Multichoice has hiked its Dstv rates as follows effective 1st April 2015

Premium KES 8200
Compact Plus KES 5500
Compact KES 3250
Family KES 1890
Access KES 930

Mkenia
#182 Posted : Tuesday, March 03, 2015 4:44:50 PM

@Rankaz13 and anyone with this knowledge - kindly give me leads.

I have a valid dstv subscription (one dish, one decoder) in a village/boma setup. I want every guys in my village (around 6 houses) to be able to view DSTV under my single subscription.

What setup and specific device do i need to buy/ install? I have heard of this 'animal' called splitter/ switch but its jst that - no idea how it works. Tafadhali saidia (Oops, Multichoice have again revised their subscription rate effective sometimes during the yr)

Checked with multichoice but the option they provide requires me to invest in a extra decoder per room/ house and subsidised monthly rate.
Ali Baba
#183 Posted : Tuesday, March 03, 2015 5:00:13 PM

Mkenia wrote:

I have a valid dstv subscription (one dish, one decoder) in a village/boma setup. I want every guys in my village (around 6 houses) to be able to view DSTV under my single subscription.

What setup and specific device do i need to buy/ install? I have heard of this 'animal' called splitter/ switch but its jst that - no idea how it works. Tafadhali saidia (Oops, Multichoice have again revised their subscription rate effective sometimes during the yr)

Checked with multichoice but the option they provide requires me to invest in a extra decoder per room/ house and subsidised monthly rate.
It seems you have chosen to become a local Mheshimiwa or an MCA,laying your groundwork for December 2017???
nahdy
#184 Posted : Wednesday, March 04, 2015 9:17:46 AM

nahdy wrote:
its really fun to install FTA yourself. tried 7e y.day for 2 hrs but in vain. weekend have to tighten all the screws to see if I can boost quality to increase, I think this is where am failing at 60-65% doubt if its that gud for 7e.

@ranka.. y.day while fine tuning I came across tp 11130 H 12206. I managed upto 75% green but nothing downloaded. what could this tp have as I hv tried looking for it at lyngsat but in vain. its just at the ses 5 area but with trekking I managed to get it to 75%..
whiteowl
#185 Posted : Thursday, March 05, 2015 7:51:24 PM

Mkenia wrote:

Go to an electronics shop and ask for a tv signal splitter with the number of outputs that you want.If you want to connect to 5 tvs get a five way splitter. Fyi multichoice considers this "theft" and expect you to buy 5 decoders instead of the 5 way splitter
Caveman
#186 Posted : Thursday, March 05, 2015 7:59:07 PM

ADN-NTV, ADN-KTV, ADN-CITIZEN and ADN-QTV all available on Jolini set top box for free.‪#‎DigitalMigration‬ Call 0727805252 for yours @3200 only.
oltome
#187 Posted : Friday, March 06, 2015 2:38:03 PM

@Rankaz have you tried configuring a dstv decoder to watch FTA channels?? i would appreciate any info, curently using dsd 1131. While on it, would other decoders function with a dstv smartcard or they 'married' Regards.
whiteowl
#188 Posted : Saturday, March 07, 2015 10:54:40 AM

oltome wrote:
@Rankaz have you tried configuring a dstv decoder to watch FTA channels?? i would appreciate any info, curently using dsd 1131. While on it, would other decoders function with a dstv smartcard or they 'married' Regards.

This used to work sometimes back,around 1 or 2 yrs ago.I don't have dstv currently so I don't know if it still works. >>> Menu-advanced settings-then input 9949 as the
code Leave the home network, set network 2 and
select Dstv W7 and input 12437as frequency and
23437 as symbol rate and pole = horizontal.
Accept the settings and scan all the networks.
You will find channels by pressing TV on your
remote and selecting PUBLIC W7.
nahdy
#189 Posted : Monday, March 09, 2015 8:26:55 AM

nahdy wrote:
its really fun to install FTA yourself. tried 7e y.day for 2 hrs but in vain. weekend have to tighten all the screws to see if I can boost quality to increase, I think this is where am failing at 60-65% doubt if its that gud for 7e.

@ranka.. y.day while fine tuning I came across tp 11130 H 12206. I managed upto 75% green but nothing downloaded. what could this tp have as I hv tried looking for it at lyngsat but in vain. its just at the ses 5 area but with trekking I managed to get it to 75%..

@all
please help b4 I throw this dish in the junk yard.
am not able to nail nilesat. the best I can do is amos 5(17e), I use dishpointer.com and feel am pointing the right way. but this nilesat is pushing me to the edge. spent whole day y.day. any ideas guys!!!!
holycow
#190 Posted : Monday, March 09, 2015 8:39:25 PM

Nahdy, what is your location? Nilesat is fairly easy to nab.
#191 Posted : Monday, March 09, 2015 8:56:44 PM

holycow wrote:
Nahdy, what is your location? Nilesat is fairly easy to nab.

True, nilesat should be easy - i think the best he can try for now is to lower the dish chini kabisa on the same direction that they are nabbing 17e, nilesat should be nabbed after kidogo raising from the lowest elevation around 39degree, a sat meter would do much good in the tracking.
nahdy
#192 Posted : Tuesday, March 10, 2015 8:10:17 AM

thanks holycow+nakujua.. -4.1 / 39.6 down in msa.will try amos 17e & see how I can nab nilesat. looked for sat meter over the weekend but in vain. the thing is that if am able to get ses5e then nilesat should be easy to nab but whats preventing it.
holycow
#193 Posted : Tuesday, March 10, 2015 2:23:00 PM

nahdy wrote:
thanks holycow+nakujua.. -4.1 / 39.6 down in msa.will try amos 17e & see how I can nab nilesat. looked for sat meter over the weekend but in vain. the thing is that if am able to get ses5e then nilesat should be easy to nab but whats preventing it.

Your location explains a lot. You might need a bigger dish since you way out of the footprint.

A guy by the name of Msondaa on Jamii Forums is able to get it.
nahdy
#194 Posted : Wednesday, March 11, 2015 8:35:18 AM

holycow wrote:
nahdy wrote:

Your location explains a lot. You might need a bigger dish since you way out of the footprint.

holycow pls don't kill me at this moment.
my relatives in town the biggest dish is 130cm PF, rest are 90cm offset and they are getting like 500+ channels nile sat.
I thot the issue could be blockage bcoz suspecting something is blocking the sight so was thinking of making a mast over the weekend and cutting some male pawpaw trees. 180 cm is occupying the whole space cant think of anything bigger.
nahdy
#195 Posted : Wednesday, March 11, 2015 8:38:19 AM

holycow wrote:
nahdy wrote:

holycow pls don't kill me at this moment.
my relatives in town the biggest dish is 130cm PF, rest are 90cm offset and they are getting like 500+ channels nile sat.
I thot the issue could be blockage bcoz suspecting something is blocking the sight so was thinking of making a mast over the weekend and cutting some male pawpaw trees. 180 cm is occupying the whole space cant think of anything bigger. remembered a technician telling me a 6ft dish is enough as long there are no communication equipment nearby meaning the mobile masts.
otienosmall
#196 Posted : Wednesday, March 11, 2015 5:08:56 PM

whiteowl wrote:
oltome wrote:

This used to work sometimes back,around 1 or 2 yrs ago.I don't have dstv currently so I don't know if it still works. >>> Menu-advanced settings-then input 9949 as the
code Leave the home network, set network 2 and
select Dstv W7 and input 12437as frequency and
23437 as symbol rate and pole = horizontal.
Accept the settings and scan all the networks.
You will find channels by pressing TV on your
remote and selecting PUBLIC W7.

I tried this and it did not work. Does anyone have an idea of how to go about this. I have a feeling there must be a way to go round this and be able to watch the FTA through DSTV dish. From Google I noted in South Africa it’s possible to bypass using several codes. Alternatively, can one use the DSTV dish as a normal antenna? I have a digital tv that does not require a set box. However, normal antenna reception in my area is so bad and it is rumored that it is as a results of a nearby airport; not sure how true this can be.
#197 Posted : Thursday, March 12, 2015 9:16:06 PM

Mkenia wrote:

A signal splitter would work just fine. However, they'll all be watching what you yourself are watching.

Click here for more info.
#198 Posted : Thursday, March 12, 2015 9:21:14 PM

nahdy wrote:

@ranka.. y.day while fine tuning I came across tp 11130 H 12206. I managed upto 75% green but nothing downloaded. What could this tp have as I hv tried looking for it at lyngsat but in vain. its just at the ses 5 area but with tracking I managed to get it to 75%..

What was at 75%, signal level or signal quality? If it's the former then it's inconsequential. What you really need to get to 75% in order to watch anything is the Signal Quality. SES-5 is very easy to nab. Use the tp 12015 V 29950 (France 24, DW Tv, etc) to track.

For 7E, use 11192 H 3210 (MBC) to track. Maximize this then make an attempt at nabbing the European beam on the same satellite.

More info on appropriate dish size for your location can be got from satstar.net or satbeams.com
#199 Posted : Thursday, March 12, 2015 9:31:37 PM

oltome wrote:

You cannot use the dstv decoder for FTA, sorry. If you want FTA you'll have to purchase a proper FTA satellite receiver. And no other decoder, as yet, will take the dstv smartcard.
#200 Posted : Thursday, March 12, 2015 9:38:08 PM

nahdy wrote:

Use satstar.net or satbeams.com to guide you on the appropriate dish size for your location. If using satstar, be sure to set your location first. It'll even give you a list of 'beams' receivable at your location if you so want.

For Nilesat, being fringe reception, you'll need to invest in the absolute best quality of LNB, cable as well as an appropriate dish size. Ordinarily, you'll nab Nilesats at the position where your dish is (almost) totally vertical.

If you wish to get a good quality satellite meter, your best bet is to import. I got my SatLink 6918-P via AliExpress back in 2013.