wazua Mon, Nov 18, 2024

Safaricom postpaid vs prepaid
skjay
#1 Posted : Wednesday, June 17, 2009 12:10:00 PM

What are the advantages of Safaricom's postpaid over prepaid,other than you can get through to customer care on first try?

I'm seriously thinking of going back to pre-paid. I moved to post-paid a few years back because I kept running out of credit in areas/times when it was a hustle getting a shop to top-up credit,plus the calling rates were quite attractive. But now there's M-Pesa and that other credit offering,so that really isn't a concern anymore. If anything,if you are late paying your post-paid bill,getting reconnected can be a hustle of it's own.

As far as calling rates go,there was the issue of Safaricom coming up with new call charges during pricing wars with the other companies. Postpaid subscribers were completely neglected,with pre-pay customers getting better deals than them (postpay clients) in most cases.

Then the real deal-breaker. Internet. As a postpaid client,I pay 8 bob per MB while prepay customers pay as low as 2.50 an MB! That's when they activate an internet bundle. I asked their customer service about this glaring discrepancy and was advised by a lady there to get two sim cards. Nice,huh? So every time I want to check my emails or go online with my phone,I have to switch the simcards to 'enjoy' the cheaper internet bundle rates. Btw,can you activate a bundle on a line then use it for both calling and internet? I have a 3G phone and if it's possible to do so with the pre-pay lines,it's bye-bye postpaid!!
#2 Posted : Thursday, June 18, 2009 9:13:00 AM

By activating a bundle you can not call since your air time get converted to give only data!!!!

The chief value of money lies in the fact that one lives in a world in which it is overestimated.
skjay
#3 Posted : Thursday, June 18, 2009 9:38:00 AM

Reggae man,I don't think you got my question. Question is,can I top up,say with 2,000 and activate 1,000? In that case,shouldn't I be able to call with the balance?
mwanahisa
#4 Posted : Thursday, June 18, 2009 10:09:00 AM

Prepaid is the way to go. Postpaid does not get a lot of attention from any of the service providers since they know they already have you as a captive customer. On the issue of Internet/Calling,the response to your question is YES. Scom defaults to the Internet bundle for Internet usage and as long as you some airtime balance,you can use it to call notwithstanding the fact that you have activated your line for an Internet bundle. However,some of their original data SIMs were not activated for voice,so make sure you just get an ordinary SIM card and activate the data - not the other way round. Hope that this helps.

Opportunity calls but few respond.
Kihara joni
#5 Posted : Monday, May 19, 2014 9:08:25 AM

SAFARICOM TO END POSTPAY 1000 & 2500/- woi that will hurt this were among the best deals on calls ever where the cost per minute is around 45 cents, still wondering whether they will introduce something new.
http://www.businessdailyafrica....8/-/9ga2olz/-/index.html
#6 Posted : Monday, May 19, 2014 9:14:37 AM

Kihara joni wrote:
SAFARICOM TO END POSTPAY 1000 & 2500/- woi that will hurt this were among the best deals on calls ever where the cost per minute is around 45 cents, still wondering whether they will introduce something new.

The monopoly is back. Woi serikali saidia, let us wait and see what Equity will have to offer on the voice side.
#7 Posted : Monday, May 19, 2014 9:32:50 AM

Kihara joni wrote:

The monopoly is back. Woi serikali saidia, let us wait and see what Equity will have to offer on the voice side.

Since the contract is valid for a year,can one go to court to block their move?This has been my tariff.
webish
#8 Posted : Monday, May 19, 2014 10:16:53 AM

Kihara joni wrote:

Since the contract is valid for a year,can one go to court to block their move?This has been my tariff.

I'm certain they will give the "current" subscribers some time before they terminate. This will probably be equal to number of months before year expires. As for new contracts, they will no longer take applications.

Life is joy, death is peace, but the transition is very difficult.
#9 Posted : Monday, May 19, 2014 12:46:20 PM

webish wrote:
Kihara joni wrote:

I'm certain they will give the "current" subscribers some time before they terminate. This will probably be equal to number of months before year expires. As for new contracts, they will no longer take applications.

The same is available in prepay. Why would you want to be called Postpay when the same tariff is available on prepay? I always choose the range from:
500MB - sh500
1.5Gb - sh1000
3Gb - sh1999
8gb - sh3999

When you buy higher, the cheaper it becomes. And it works for me. Why would you want to be called postpay when the value is the same?
Kihara joni
#10 Posted : Monday, May 19, 2014 1:55:41 PM

webish wrote:
Kihara joni wrote:

The same is available in prepay. Why would you want to be called Postpay when the same tariff is available on prepay? I always choose the range from:
500MB - sh500
1.5Gb - sh1000
3Gb - sh1999
8gb - sh3999

When you buy higher, the cheaper it becomes. And it works for me. Why would you want to be called postpay when the value is the same?

actually it's not at least not for data, fore instance I am on postpay 1000/- I get 900 minutes to saf 100 minutes to other 100 sms 100mb data and 100 bonga points for just 1000/- on prepay the same resources would cost you uward fo 4,500/- so no you can't compare postpay and prepay, for data I buy the 1000/- bundle so per month I spend 2000/-.
Money Whisperer
#11 Posted : Tuesday, May 20, 2014 7:38:51 AM

skjay wrote:
Reggae man,I don't think you got my question. Question is,can I top up,say with 2,000 and activate 1,000? In that case,shouldn't I be able to call with the balance?

thats what I do kama kawa on my pre-paid. Phew! thanks for sharing I was this close (can you see the tip of my finger?) to going post-pay. I had even gone to the center but it was mid month so I was adviced to go end month for easy billing. sitarudi
"Money never sleeps"
livie
#12 Posted : Wednesday, May 21, 2014 1:26:48 PM

Kihara joni wrote:
webish wrote:
Kihara joni wrote:

500MB - sh500
1.5Gb - sh1000
3Gb - sh1999
8gb - sh3999

actually it's not at least not for data, fore instance I am on postpay 1000/- I get 900 minutes to saf 100 minutes to other 100 sms 100mb data and 100 bonga points for just 1000/- on prepay the same resources would cost you uward fo 4,500/- so no you can't compare postpay and prepay, for data I buy the 1000/- bundle so per month I spend 2000/-.

Thank God they still have zidisha biashara running, got a package just like @Kihara joni's
If you are going to be thinking only one thing, you might as well be thinking big. -Donald J . Trump
#13 Posted : Monday, May 26, 2014 6:43:03 AM

livie wrote:
Kihara joni wrote:
webish wrote:
Kihara joni wrote:

500MB - sh500
1.5Gb - sh1000
3Gb - sh1999
8gb - sh3999

Thank God they still have zidisha biashara running, got a package just like @Kihara joni's

They have given us ONE year.Any information on how biashara zidisha tariff works?http://www.businessdailyafrica.com/Safaricom-cites-losses-post-paid-tariff/-/539552/2326348/-/10varud/-/index.html
#14 Posted : Monday, May 26, 2014 6:59:57 AM

My minutes c/f are substantial. If they terminate the postpaid but allow us to use the minutes in pre-paid, hapo sawa.
#15 Posted : Monday, May 26, 2014 7:17:22 AM

My minutes c/f are substantial. If they terminate the postpaid but allow us to use the minutes in pre-paid, hapo sawa.

The tariff is still on till 26th May 2015.
kollabo
#16 Posted : Monday, May 26, 2014 9:05:13 AM

Minutes carried forward cannot be used if you have a balance.
#17 Posted : Monday, May 26, 2014 9:09:27 AM

Yes, only for the existing customers
Boris Boyka
#18 Posted : Wednesday, April 01, 2015 2:13:40 PM

26 may is not that far...55 days away only. The one year we thought was long...imeisha. Any new plans/tariffs/as we were!.
Everybody STEALS, a THIEF is one who's CAUGHT stealing something of LITTLE VALUE. !!!
#19 Posted : Wednesday, April 01, 2015 2:21:01 PM

Boris Boyka wrote:

26 may is not that far...55 days away only. The one year we thought was long...imeisha. Any new plans/tariffs/as we were!.

I have just acquired an Airtel on the Kshs 2000 bundle.If they dont retain the tariff, my Safaricom line will only be for receiving calls and mpesa!!!!!!!
#20 Posted : Wednesday, April 01, 2015 3:28:51 PM

Boris Boyka wrote:

I have just acquired an Airtel on the Kshs 2000 bundle.If they dont retain the tariff, my Safaricom line will only be for receiving calls and mpesa!!!!!!!

On the same note how much is an airtel modem?
I am off with the safcom and my Orange modem imelost kwa sofa!