Tragedy of Class 1 pupils in Boarding schools
Fikira wrote:Atalaku wrote: ...@Bigchick...Kwani you are transferred with your husband at the same time? At least you should have a base where your children can live without being nomads! Either you or mzee should stay with them in one permanent place....
I've always wondered why people are transferred all over the place like this. Can't each region/office/school/police station hire local people instead? It makes no sense to live away from spouses and your children, or move kids all over the place especially when they are young. How many doctors are from Kopedo? If Obiero did it, Who Am I?
I went to boarding school before I turned 9. It's not a new phenomenon. Many have gone through such before na wako sawa. Luck is when Preparation meets Opportunity. ~ Lucius Annaeus Seneca
Rank: Member Joined: 10/8/2010 Posts: 763 Location: Intersection
Rank: Elder Joined: 6/20/2008 Posts: 6,275 Location: Kenya
All those asking why anyone sends their 9 year old to boarding school are still hating their parents for doing this. And they don't have their own children yet.
There are so many reason why a parent would send a child to boarding. Everybody have their own reasons. Just have your own children and decide whether you want them to go to boarding in Primary or not. Choices have consequences. For me, yes boarding is a must from class 5. And it has worked! Talk of the TV, the time wasting on the road, getting tired, interruptions, etc
The fore issue was accident. How many children are killed everyday on the road to and fro school? How many fires happen at home killing the days-scholars? So let us not get emotional and say boarding is to blame.
Rank: Elder Joined: 6/20/2008 Posts: 6,275 Location: Kenya
I didn't go to boarding but, my kids did, and it turned out it was the right decision. Just choose a good school.
Rank: Elder Joined: 12/17/2009 Posts: 3,583 Location: Kenya
kila mwamba ngoma, ngozi huvuta kwake. Those that have the kids in boarding will claims its the best thing, better that block bread, and those that do not have them in boarding will claim its the worst thing. vile @alpha amesema, there are consequences, lakini at the end of the day ukipata watoto, then its your obligation to look after them and get the best of them in life, whether you outsource that responsibility or do it yourself.
Rank: Veteran Joined: 12/4/2009 Posts: 1,982 Location: matano manne
Swenani wrote:Fikira wrote:Atalaku wrote: ...@Bigchick...Kwani you are transferred with your husband at the same time? At least you should have a base where your children can live without being nomads! Either you or mzee should stay with them in one permanent place....
I've always wondered why people are transferred all over the place like this. Can't each region/office/school/police station hire local people instead? It makes no sense to live away from spouses and your children, or move kids all over the place especially whenI they are young. How many doctors are from Kopedo? Not enough teachers in Mandera hata UT
Rank: Veteran Joined: 11/17/2012 Posts: 1,461 Location: Ngong Forest
AlphDoti wrote:All those asking why anyone sends their 9 year old to boarding school are still hating their parents for doing this. And they don't have their own children yet.
There are so many reason why a parent would send a child to boarding. Everybody have their own reasons. Just have your own children and decide whether you want them to go to boarding in Primary or not. Choices have consequences. For me, yes boarding is a must from class 5. And it has worked! Talk of the TV, the time wasting on the road, getting tired, interruptions, etc
The fore issue was accident. How many children are killed everyday on the road to and fro school? How many fires happen at home killing the days-scholars? So let us not get emotional and say boarding is to blame. For once I totally agree with you!
Rank: Elder Joined: 12/17/2009 Posts: 3,583 Location: Kenya
Ngong wrote:AlphDoti wrote:All those asking why anyone sends their 9 year old to boarding school are still hating their parents for doing this. And they don't have their own children yet.
The fore issue was accident. How many children are killed everyday on the road to and fro school? How many fires happen at home killing the days-scholars? So let us not get emotional and say boarding is to blame. For once I totally agree with you! You agree that its hard to control kids because of tv's and time wasting on the road, and also agree its not right to get emotional when kids die while going to save their box in a fire at school. kids that age need to be with the parents if possible.
Rank: Veteran Joined: 11/17/2012 Posts: 1,461 Location: Ngong Forest
nakujua wrote:Ngong wrote:AlphDoti wrote:All those asking why anyone sends their 9 year old to boarding school are still hating their parents for doing this. And they don't have their own children yet.
The fore issue was accident. How many children are killed everyday on the road to and fro school? How many fires happen at home killing the days-scholars? So let us not get emotional and say boarding is to blame. For once I totally agree with you! You agree that its hard to control kids because of tv's and time wasting on the road, and also agree its not right to get emotional when kids die while going to save their box in a fire at school. kids that age need to be with the parents if possible. Never worry of what has not happened!
Tragedy of Class 1 pupils in Boarding schools