wazua Mon, Nov 18, 2024

Equity Bank Cheapskate Antics
PuthyKrasha
#1 Posted : Friday, March 20, 2015 1:42:41 PM

So, I accompany my little nephew to Equity Kariobangi to open a student account since the lad is joining campus soon. and I am shocked that a bank of Equity's caliber has the audacity to charge us for national ID copies.. shamelessly putting a photocopier hapo kwa entrance connected to power from the ATM room. fleecing prospective clientele. I though things like paper work for prospects is covered under the tea and mandazi bill in such... seems the branch manager is doing this as a side hustle. Wewe ni bure kabisa bwana manager.Shame on you
If i showed you where i live, you would think that i was hiding.
#2 Posted : Friday, March 20, 2015 5:43:50 PM

PuthyKrasha wrote:
So, I accompany my little nephew to Equity Kariobangi to open a student account since the lad is joining campus soon. and I am shocked that a bank on Equity's caliber has the audacity to charge us for national ID copies.. shamelessly putting a photocopier hapo kwa entrance connected to power from the ATM room offering service to prospective clientele. I though things like paper work for prospects is covered under the tea and mandazi bill in such organizations. seems the branch manager is doing this as a side hustle. Wewe ni bure kabisa bwana manager.Shame on you

Seems like a trend. Was surprised recently to notice that they were now charging agency fees for some KRA payments, shortly after KRA stopped accepting payments in cash. Huko hawanioni tena.
#3 Posted : Friday, March 20, 2015 5:55:41 PM

Rankaz13 wrote:
PuthyKrasha wrote:
So, I accompany my little nephew to Equity Kariobangi to open a student account since the lad is joining campus soon. and I am shocked that a bank on Equity's caliber has the audacity to charge us for national ID copies.. shamelessly putting a photocopier hapo kwa entrance connected to power from the ATM room offering service to prospective clientele. I though things like paper work for prospects is covered under the tea and mandazi bill in such organizations. seems the branch manager is doing this as a side hustle. Wewe ni bure kabisa bwana manager.Shame on you

Seems like a trend. Was surprised recently to notice that they were now charging agency fees for some KRA payments, shortly after KRA stopped accepting payments in cash. Huko hawanioni tena.

These are services, AMA?????
jerry
#4 Posted : Friday, March 20, 2015 6:06:10 PM

Mini statements at the ATM are also charged in some banks.
The opposite of courage is not cowardice, it's conformity.
joejuma
#5 Posted : Friday, March 20, 2015 7:01:18 PM

Kcb,equity,coop!!fleecing customers!

Boris Boyka
#6 Posted : Friday, March 20, 2015 8:41:27 PM

joejuma wrote:

To make double digit profits and impress shareholder!
Everybody STEALS, a THIEF is one who's CAUGHT stealing something of LITTLE VALUE. !!!
#7 Posted : Friday, March 20, 2015 9:23:41 PM

Rankaz13 wrote:
PuthyKrasha wrote:

... and services have to be paid for.
#8 Posted : Friday, March 20, 2015 11:01:57 PM

Boris Boyka wrote:
joejuma wrote:

And the customer are tied there or have a gun held to their heads???

These banks are not monopolies. If you feel you are not getting value for money, move!!!
Thitifini
#9 Posted : Friday, March 20, 2015 11:15:22 PM

Rankaz13 wrote:
PuthyKrasha wrote:

Those not comfortable would have used postbank. As far as I know all these services are free.

60% Learning, 30% synthesizing, 10% Debating
sixthestate
#10 Posted : Saturday, March 21, 2015 8:13:54 AM

Thitifini wrote:
Rankaz13 wrote:
PuthyKrasha wrote:

Those not comfortable would have used postbank. As far as I know all these services are free.

equity is cost cutting,you want to open an account you bring your copies, imagine if your are to photocopy 40,000 ids each month excluding memos etc,they are seeing the bigger picture
#11 Posted : Saturday, March 21, 2015 11:47:25 AM

Rankaz13 wrote:
PuthyKrasha wrote:

Imagine if your own customers were charged for depositing money in your account? Reminds me of a time when barclay's hurlingham used to do the same for university fee deposits.
PuthyKrasha
#12 Posted : Saturday, March 21, 2015 7:01:02 PM

sixthestate wrote:
Thitifini wrote:
Rankaz13 wrote:
PuthyKrasha wrote:

equity is cost cutting,you want to open an account you bring your copies, imagine if your are to photocopy 40,000 ids each month excluding memos etc,they are seeing the bigger picture

The issue is not cost cutting, if that was the case,.. then they would not be running a photocopy business at the entrance of the bank.. hii ni ulafi. we are bringing money to the bank as new clientele, pesa lazima iwe deposited!! you mean to tell me, they cant do copiesas a good will gesture.. as it is said banks are here to rob us blind.
If i showed you where i live, you would think that i was hiding.
#13 Posted : Saturday, March 21, 2015 7:15:23 PM

kama hutaki kulipa nenda ukaphotocoy nje.. ptho

HF 30,000 ABP 3.49; KQ 414,100 ABP 7.92; MTN 23,800 ABP 6.45
Boris Boyka
#14 Posted : Saturday, March 21, 2015 9:38:09 PM

Boris Boyka wrote:
joejuma wrote:

These banks are not monopolies. If you feel you are not getting value for money, move!!!

I wonder....In fact a student account ni ya hasara!!! It is common sense that You have to walk with copies of your neccessary documents always for registrations/applications. Sometimes we get favours from people in the instituitions which isn't aguarantee/right. For the fotokope (Ndung'u) outside the bank is convinience to you the customer. #wanapendavyiabwerere.
Everybody STEALS, a THIEF is one who's CAUGHT stealing something of LITTLE VALUE. !!!
#15 Posted : Saturday, March 21, 2015 10:04:06 PM

Boris Boyka wrote:
joejuma wrote:

I wonder....In fact a student account ni ya hasara!!! It is common sense that You have to walk with copies of your neccessary documents always for registrations/applications. Sometimes we get favours from people in the instituitions which isn't aguarantee/right. For the fotokope (Ndung'u) outside the bank is convinience to you the customer. #wanapendavyiabwerere.

True

Why complain when you still bank there ni kama equity ni mama yako.

I have an account there. Not because they have great service. But

There is a certain gashungwa who smiles me to back from sadness to happiness.

Juzi she actually told me that she's happy when I come back after I told her that I hate coming to her to complain.

Ohhhh Alma please come back.

Unfortunately, she said the same thing to some old guka just behind me.
#16 Posted : Sunday, March 22, 2015 12:04:24 AM

Boris Boyka wrote:
joejuma wrote:

True

Juzi she actually told me that she's happy when I come back after I told her that I hate coming to her to complain.

Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Alma you never cease to amaze
#17 Posted : Sunday, March 22, 2015 9:28:36 AM

Equity has too many charges. If your account is inactive for 6 months, you will have to photocpoy your documents again and pay reactivation fees

Inactive means you are not withdrawing or paying anyone from that account. Deposits are not sufficient!
Boris Boyka
#18 Posted : Sunday, March 22, 2015 11:13:54 AM

Equity has too many charges. If your account is inactive for 6 months, you will have to photocpoy your documents again and pay reactivation fees

Inactive means you are not withdrawing or paying anyone from that account. Deposits are not sufficient!

Why have an acc that you don't transact for 6 months?? You surely dont require it,funga......Money has to be in circulation...kuweka idle for over 6 months you need be penalised.
#19 Posted : Sunday, March 22, 2015 11:35:48 AM

Boris Boyka wrote:
joejuma wrote:

True

Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Alma you never cease to amaze

#20 Posted : Sunday, March 22, 2015 12:04:56 PM

Boris Boyka wrote:

Why have an acc that you don't transact for 6 months?? You surely dont require it,funga......Money has to be in circulation...kuweka idle for over 6 months you need be penalised.

Kuweka pesa bila kutowa. Kwani wewe ni pharmacist. Banks need to have your account to be active to charge commissions in order to earn for maintaining your accounts. Dormant accounts are expensive to banks.