God given purpose
i have been going through a couple of sermons posted on the net by one of the local churches and in one of them,there's a story of how uniquely all of us a created and how God has made us for specific purposes in this world.my question is how many of us know our purpose in life and how many are living towards that purpose. hapa saa hii leo
Why was it much easier when I was younger? Innocence, quiet time, perhaps... Then I knew and I lived. Is it meant to become more difficult with time...
It seems it's possible to grow foolish with age.
Rank: Elder Joined: 10/13/2009 Posts: 1,950 Location: in kenya
some people get to know their purpose in life quite early some quite late It all depend on undersanding of our strength and weaknesses.For instance some people discover their talents when they are playing with other children I once heard a surgeon say He knew he would be surgeon when he dismembered a frog and tried to stitch it back to life. Some is just plain God's intervention where for instance you study finance and then you discover you have a passion for music/Art when you accompany a friend for an audition and you get picked,so by following your passion you discover a new purpose for your life. '......to the acknowledgment of the mystery of God, and of the Father, and of Christ; 3 In whom are hid all the treasures of wisdom and knowledge.' Colossians 2:2-3
Its so simple and so hard.Follow the commandments of God:Love God with all your heart and you neighbour as yourself.Thats everyone's calling,the rest is secondary.Crucify your flesh,die to you flesh daily and fulfil not the lusts thereof. Worldly stuff like career,houses,cars,money etc. are passing clouds. God help us all. The utimate goal of investing is to buy low sell high;if we re-write this core equation in psychology terms it becomes buy fear sell greed.
Allow me to digress abit... What do you think of the notion that humans are built on some kinds of templates?... If you study some astrology and other similar disciplines, it might shock you how much stuff about a person you can accurately tell based on their year, month and date of birth. Likely career, marriage partner, ailments, food preferences, life span etc...
Some branches of psychology also place us into general categories based on which you can figure out alot of stuff about particular types of persons...
Rank: Elder Joined: 8/1/2008 Posts: 1,432 Location: Marsabit
Well,this is something i have attempted to comprehend on a personal basis,and still have no answer. Every time i think i've figured out God's purpose in my life..i discover something totaly new about myself,or someone points out something unique about me,and am back to square one!!..Aka not fully understanding God's purpose for me. Nevermind what haters say, ignore them til they fade away - Just live your life
@genius32 i refuse to believe that worldly things"creations"can determine our lives,sorry to say this but weren't the stars made to light the night?so why would they not only light the night but give specifics about 1 billion people who live in the world.am not preaching but the bible does say that God KNEW YOU when you were still in your mothers womb. before you were born God knew you so don't you think that this guy who knows you so well has more purpose for your life than the rat race that we currently call life. i would love to believe that we are created to impact life,and do it in a major way,just how to. is what i would love to find out. hapa saa hii leo
In such issues you need the holy spirit to guide you to know your purpose in life.Remember Peter,he thought he was destined as a great fisherman.What happened when Jesus came calling?Saul,Moses and many more. Advice is like snow.The softer it lands the harder is sticks.
@Kazikwisha... I respect your opinion. My point however wasn't that stars determine our lives. I asked a question. Anyone willing to objectively study astrology - not the shallow newspaper horoscope - will find some very interesting stuff there. You could start from a book by one Linda Goodman.
I think everything in the universe is somehow inter-connected. God made it so. How do you explain phenomena like a mother getting some psychic vibe about something happening to a child miles away, creatures being able to somehow detect the coming of some natural disaster...
Try and do an objective and open minded study of belief and knowledge systems other than the one you hold onto - you don't have to be converted - say some hinduism, islam, pagan thought, new age, christian science, masonry, theosophy etc You will be amazed at how much insight there is to be gained out there. Many of these actually agree with the bible you refer to to a very large extent.. they actually shed alot of light on some of what you find in the bible and make you a better believer.
I think every persons God given purpose is exactly what he does. Your God given purpose is to eat, drink, sleep, go to work, post on wazua, gossip, get sick, drink beer, pee, get angry, laugh, take matatu, drive your car, walk on the streets, cheer or jeer Man U, watch TV, look at nice ladies butts, have sex, breath, cough, swallow, scratch etc. I will even dare say Matheri's God given purpose was to shoot those he shot and to rob those he robbed. My point is; If God was against anything it cannot happen. Judas' God given purpose was to betray Jesus. So relax and be happy and fulfill your next God given purpose to scroll down, click on the next topic to read or post that you disagree with what I have written. Whatever you do it is what God intended you to do at exactly this moment in time.
after all is said and done i will love to leave this world having knowing that i had lived a full life that i had given every second of everyday my all and that in all that i did i was right with both God and man. hapa saa hii leo
Rank: Elder Joined: 12/2/2009 Posts: 2,458 Location: Nairobi
your God given purpose is that thing that mostly gets the better of your emotions (read passion).
forget football and soaps. there are pple who get all passionate on politics, justice, art, women and childrens rights
God given purpose