you would be arrested. The chief basically knew everyone and everyone knew the chief. All matters security were discussed in this mtg. In such environment no one would harbour strangers. Now, for the last 10+years, I have never known who is my local chief, even now. What's the use of nyumba kumi if there's no reporting system?? Even the chiefs do not know if nyumba kumi is exisistent in my local??

@limanika well said about chief system which was a casualty of the constitution, where all things were looked at from a political angle. About the NIS passing paper is their new role can't arrest or preempt terror activities, why? politics. Sasa mbaya maisha mbaya.

I read somewhere sometimes back that the CID or is is it NIS were stripped off the privilege of carrying a gun, so they can know and not anything about it apart from bark, which can be tiring knowing nothing will be done for any information shared no matter how big.

NIS agents do carry guns but they can't arrest you, at least not during the day.Other than handing over criminals to the corrupt police, the only other option they have is shooting you n throwing you in some forest. If the body is in a public n can't be extracted, they lay blame on somebody else to avoid human rights shenanigans. NIS also has a liaison officer with each and every chief in the country. The downside of this is that the chief ends up being more informed than the OCPD since there is no line of communication between the two and also lack of trust . Unless we give NIS power to arrest and/or a task force reporting directly to CS internal security n IG (just like the Michuki days) is formed to act on intel is formed, most of criminals will be left to roam around since it's the only the police who have the strength of numbers. Another thing, the terrorists who hit Garissa are Kenyans. They may be a few guys from TZ and Somali offering logistical support but the guys who were pulling the trigger were Kenyans who were based at the coast then moved to Garissa about a week to the attack.I understand they have local protection but even if you fear reporting why harbour them with full knowledge of what they are going to do? If it's about the money, who wants to be a millionaire in a war torn or broken town with some of your relatives dead in the process? Coastal area economy is on its deathbed coz of terrorism and Garissa will follow suit. I don't know why the locals who feed n shelter these guys fail to see the bigger picture. ION some politicians wants Dadaab camp closed(I don't know how it's related to the Garissa attack) and bureaucrats are busy building a wall.
Ngong
#278 Posted : Saturday, April 04, 2015 10:08:16 PM

whiteowl wrote:
Kihara joni wrote:
Rahatupu wrote:
limanika wrote:
At some point during MO1 time there was something called chief's Baraza, where the local chief would hold regular meetings at village level (I don't remember if these were monthly or quarterly). Everyone basically had to attend, romour was that if you are caught in your shamba or operating your shop at the time of mtg, you would be arrested. The chief basically knew everyone and everyone knew the chief. All matters security were discussed in this mtg. In such environment no one would harbour strangers. Now, for the last 10+years, I have never known who is my local chief, even now. What's the use of nyumba kumi if there's no reporting system?? Even the chiefs do not know if nyumba kumi is exisistent in my local??

@limanika well said about chief system which was a casualty of the constitution, where all things were looked at from a political angle. About the NIS passing paper is their new role can't arrest or preempt terror activities, why? politics. Sasa mbaya maisha mbaya.

I read somewhere sometimes back that the CID or is is it NIS were stripped off the privilege of carrying a gun, so they can know and not anything about it apart from bark, which can be tiring knowing nothing will be done for any information shared no matter how big.

NIS agents do carry guns but they can't arrest you, at least not during the day.Other than handing over criminals to the corrupt police, the only other option they have is shooting you n throwing you in some forest. If the body is in a public n can't be extracted, they lay blame on somebody else to avoid human rights shenanigans. NIS also has a liaison officer with each and every chief in the country. The downside of this is that the chief ends up being more informed than the OCPD since there is no line of communication between the two and also lack of trust . Unless we give NIS power to arrest and/or a task force reporting directly to CS internal security n IG (just like the Michuki days) is formed to act on intel is formed, most of criminals will be left to roam around since it's the only the police who have the strength of numbers. Another thing, the terrorists who hit Garissa are Kenyans. They may be a few guys from TZ and Somali offering logistical support but the guys who were pulling the trigger were Kenyans who were based at the coast then moved to Garissa about a week to the attack.I understand they have local protection but even if you fear reporting why harbour them with full knowledge of what they are going to do? If it's about the money, who wants to be a millionaire in a war torn or broken town with some of your relatives dead in the process? Coastal area economy is on its deathbed coz of terrorism and Garissa will follow suit. I don't know why the locals who feed n shelter these guys fail to see the bigger picture. ION some politicians wants Dadaab camp closed(I don't know how it's related to the Garissa attack) and bureaucrats are busy building a wall.

This one l won't talk,sometimes back cs kamau told us the police escorted such thugs from the border to msa,but he never told us what action was taken for these officers!
sasa nasikia these guys traveled from msa to garissa!
#279 Posted : Saturday, April 04, 2015 10:24:26 PM

Euge wrote:

in number.

NKT!!!!!!!

What's worse,his ringtone was one which shababs use during trainings. I am sure you know it because it sounds ghostly and reminds one of death.
Cops also found serious communication btwn him and their leader prior to the attack.
Kikulacho...
#280 Posted : Saturday, April 04, 2015 10:31:47 PM

Euge wrote:

in number.

NKT!!!!!!!

What's worse,his ringtone was one which shababs use during trainings. I am sure you know it because it sounds ghostly and reminds one of death.
Cops also found serious communication btwn him and their leader prior to the attack.
Kikulacho...

He didn't even bother to hide. Couldn't the authorities have found these details before the attack? This is thoroughly annoying.
68 Pages«<2627282930>»