wazua Wed, May 21, 2025

52 Pages«<4142434445>»
Question for a4architect
kiwaru
#841 Posted : Thursday, March 19, 2015 3:07:30 PM

kiwaru wrote:
a4architect, construction gurus and Mr Singh... a question
What is the assumed transport component when we give costing per square metre e.g. Kshs 25000 - 30000 for moderate finishes, for a block of flats?

Does it make sense for someone doing a block of flats, having raised 7m, to put downpayment (say 3m) for a tipper truck (6.9m Eicher) and be the primary "customer"for this truck, with the occasional side jobs to help sort out the repayments / running costs - about 160k p.m. for a 36 month loan at 16%, while the rest of the money be utilised to start off the project

Will the developer have "saved" directly by being own "customer" to convert the cost of transport to repayments for truck?

@a4A... tunaomba serikali
Pesa Nane
#842 Posted : Thursday, March 19, 2015 3:19:55 PM

Pesa Nane wrote:
I have a copy of a Juja land title that I need to confirm official details (ownership, size, encumbrances, etc).
Where do I start?
What is the procedure?

kiwaru wrote:
Pesa Nane plans to be shilingi when he grows up.
#843 Posted : Thursday, March 19, 2015 3:41:19 PM

Pesa Nane wrote:
I have a copy of a Juja land title that I need to confirm official details (ownership, size, encumbrances, etc).
Where do I start?
What is the procedure?

kiwaru wrote:

Head to ardhi house with a copy of the title, your PIN and ID.In the compound there is a tent manned by staff from Ardhi house.Show them a copy of the title and tell them you want a search.You will be given a form to be filled in triplicate.Fill in the form, head to the banking hall inside Ardhi house and you will see a stapler at the reception.Staple the forms, ID copy, pin copy and a copy of title together.Head to counter 14 and buy revenue stamps for Kshs 520.Stick them on the front face of one of the forms.Proceed to counter 6 and hand over the documents to the lady manning the counter.She will book your search and give you back one of the forms after stamping it.Note The above process is only done between 9am and 1pm.Collect your search after 3 days if lucky in the tent after 3 days.If in a hurry and with 3.5k, you can get it in 2 hrs.
Pesa Nane
#844 Posted : Thursday, March 19, 2015 4:21:03 PM

Pesa Nane wrote:
Where do I start?
What is the procedure?

kiwaru wrote:

Head to ardhi house with a copy of the title, your PIN and ID.In the compound there is a tent manned by staff from Ardhi house.Show them a copy of the title and tell them you want a search.You will be given a form to be filled in triplicate.Fill in the form, head to the banking hall inside Ardhi house and you will see a stapler at the reception.Staple the forms, ID copy, pin copy and a copy of title together.Head to counter 14 and buy revenue stamps for Kshs 520.Stick them on the front face of one of the forms.Proceed to counter 6 and hand over the documents to the lady manning the counter.She will book your search and give you back one of the forms after stamping it.Note The above process is only done between 9am and 1pm.Collect your search after 3 days if lucky in the tent after 3 days.If in a hurry and with 3.5k, you can get it in 2 hrs.

Cheers @mawinder
#845 Posted : Sunday, March 22, 2015 11:40:49 AM

now, my contractor is advising that I register a limited firm and use it for construction of one four storey building rather than build under individual name. what is the tax implication??

COOP 255,000 ABP 15.85; KQ 484,100 ABP 7.45; MTN 23,800 ABP 5.20
XSK
#846 Posted : Monday, March 23, 2015 6:05:21 PM

now, my contractor is advising that I register a limited firm and use it for construction of one four storey building rather than build under individual name. what is the tax implication??

Following
You will know that you have arrived when money and time are not mutually exclusive "events" in you life!
Boris Boyka
#847 Posted : Monday, March 23, 2015 6:12:45 PM

XSK wrote:

Following

Ask of the other benefits too or you are already aware of them?
Everybody STEALS, a THIEF is one who's CAUGHT stealing something of LITTLE VALUE. !!!
Pesa Nane
#848 Posted : Monday, March 23, 2015 7:50:45 PM

Pesa Nane wrote:
Where do I start?
What is the procedure?

kiwaru wrote:

Zigactly!!

Will check results next Wednesday. Cheers @mawinder
#849 Posted : Monday, March 30, 2015 1:46:48 PM

RE: KARIBU HOMES at Athi River, being constructed by a Chinese Co.

Went to have a look at the project which is going for KShs 1.4M - 5.7M.

Thought the project was strange but couldn't quite get my mind to it.

Then it struck me that they are building multi-storey apartments (up to 4 floors) without support columns!

All i could see were some polystyrene boards between the apartments and some zinc/aluminium strips in the mortar.

What kind of technology is this? How reliable is it?
african coloner
#850 Posted : Tuesday, March 31, 2015 12:41:49 AM

Then it struck me that they are building multi-storey apartments (up to 4 floors) without support columns!

All i could see were some polystyrene boards between the apartments and some zinc/aluminium strips in the mortar.

i have observed this with four junction too. i don't get it
a4architect.com
#851 Posted : Tuesday, March 31, 2015 9:04:50 AM

kiwaru wrote:
a4architect, construction gurus and Mr Singh... a question
What is the assumed transport component when we give costing per square metre e.g. Kshs 25000 - 30000 for moderate finishes, for a block of flats?

Does it make sense for someone doing a block of flats, having raised 7m, to put downpayment (say 3m) for a tipper truck (6.9m Eicher) and be the primary "customer"for this truck, with the occasional side jobs to help sort out the repayments / running costs - about 160k p.m. for a 36 month loan at 16%, while the rest of the money be utilised to start off the project

Will the developer have "saved" directly by being own "customer" to convert the cost of transport to repayments for truck?

cost of running the lorry , managing the driver etc will over run cost of hiring the same. its easier to just hire the lorry.
As Iron Sharpens Iron, So one Man Sharpens Another.
#852 Posted : Tuesday, March 31, 2015 10:21:28 AM

african coloner wrote:

i have observed this with four junction too. i don't get it

Buildings have been known to collapse for substandard steel bars in the columns. These ones have no columns.

People in construction please shed some light.
african coloner
#853 Posted : Tuesday, March 31, 2015 1:41:02 PM

What kind of technology is this? How reliable is it? [/quote]

i have observed this with four junction too. i don't get it[/quote]

Buildings have been known to collapse for substandard steel bars in the columns. These ones have no columns.

People in construction please shed some light.[/quote]

Someone tried to explain to me that there is away engineers calculate and distribute the load but still i could not get it
#854 Posted : Tuesday, March 31, 2015 1:56:47 PM

Where exactly in Athi River? I would like to pay a visit. Cost savings?
dpmungai
#855 Posted : Tuesday, March 31, 2015 2:18:49 PM

a4, what is the best underlay for laminates? where can I get it + indicative price? Looking to put in a residential house approx 160sqm
#856 Posted : Monday, May 11, 2015 12:34:23 PM

a4architect - You are urgently needed here!
a4architect.com
#857 Posted : Monday, May 11, 2015 5:38:34 PM

dpmungai wrote:
a4, what is the best underlay for laminates? where can I get it + indicative price? Looking to put in a residential house approx 160sqm

there is a company in industrial area that deals in laminates. email me ur email to info@a4architect.com then i can forward to them.
#858 Posted : Monday, May 11, 2015 7:04:44 PM

Tuseme @a4architect hii haukuona???

Isorait!
a4architect.com
#859 Posted : Tuesday, May 12, 2015 9:45:20 AM

@maichblack..niliona lakini hio thread ni kama iko locked. You can build between 3 to 6 units.
tinker
#860 Posted : Friday, May 15, 2015 10:33:57 AM

Dear learned Wazuans

Am planning to build a 4 storey residential, 1 Bedroomed flat on a 1/8 parcel somewhere in Kajiado North.
I have researched online and I have settled on the following:
1. Get approval by the local/county authority
2. Use professional to carry the tasks.

Now my questions are:
1. Kajiado county by laws - does it allow for maximum ground coverage?
2. How many nicely spaced "standard" one bedroom units can you fit per floor in an 1/8 th plot.
3. For approval do we requirement both the Architect & structural drawings ?
4. Approximate cost for Architect & structural drawings - to be paid to the architect.
5. Approximate approval fee - Paid to the local authority.
6. Contractor = charging 5% of total project cost
7. Building/structural engineer -charging x% of total project cost
8. Quantity surveyor - Do I even need him ???
9. Who are "must have " professional their % charges?
....He who began a good work in you will carry it on to completion..