wazua Tue, Jun 23, 2026

6 Pages«<3456>
Drug vs Sugar Baron Politics-Nrb
Muriel
#41 Posted : Friday, March 20, 2015 10:19:23 AM

So far, Sonko hasn't limited himself to the resources available to his office in his interactions with the people. So it's expected that even if he becomes governor or President he'll still have to use his personal and private resources for the people.

Meaning, the elective posts are rewards mainly for prestige and power bases for increasing personal wealth for Sonko.

Will the Sonko strategy increase Wanjiku's wealth, and power? I doubt it. Wealth isn't increased by handouts and benevolence.

Wanjiku, is fooling herself. The middle class critics are fooling Wanjiku and themselves.

A major issue am seeing here is that Government is too poor and powerless to be of importance to the citizen.

If there's to be any light and reform we should focus on redefining Government and the citizen's relationship with it.

When he becomes gafana, these mwananchi people will be waiting for him at the Haile Sailasie Avenue to monitor the traffic.

There shall be Sonko Rescue water deliverers in Muthaiga and Kinoo

The Greenbelt Movement will be renamed Sonko Greenbelt and we shall have trees in Nairobi again.

Honestly

And stop talking about Wanjiku, 90% of the time they vote for these people. Like the abused woman in a relationship, she deserves to be slapped again.

Yaani the choice is between Sonko and Kidero.

God Help Us All.

Could it be that it is finally dawning on my brother?

Would Mr. Mbuvi (I hate nicknames, childishness in grown men) be a 'better' public servant if he got elected by say 10m votes rather than 200k?

What's the use?
#42 Posted : Friday, March 20, 2015 10:26:48 AM

Muriel wrote:
So far, Sonko hasn't limited himself to the resources available to his office in his interactions with the people. So it's expected that even if he becomes governor or President he'll still have to use his personal and private resources for the people.

Meaning, the elective posts are rewards mainly for prestige and power bases for increasing personal wealth for Sonko.

Will the Sonko strategy increase Wanjiku's wealth, and power? I doubt it. Wealth isn't increased by handouts and benevolence.

Wanjiku, is fooling herself. The middle class critics are fooling Wanjiku and themselves.

A major issue am seeing here is that Government is too poor and powerless to be of importance to the citizen.

If there's to be any light and reform we should focus on redefining Government and the citizen's relationship with it.

When he becomes gafana, these mwananchi people will be waiting for him at the Haile Sailasie Avenue to monitor the traffic.

The Greenbelt Movement will be renamed Sonko Greenbelt and we shall have trees in Nairobi again.

Honestly

And stop talking about Wanjiku, 90% of the time they vote for these people. Like the abused woman in a relationship, she deserves to be slapped again.

God Help Us All.

Would Mr. Mbuvi (I hate nicknames, childishness in grown men) be a 'better' public servant if he got elected by say 10m votes rather than 200k?

What's the use?

What's the use of what?

What's dawning on your 'brother'?
kollabo
#43 Posted : Friday, March 20, 2015 10:29:24 AM

Responsible leaders the world over offer free essential services especially in times of emergencies. There's a water crisis in this area.

Just because you can afford bottled water doesn't give you the right to call others "lazy"
#44 Posted : Friday, March 20, 2015 10:34:24 AM

kollabo wrote:
Responsible leaders the world over offer free essential services especially in times of emergencies. There's a water crisis in this area.

Just because you can afford bottled water doesn't give you the right to call others "lazy"

This is the Wanjiku lo lest has been talking about.

Which world are you talking about? Mayor Bloomberg is richer than every kenyan MP combined and senator. I have never seen him offering free cab rides in New York.

Buru Buru is not the world.

Responsible leaders offer solutions to problems not freebies and jerricans of water. Not parables in the dead of night and slapping women in public.

You continue voting and expecting something new to happen in your life. Some day, the piper will come a-calling. Ooops he's already here, you just have not seen him.
timuka
#45 Posted : Friday, March 20, 2015 10:35:49 AM

The Sonko vs Kidero duel is a classical example of balancing long-term and short-term goals which is a skill every leader ought to have. For obvious reasons, low literacy levels, poverty etc the local 'Mwananchi' on the ground might not have an appreciation of what master plans are and how they will alleviate their day to day problems. Their perception is purely short-term and the only language they understand is how their basic needs are being met 'today' - hence the reason why hand-outs and guys like Sonko are appealing to them. For the learned, they appreciate hand-outs are not a solution, what is needed is a long-term sustainable solution which is what I believe Kidero is attempting to put in place.

The reality on the ground is that we have these two groups of people coexisting together in the city, each with their own defined way of looking at things. The onus is therefore on the elected leaders, in this case Kidero, to strike a balance between short-term and long-term goals. Find a way of making the two groups feel that their needs are well catered for. I feel Kidero has focused too much on the long-term solutions, which is a good thing, but neglected the day-to-day needs of the Mwananchi hence giving Sonko an opportunity to thrive.
#46 Posted : Friday, March 20, 2015 10:37:23 AM

You continue supporting mediocrity in the so called "mwananchi"

They vote for these people then expect others to care.

So when Sonko becomes gafana, there shall be no water shortage in Nairobi or what are you saying? What policies has he pushed forward as Senator of Nairobi to ensure that this ends?

This is a straight up pissing march between Sonko and Kidero and as usual you fellows are busy cheering around here.

Kidero sees Sonko sending out water, he starts talking in parables. More water is delivered kesho, and more parables thrown. At the end of the day, there is no water in South C. There was no water yesterday and there will be no water tomorrow.

Somehow, despite your rudeness, you are discussing this point the way I wanted it discussed

The electorate, if it goes for Sonko, must first demand to know how he will improve service delivery in the city with our taxes, levies etc

He must tell us his plans for Nbi. If he chooses to additionally use his personal funds, well and good

His philanthropy is similar to Moi era philanthropy. Moi left govt institutions dead then purported to sympathise with victims of lack of govt services by donations, harambees etc That's how we ended up with all these Moi Girls' schools all over

This is why I respect Kibaki. He introduced the principle of working govt minus the big man's goodies.

Moi's era was not philanthropy, Moi girls schools have always been government institutions not for charity - the man used government resources to set them up.
For a majority of kenyans to have a chance at a decent life, we need the big man goodies - otherwise if we were to allow market forces to dictate where development will be channeled kuna watu wataumia.

I don't see any money guzzler activity Sonko is doing, I would not be surprised if all he uses is just part of his senator salary - but a very worthy thing he is doing not many would choose to spend their income that way irrespective of the source.
Muriel
#47 Posted : Friday, March 20, 2015 10:43:11 AM

Muriel wrote:

Honestly

God Help Us All.

What's the use?

What's the use of what?

Democracy.

The illusion of 'evolution' through democracy.
#48 Posted : Friday, March 20, 2015 10:52:52 AM

Muriel wrote:

Honestly

God Help Us All.

What's the use?

What's the use of what?

Democracy.

I think you're confusing issues and jumping to conclusions.
#49 Posted : Friday, March 20, 2015 10:54:48 AM

You continue supporting mediocrity in the so called "mwananchi"

They vote for these people then expect others to care.

So when Sonko becomes gafana, there shall be no water shortage in Nairobi or what are you saying? What policies has he pushed forward as Senator of Nairobi to ensure that this ends?

This is a straight up pissing march between Sonko and Kidero and as usual you fellows are busy cheering around here.

Kidero sees Sonko sending out water, he starts talking in parables. More water is delivered kesho, and more parables thrown. At the end of the day, there is no water in South C. There was no water yesterday and there will be no water tomorrow.

Somehow, despite your rudeness, you are discussing this point the way I wanted it discussed

The electorate, if it goes for Sonko, must first demand to know how he will improve service delivery in the city with our taxes, levies etc

He must tell us his plans for Nbi. If he chooses to additionally use his personal funds, well and good

His philanthropy is similar to Moi era philanthropy. Moi left govt institutions dead then purported to sympathise with victims of lack of govt services by donations, harambees etc That's how we ended up with all these Moi Girls' schools all over

This is why I respect Kibaki. He introduced the principle of working govt minus the big man's goodies.

Moi's era was not philanthropy, Moi girls schools have always been government institutions not for charity - the man used government resources to set them up.
For a majority of kenyans to have a chance at a decent life, we need the big man goodies - otherwise if we were to allow market forces to dictate where development will be channeled kuna watu wataumia.
The schools were always set up with harambee money with Moi being the highest contributor. The thing is, his contribution was from your looted billions in parastatals and ministries
I don't see any money guzzler activity Sonko is doing, I would not be surprised if all he uses is just part of his senator salary - but a very worthy thing he is doing not many would choose to spend their income that way irrespective of the source.
Weewe, hujaskia he wants to start tarmacking roads?

Muriel
#50 Posted : Friday, March 20, 2015 10:57:55 AM

Muriel wrote:

Honestly

God Help Us All.

What's the use?

What's the use of what?

Democracy.

I think you're confusing issues and jumping to conclusions.

I apologise.
6 Pages«<3456>