wazua Tue, Jun 23, 2026

Raila to resign?
mkonomtupu
#11 Posted : Wednesday, February 17, 2010 8:03:57 AM

B.Timer, Section 15A of the constitution of kenya "There shall a prime minister of the Government of Kenya..."parliament may by an Act of Parliament and notwithstanding any other provision of this constitution provide for the appointment and termination of office of PM, DPMs and ministers and the coalition government...15A(5) the Act shall while in force be read as part of this constitution.
The National Accord Act is clear that RAO cannot be prime minister if the new constitution passes. So this whole thing is a gimmick to renegotiate the Accord.
As Fundaah says we will be in a mess if he resigns.
Fundaah
#12 Posted : Wednesday, February 17, 2010 8:11:48 AM

Let us ..Believers(muslim and christians ) ... PRAY FOR THE STABILITY OF THIS COUNTRY....we have nowhere to run to...furthermore a refugee life isnt that enjoyable...is it?

As a small time investor , I intended to sell a small part of my portfolio this week to address a pressing financial issue ..but the share prices have dipped to significant loss...IMEKUWA STRESS TU..
Isaiah 65:17-Look! I am creating new heavens and a new earth, and no one will even think about the old ones anymore
DonBen
#13 Posted : Wednesday, February 17, 2010 8:23:32 AM

Njunge wrote:
Word has it that the PM is to resign on return from Japan......What next?

That will never happen. The principals will meet and resolve the problem between them (usual give and take). There most likely resolution will be a mini cabinet reshuffle to break the current stalemate and some more heads may roll, and the country will be back on course. Ongeri and Ruto tenures in the respective ministries are no longer tenable.

If ODM continue boycott and Kibaki refuses to budge, then a constitutional crisis that may will lead to general elections will be inevitable. No one is ready for a general election, not MPs, not the principals (except perhaps the PM) and most importantly not the IIEC.

Even a supposed no-confidence vote will never see the light of day. The president would never endorse it and the speaker would never allow it. Even rift valley MPs are looking for others to introduce it in the house.

Political posturing will continue until both principals learn to work in tandem.However, in the coming weeks, the country's political destiny will be heavily influenced when (a) Ocampo opens the and publicizes the Waki Envelope, and (b) Opens investigations against the top 6 PEV individuals.
Seeders
#14 Posted : Wednesday, February 17, 2010 8:31:44 AM

DonBen wrote:
Njunge wrote:
Word has it that the PM is to resign on return from Japan......What next?

That will never happen. The principals will meet and resolve the problem between them (usual give and take).

sounds good. then we can sit tight waiting for railas next crisis. seems the end objective is forcing back a parliamentary system in the new katiba. as the days progress, the chances of raila winning a nationwide presidential election under a new constitution are dwindling. since he cannot garner the 50+1 in round 1, a runoff will bring all his opponents together.
#15 Posted : Wednesday, February 17, 2010 8:32:17 AM

Fundah
I can feel you my brother...

lakini sasa, since RAO is a well known trouble maker in the house.. what harm would it have done if the president sent the 'i was not consulted' press release but then fire and not just suspend the 2 fellas.. still shows him in charge..he can then later do a Kimunya on Ongeri thus effectively leaving ODM and RAO to their own demise..

we wouldnt be on this nonesense..

I blame his advicers...
B.Timer
#16 Posted : Wednesday, February 17, 2010 8:53:56 AM

@ Mkono

If any mess it would be out of affinity for crisis and confusion.

Otherwise even under the Accord PM isnt a reserve for a particular personality.

That is the ideal situation, but reality is the usual merchants of mess would serve us one messy menu.
Dunia ni msongamano..
gathinga
#17 Posted : Wednesday, February 17, 2010 9:20:25 AM

I dont see this RAO a power hungry maniac resigning...hata kama hakuna choo!
mkonomtupu
#18 Posted : Wednesday, February 17, 2010 9:40:37 AM

B Timer, too bad the national accord Act is tailored for RAO it even has the agreement he signed as part of the schedule.
The national accord has a sunset clause for office of the PM, i wonder who was advising RAO when he was signing the accord. So unless the new constitution reinstates the PM's position RAO is in a true fix.
Let's hope the Hague acts early enough at least by March then RAO can regain the momentum. Hate the game not the player.
#19 Posted : Wednesday, February 17, 2010 10:19:26 AM

...Gathiga...'hata kama hakuna nini? Laughing myself stupid!!

Hata kama mkeka ni nusu namna hii, the guy will never resign... Afadhali hii mkeka nusu kuliko no mkeka at all...
#20 Posted : Wednesday, February 17, 2010 10:36:24 AM

If I was raila i wldnt resign. I would stay put n continue playing populist till 2012.i wld be an activist-pm always playing victim in the eyes of the public.Come 2012, i wld blame every bad thing in gvt on kibaki n claim credit on all gud things.then i will have fooled many including wazuarians n i wld b president in 2012!