#51 Posted : Friday, March 20, 2015 11:07:48 AM

Muriel wrote:
So far, Sonko hasn't limited himself to the resources available to his office in his interactions with the people. So it's expected that even if he becomes governor or President he'll still have to use his personal and private resources for the people.

Meaning, the elective posts are rewards mainly for prestige and power bases for increasing personal wealth for Sonko.

Will the Sonko strategy increase Wanjiku's wealth, and power? I doubt it. Wealth isn't increased by handouts and benevolence.

Wanjiku, is fooling herself. The middle class critics are fooling Wanjiku and themselves.

A major issue am seeing here is that Government is too poor and powerless to be of importance to the citizen.

If there's to be any light and reform we should focus on redefining Government and the citizen's relationship with it.

When he becomes gafana, these mwananchi people will be waiting for him at the Haile Sailasie Avenue to monitor the traffic.

There shall be Sonko Rescue water deliverers in Muthaiga and Kinoo

The Greenbelt Movement will be renamed Sonko Greenbelt and we shall have trees in Nairobi again.

Honestly

And stop talking about Wanjiku, 90% of the time they vote for these people. Like the abused woman in a relationship, she deserves to be slapped again.

Yaani the choice is between Sonko and Kidero.

God Help Us All.

Could it be that it is finally dawning on my brother?

Would Mr. Mbuvi (I hate nicknames, childishness in grown men) be a 'better' public servant if he got elected by say 10m votes rather than 200k?

What's the use?

What's the use of what?

What's dawning on your 'brother'?

Democracy.

The illusion of 'evolution' through democracy.

I think you're confusing issues and jumping to conclusions.

I apologise.

Poa.
#52 Posted : Friday, March 20, 2015 11:26:06 AM

So far, Sonko hasn't limited himself to the resources available to his office in his interactions with the people. So it's expected that even if he becomes governor or President he'll still have to use his personal and private resources for the people.

Meaning, the elective posts are rewards mainly for prestige and power bases for increasing personal wealth for Sonko.

Will the Sonko strategy increase Wanjiku's wealth, and power? I doubt it. Wealth isn't increased by handouts and benevolence.

Wanjiku, is fooling herself. The middle class critics are fooling Wanjiku and themselves.

A major issue am seeing here is that Government is too poor and powerless to be of importance to the citizen.

If there's to be any light and reform we should focus on redefining Government and the citizen's relationship with it.

Not true. The government simply doesn't care.
#53 Posted : Friday, March 20, 2015 12:44:06 PM

@Euge, maybe you're right. Do you have evidence to prove your point?

As for me, I realize that:

1. Government and leadership don't have effective and efficient policy formulation and implementation methods and strategies availabile to them that can meet the needs of the masses

2. Governments all over the world are getting more and more crippled by debt

3. Governments have less control of markets

In our case here, Sonko is using the multiplier effect of media publicity. For example, out of the total population of Nairobi, how many has he helped directly? Even with governorship, how many can he help, and to what extent?

Unfortunately, the citizen is responsible for all this.
#54 Posted : Friday, March 20, 2015 2:02:02 PM

You middle class keep making noise. Sonko knows where the votes are and he knows where to cast his net. Those people just need basic services and they will make him governor Mpende msipende...
#55 Posted : Friday, March 20, 2015 2:40:30 PM

Moi's era was not philanthropy, Moi girls schools have always been government institutions not for charity - the man used government resources to set them up.
For a majority of kenyans to have a chance at a decent life, we need the big man goodies - otherwise if we were to allow market forces to dictate where development will be channeled kuna watu wataumia.
The schools were always set up with harambee money with Moi being the highest contributor. The thing is, his contribution was from your looted billions in parastatals and ministries
I don't see any money guzzler activity Sonko is doing, I would not be surprised if all he uses is just part of his senator salary - but a very worthy thing he is doing not many would choose to spend their income that way irrespective of the source.
Weewe, hujaskia he wants to start tarmacking roads?

thanks for that correction, true it was harambee money, though as you have stated it was basically tax payers money given a different name.
If sonko was to start doing proper standard roads then that would be expensive and a pleasant surprise at that, and if he were to even do a few tens of kilometers then the question of his money source can be raised.

But what sonko is doing now is not that expensive, I don't even know why the question of his source of funds come in, I am sure some of the wazuans who are doing well huko investments can easily do what sonko is doing now - its just that most well to do kenyans are mean, thats why sonko is getting noticed.
#56 Posted : Friday, March 20, 2015 3:48:50 PM

You middle class keep making noise. Sonko knows where the votes are and he knows where to cast his net. Those people just need basic services and they will make him governor Mpende msipende...

You're not worried he will become PORK 2022 mpende msipende?
rryyzz
#57 Posted : Friday, March 20, 2015 5:19:05 PM

Moi's era was not philanthropy, Moi girls schools have always been government institutions not for charity - the man used government resources to set them up.
For a majority of kenyans to have a chance at a decent life, we need the big man goodies - otherwise if we were to allow market forces to dictate where development will be channeled kuna watu wataumia.
The schools were always set up with harambee money with Moi being the highest contributor. The thing is, his contribution was from your looted billions in parastatals and ministries
I don't see any money guzzler activity Sonko is doing, I would not be surprised if all he uses is just part of his senator salary - but a very worthy thing he is doing not many would choose to spend their income that way irrespective of the source.
Weewe, hujaskia he wants to start tarmacking roads?

thanks for that correction, true it was harambee money, though as you have stated it was basically tax payers money given a different name.
If sonko was to start doing proper standard roads then that would be expensive and a pleasant surprise at that, and if he were to even do a few tens of kilometers then the question of his money source can be raised.

But what sonko is doing now is not that expensive, I don't even know why the question of his source of funds come in, I am sure some of the wazuans who are doing well huko investments can easily do what sonko is doing now - its just that most well to do kenyans are mean, thats why sonko is getting noticed.

Sonko should learn to give his electorate a fishing rod not make them dependencies by fishing for them.
Too often we underestimate the power of a touch, a smile, a kind word, a listening ear, an honest compliment, or the smallest act of caring, all of which have the potential to turn a life around.... Leo Buscaglia
Mtu Biz
#58 Posted : Friday, March 20, 2015 5:52:27 PM

Do not worry.

The majority is always right.

If the majority be wrong, what will you do?

Nothing.

Upende usipende.
Sola Scriptura

#59 Posted : Friday, March 20, 2015 8:17:25 PM

He will never be because the owners of Kenya will not pick him.
6 Pages«<456