Paul Kagame
Muriel wrote:Obi 1 Kanobi wrote:MaichBlack wrote:Muriel wrote:MaichBlack wrote:Long live Paul Kagame!!!
Long live Yoweri Museveni!!!
Uhuru Kenyatta (Or/And future Kenyan presidents), make these two your friends.
To hell with 'civil society' (and their western paymasters) bullshit!!!
I vote for a tight ship. MaichBlack, I could not help but notice. Are you disgruntled with 'democracy'? No. Not at all. I am tired of all the bullshit in the name of democracy!!! What is our brand of democracy? An Mpig verbally abusing police and demanding the release of some truck? An MPig raping someone's wife? An MPig demanding sexual favours from an employee who happens to be someone's wife and consequently firing her when she refuses? Run away corruption? Private Developers? Five year campaigns? Opposing each other for the sake of opposing? Corruption and blantant wastage of tax payers money by Governors and their over glorified 'mere kanjoras'?Democracy can be beautiful. Democracy can be ugly. I want democracy in a controlled manner. I want a president who doesn't take bull crap. More like a parent. You give your kids freedom but some things are NOT up for discussion. My daughter can choose if she will have rice or ugali for supper. But she CANNOT decide she will take biscuits and a cold coke!!! That's my brand of democracy. That is evidently what Kenyans need! Most of the nonsense in 'this my motherland' is done in the name of democracy, freedom, human rights, bla bla bla crap!!! Somebody rightfully noted that this is more of "demo-crazy" than "democracy". I would be more at peace with equal rights, opportunities and justice that most of the bullshit we have to live with! Wacha you trying to place blame on a faceless party which you are referring to as "democracy" to avoid accepting the failure of the current gava (and the previous one's); What has democracy got to do with one man raping another man's wife. What has democracy got to do with someone hiving off public land and fencing it off for private use What has democracy got to do with an MP insulting the police on camera. ETC. The answer to the above, NOTHING. Its more of a leadership thing, has the rapist MP been arrested and democracy released him NO!! What about the insulting MP whose crimes were caught on camera, NO!! How about the team that hived off public land? No!! So please stop acting confused, direct your frustrations to a real person. There is nothing like democracy or Autocracy, its about the leaders. Please compare Kagame with Uhuru, or Lee Kuan Yew with Polpot. Obi 1 Kanobi, Allow me the pleasure of replying to you. Democracy has something to do with it. They were voted for. Between the hyena and the vulture one got the most votes. Tens of thousands even. Alma is currently frustrated and distraught with this scenario and so am I. Evidently MaichBlack too. Thanks @Muriel. You totally get it. This democracy thing is totally overhyped!!! Especially the current set up. Majority of fellows in BOTH the government side and opposition are basically cut from from the same cloth! As you put it, vultures vs hyenas! Then everyone keeps running to court with all kind of bullshit including land grabbers demanding their names to be removed from reports to known drug dealers demanding their names be struck off bla bla bla. We need a fellow who can tell people "Stop bringing drugs to this country or else...", "The next public property you grab will be your last..." Never count on making a good sale. Have the purchase price be so attractive that even a mediocre sale gives good returns.
Putting other arguments aside, Let me venture, because of the Ngaa, GEMA and generally bantu based African "Nchamba/Njamba" method of leadership, Kenya will post growth surpassing the world bank 7% estimate over the next two years and i am willing to bet. One reason is "our" Njamba is not comparable to the less shiny Njambas from the other East African countries, perhaps you compare them to Kibaki. Several theories included, Kenya will lead TZ, UG, Rwanda and Congo for the next twenty years or so, we can only dissect this theory in future but i can bet within 2 years we will hit double digit growth, but i am almost certain we shall break several economic growth records globally within two years. I suspect we may hit 15% before two years are up! Kagame is OK, but hatuwezi. A New Kenya
Much Know wrote:Putting other arguments aside, Let me venture, because of the Ngaa, GEMA and generally bantu based African "Nchamba/Njamba" method of leadership, Kenya will post growth surpassing the world bank 7% estimate over the next two years and i am willing to bet. One reason is "our" Njamba is not comparable to the less shiny Njambas from the other East African countries, perhaps you compare them to Kibaki. Several theories included, Kenya will lead TZ, UG, Rwanda and Congo for the next twenty years or so, we can only dissect this theory in future but i can bet within 2 years we will hit double digit growth, but i am almost certain we shall break several economic growth records globally within two years. I suspect we may hit 15% before two years are up! Kagame is OK, but hatuwezi. What do you mean? Anyway 15% is way too high with our bad politics. I trust 7% is ok... .>9% would be on the outside. Remember i don’t mind a higher percentage growth because i will be a beneficiary.. just trying to be realistic. On dictators... thought Baba no. 1 was dictator, did it help, NO!!! Formal education will make you a living. Self-education will make you a fortune - Jim Rohn.
Rank: Elder Joined: 9/23/2009 Posts: 8,083 Location: Enk are Nyirobi
Dahatre wrote:Rwanda seems well on its path to its 30-year cycle of explosion... 1960... 1990.. 2020?? @Dahatre true that. The children of the Interahamwe who were displaced into Eastern Congo by the advancing RPF are now young adults, fighting as FDLR and itching to go back to Rwanda. If Kagame loses control in Kigali due to infighting within RPF, kwisha. Life is short. Live passionately.
This is what happens to good leadership. Citizens reward you for that http://www.nation.co.ke/...0/-/bnqbgbz/-/index.htmlLife is an endless adventure
He needs to go home, otherwise he will start to make mistakes if he overstays
Rank: Veteran Joined: 12/4/2009 Posts: 1,982 Location: matano manne
[quote=freiks]This is what happens to good leadership. Citizens reward you for that http://www.nation.co.ke/.../-/bnqbgbz/-/index.html[/quote] to our Rwandan brothers
Kagame is making the typical African Ruler mistake. The start of the end. Business opportunities are like buses,there's always another one coming
Just finished reading Lee Kuan Yew 'From Third World to First: The Singapore Story' Looking at the current scenario, Kagame has proven his mettle in word and action - anyone who knew Rwanda between the 90s and now will attest to this: in health, education, infrastructure, economy, agriculture, etc. He's firmly set Rwanda on the path of development. His work is not done. I think he needs more time to continue with the job, otherwise the momentum is lost. His failing will be if he does not craft a meritocratic system, with a process to groom and mentor an heir. So there is predictability, experience to balance the inevitable change
Sevian wrote:Just finished reading Lee Kuan Yew 'From Third World to First: The Singapore Story' Looking at the current scenario, Kagame has proven his mettle in word and action - anyone who knew Rwanda between the 90s and now will attest to this: in health, education, infrastructure, economy, agriculture, etc. He's firmly set Rwanda on the path of development. His work is not done. I think he needs more time to continue with the job, otherwise the momentum is lost. His failing will be if he does not craft a meritocratic system, with a process to groom and mentor an heir. So there is predictability, experience to balance the inevitable change I concur with you. Rome was not built in a day Life is an endless adventure
Rank: Elder Joined: 9/23/2009 Posts: 8,083 Location: Enk are Nyirobi
Kagame, Museveni, Kabila, Nkurunziza are all good Democrats... democracy of the gun. Life is short. Live passionately.
Rank: Elder Joined: 12/17/2009 Posts: 3,583 Location: Kenya
freiks wrote:Sevian wrote:Just finished reading Lee Kuan Yew 'From Third World to First: The Singapore Story' Looking at the current scenario, Kagame has proven his mettle in word and action - anyone who knew Rwanda between the 90s and now will attest to this: in health, education, infrastructure, economy, agriculture, etc. He's firmly set Rwanda on the path of development. His work is not done. I think he needs more time to continue with the job, otherwise the momentum is lost. His failing will be if he does not craft a meritocratic system, with a process to groom and mentor an heir. So there is predictability, experience to balance the inevitable change I concur with you. Rome was not built in a day Kagame seems to be doing a good job so far, even the Germans gave Angela a third term.
nakujua wrote:freiks wrote:Sevian wrote:Just finished reading Lee Kuan Yew 'From Third World to First: The Singapore Story' Looking at the current scenario, Kagame has proven his mettle in word and action - anyone who knew Rwanda between the 90s and now will attest to this: in health, education, infrastructure, economy, agriculture, etc. He's firmly set Rwanda on the path of development. His work is not done. I think he needs more time to continue with the job, otherwise the momentum is lost. His failing will be if he does not craft a meritocratic system, with a process to groom and mentor an heir. So there is predictability, experience to balance the inevitable change I concur with you. Rome was not built in a day Kagame seems to be doing a good job so far, even the Germans gave Angela a third term. What is the alternative to PK? Is there a leader being groomed to take over? Is there someone capable of filling in the shoes? Or will the hyenas take over? Has Kagame been too busy getting Rwanda on its feet to the detriment of a succession plan? or he's just another tin-pot dictator
kiwaru wrote:nakujua wrote:freiks wrote:Sevian wrote:Just finished reading Lee Kuan Yew 'From Third World to First: The Singapore Story' Looking at the current scenario, Kagame has proven his mettle in word and action - anyone who knew Rwanda between the 90s and now will attest to this: in health, education, infrastructure, economy, agriculture, etc. He's firmly set Rwanda on the path of development. His work is not done. I think he needs more time to continue with the job, otherwise the momentum is lost. His failing will be if he does not craft a meritocratic system, with a process to groom and mentor an heir. So there is predictability, experience to balance the inevitable change I concur with you. Rome was not built in a day Kagame seems to be doing a good job so far, even the Germans gave Angela a third term. What is the alternative to PK? Is there a leader being groomed to take over? Is there someone capable of filling in the shoes? Or will the hyenas take over? Has Kagame been too busy getting Rwanda on its feet to the detriment of a succession plan? or he's just another tin-pot dictator Having recently joined a board somewhere, I am starting to understand the need to have INSTITUTIONAL checks and balances. And I acknowledge that these take time to develop. Does Rwanda have these? Are there credible safeguards to dictatorial tendencies by the various centers of power: military, economic, political, administrative?
I think Kenyans are very lucky: in politics, there are 2 major movements (of course the names change every election, as do the people in them); the judiciary is very strong and can/does keep the legislative in check, who in turn keeps the executive on its toes. The media is strong (including the lewd Nairobian) with numerous stakeholders hence no monopoly of influence
kiwaru wrote:nakujua wrote:freiks wrote:Sevian wrote:Just finished reading Lee Kuan Yew 'From Third World to First: The Singapore Story' Looking at the current scenario, Kagame has proven his mettle in word and action - anyone who knew Rwanda between the 90s and now will attest to this: in health, education, infrastructure, economy, agriculture, etc. He's firmly set Rwanda on the path of development. His work is not done. I think he needs more time to continue with the job, otherwise the momentum is lost. His failing will be if he does not craft a meritocratic system, with a process to groom and mentor an heir. So there is predictability, experience to balance the inevitable change I concur with you. Rome was not built in a day Kagame seems to be doing a good job so far, even the Germans gave Angela a third term. What is the alternative to PK? Is there a leader being groomed to take over? Is there someone capable of filling in the shoes? Or will the hyenas take over? Has Kagame been too busy getting Rwanda on its feet to the detriment of a succession plan? or he's just another tin-pot dictator In Africa you need a strong man to grow a country - with a power hungry, fanatical and crazy opposition - the likes of MK and PK would 'be had for lunch' Its always a risk, especially in Africa lakini the hope is that if a leader can grow the country to a level where the citizens are comfortable they might in future demand the same from subsequent leaders. Lakini the crazy Libyans proved otherwise, sacrificing their good life just to please kasin.
I don't mind people being in power for more than 2 terms. Who said two terms is optimal? BTW, how long can a British PM be in power? How long was Thatcher in power?(Now that the ceremonial head has been in that seat for longer than our President's life?) BUT.... Nations must not cheat themselves that only certain individuals can lead them into stability. If a guy comes and sets standards, let them leave after setting those new high standards, esp if the citizenry are into that delusion of one guy being messiah Longevity in power often leads to consequent instability after the leader vacates. Hence the case of Somalia, Zaire & Libya. I like our system and that of our ndugus Tanzania. Build institutions and rely on them. Rwanda could be another Libya
Creating another dictator in Africa!!! Formal education will make you a living. Self-education will make you a fortune - Jim Rohn.
At least in Kenya the succession planning has been done and is clear; from UMK to WSR. In the business world, everyone is paid in two coins - cash and experience. Take the experience first; the cash will come later - H Geneen
Lolest! wrote:I don't mind people being in power for more than 2 terms. Who said two terms is optimal? BTW, how long can a British PM be in power? How long was Thatcher in power?(Now that the ceremonial head has been in that seat for longer than our President's life?)
BUT....
Nations must not cheat themselves that only certain individuals can lead them into stability. If a guy comes and sets standards, let them leave after setting those new high standards, esp if the citizenry are into that delusion of one guy being messiah
Longevity in power often leads to consequent instability after the leader vacates. Hence the case of Somalia, Zaire & Libya.
I like our system and that of our ndugus Tanzania. Build institutions and rely on them. Rwanda could be another Libya Institutions work after majority of the citizenry have attained a comfortable position - otherwise in poverty institutions make no sense and only a strong man can drive growth, by making peculiar decisions.
Paul Kagame