wazua Mon, Nov 18, 2024

6 Pages«<456
which hospital for delivery
#101 Posted : Tuesday, March 10, 2015 12:00:41 PM

Aga Khan Nairobi has a package of 90k for antenatal clinics & normal delivery; just heard from a friend.

Congragulations Anne,

When is the DD?

calculate 9 months after mombasa trip!!!Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly
Jump-steady
#102 Posted : Tuesday, March 10, 2015 2:04:29 PM

jerry wrote:
Seq Lu wrote:
Hello good people. Great Wazua has always been resourceful. We are expectant., anytime this May. Checking out the current delivery package at Aga Khan. Any one with this info please? Pray
=D>
Many thanks

You can deliver anywhere as long as you have a good midwifeor if its kiserian section, good doc

U forgot "!" in kiserian! When we decided to use Kiirua Mission Hos (Meru) in 2011 for kiserian! pple questioned our choice as they thought it wasn't our std. It went on very well and our daughter is in pre-unit.

Nice, many people choose the high end hospitals so as not to look out of class, but the mission hospitals are usually ok, even the government hospitals if one can afford the private section they are decent and very easy on the pocket, and if the couple has nhif one might end up paying next to nothing.

Lakini if @seq does not want to go that route, then the choices are many especially in nairobi, mpshah, aki na coptic, gurunanak, nairobi womens, avenue ... its just getting one that is nearby, you dont want to pay much and end up not making it to that hospital for delivery, the small one might decide to come early or late.

Pray Pray Pray

Same day the beyond zero campaign was going in Nairobi, a lady friend of mine died at that hospital due to what the doctors say is over bleeding.

She drove her self there having felt what she thought were labour pains but did not come out alive. She died like those village women who die while delivering on the road side for lack of health facilities.

@Seq, usijaribu kuenda Mpshah, hiyo ni bure kabisa!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
wazuaguest
#103 Posted : Tuesday, March 10, 2015 2:22:44 PM

Aga Khan prepare 200k.That is incase delivery might be done through C.S.
Africa belongs to Africans.
#104 Posted : Tuesday, March 10, 2015 3:37:33 PM

chemos wrote:
Aga Khan Nairobi has a package of 90k for antenatal clinics & normal delivery; just heard from a friend.

Congragulations Anne,

When is the DD?

calculate 9 months after mombasa trip!!!Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly

Nov 2015!
sixthestate
#105 Posted : Tuesday, March 10, 2015 6:59:57 PM

try mater south b ,wife delivered there in Feb, total cost 67k for 4 days,found it very good and up-to standards, normal delivery
#106 Posted : Saturday, March 14, 2015 1:45:51 AM

Ati 97k Nairobi hosi, lol... Exactly 6weeks ago we were there. Normal delivery. Went on Fri night, delivery on Sato at 6.15 discharge on Monday morning... Total bill 152k or there about, with private doctor who also came with a paediatric. Docs bill was kindu 50k, paediatric 20k.

It seems expensive paying these docs, in fact it seems like paying them for nothing coz most things were done by those nurses/midwives,like that Prof paed didn't not take more than 20mins there. Came when the baby was almost, received the baby, did a few checks, wrapped up the baby nicely, placed her on the mum briefly, then gave her to me and off he went...but again the story could be different in case of a complication that would require their expertise intervention. So in all we thank God and say Wacha wakule after all they spent more years in campus than we did. smile
#107 Posted : Saturday, March 14, 2015 7:23:03 AM

Ati 97k Nairobi hosi, lol... Exactly 6weeks ago we were there. Normal delivery. Went on Fri night, delivery on Sato at 6.15 discharge on Monday morning... Total bill 152k or there about, with private doctor who also came with a paediatric. Docs bill was kindu 50k, paediatric 20k.

It seems expensive paying these docs, in fact it seems like paying them for nothing coz most things were done by those nurses/midwives,like that Prof paed didn't not take more than 20mins there. Came when the baby was almost, received the baby, did a few checks, wrapped up the baby nicely, placed her on the mum briefly, then gave her to me and off he went...but again the story could be different in case of a complication that would require their expertise intervention. So in all we thank God and say Wacha wakule after all they spent more years in campus than we did. smile

Congrats wamapisha,you are chap chap,isthis with your wife ama mpango wa kando?
#108 Posted : Saturday, March 14, 2015 1:04:38 PM

The figures naona being quoted hapa are crazy, @washiku 150k - waa! hii mambo singeweza had the costs been that high back then.
#109 Posted : Saturday, March 14, 2015 1:21:39 PM

The figures naona being quoted hapa are crazy, @washiku 150k - waa! hii mambo singeweza had the costs been that high back then.

some men become permanently impotent when presented with a hospital maternity invoice
Jump-steady
#110 Posted : Saturday, March 14, 2015 2:41:51 PM

some men become permanently impotent when presented with a hospital maternity invoice

#111 Posted : Saturday, March 14, 2015 2:59:36 PM

Jamaa Nursing Home - Uhuru Estate
#112 Posted : Sunday, March 15, 2015 3:43:16 PM

Pumwani is the place. No sweat over cost but you need G4S to guard the baby.
#113 Posted : Sunday, March 15, 2015 4:20:56 PM

Gathige wrote:
Pumwani is the place. No sweat over cost but you need G4S to guard the baby.

So there is still a cost to it. Worse still you will find you have no baby after labour.
#114 Posted : Sunday, March 15, 2015 6:22:13 PM

Congrats wamapisha,you are chap chap,isthis with your wife ama mpango wa kando?

Don't bother trying to induct wamapicha into your waywardness. You will not succeed.
#115 Posted : Sunday, March 15, 2015 6:43:21 PM

Jump-steady wrote:

hi sii mambo ya kicheko, those bills ziko juu, then you go back to the private hospitals for the vaccinations and those guys rip you proper - for a service that is free elsewhere - but the gynecologists make top notch helas, especially those who manage to market themselves properly to the middle class
#116 Posted : Sunday, March 15, 2015 9:35:51 PM

I don't understand hii maneno. I thought that what makes a top hospital (or any institution for that matter) is firstly the human resource, the doctors in this case, and the facilities availed to them to perform their job. So when you opt to go to nairobi hospital, and decide to pay the huge amounts they have fixed (based on their reputation for professional medical service), you'd expect to be served by the top doctors who have given the hospital such a good name. But alas, 152k only hires you an empty room in the labour ward and gives you access to the facilities, but no professional service, no doctors at all. This is like taking your kid to Alliance, whose reputation has been built by the quality and committed teachers, and then being asked to bring your own teacher to handle your kid. Or going to a top restaurant and then being asked to bring along your chef and waiter. Or paying millions to attend Harvard and then being asked to bring along your professor to teach you. Quite absurd, and in all cases the results would be unsatisfactory.
#117 Posted : Sunday, March 15, 2015 10:50:52 PM

I don't understand hii maneno. I thought that what makes a top hospital (or any institution for that matter) is firstly the human resource, the doctors in this case, and the facilities availed to them to perform their job. So when you opt to go to nairobi hospital, and decide to pay the huge amounts they have fixed (based on their reputation for professional medical service), you'd expect to be served by the top doctors who have given the hospital such a good name. But alas, 152k only hires you an empty room in the labour ward and gives you access to the facilities, but no professional service, no doctors at all. This is like taking your kid to Alliance, whose reputation has been built by the quality and committed teachers, and then being asked to bring your own teacher to handle your kid. Or going to a top restaurant and then being asked to bring along your chef and waiter. Or paying millions to attend Harvard and then being asked to bring along your professor (from Nbi aviation college) to teach you. Quite absurd, and in all cases the results would be unsatisfactory.

50k for a doc, especially if its normal delivery is quite high, i am assuming the doc was a prof, or had some extra masomo.
but the funny thing is that, the hospital docs in most cases turn out to be cheaper - the line the docs use is if there is a complication then you will be in better hands, fear is a great marketing tool.