wazua Mon, Nov 18, 2024

Safaricom data bundles (SK edition!!!)
Atalaku
#1 Posted : Wednesday, March 04, 2015 9:14:33 AM

C&P)
Dear Safaricom,
It has been a while since we talked....hope you are doing okay. I know you know I am well. I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for the free 30 shillings you give me everytime I make a phone call, it goes a long way to ensure that bae and I are not stopped by that annoying sound when one is out of airtime. I, however, have one question for you, what happened to me being able to buy internet bundles? Why do you want me to subscribe for the service? Who asked you for free sms? Do you want me to text you back? The reason I'm actually still awake is so that I just use the night bundles thing you give me. Where do you take the expired bundles by the way? Is it used to help purchase the pick ups and houses you generously give us? Because I would totally support you! Dear Safaricom, I want us to play a game called 'imagine.' Imagine buying your favourite whiskey and being told that if you don't drink the same within 24 hours, it would disappear or worse, turn to water....how would you feel? I can only equate your actions to that of having a chips funga whereby, you have to do all you need to do before the break of dawn when she needs to leave so you literally don't sleep. Ain't our relationship deeper than that? Imagine if hotels dictated how long we had to eat the food they served us before they took it away or ATMs dictated how fast you should spend the cash dispensed (this I can hack though). Wouldn't life be sad and hard and depressing and annoying? Yes? That is how I'm currently feeling after you decided to shove the subscription thing down our throats.

Dear safaricom, unlike the rest, I'm not going to threaten that I will move to other networks....noooo! I have put so much time, emotions and work in this relationship to quit but I would like you to imagine and hopefully allow me to purchase internet bundles just like I used to.

Ps. I would like a list of all the single men who won the beautiful houses.....I own a cleaning service company and I'm sure they will find me handy.

Sincerely,
#2 Posted : Wednesday, March 04, 2015 10:22:50 AM

Atalaku wrote:
C&P)
Dear Safaricom,
It has been a while since we talked....hope you are doing okay. I know you know I am well. I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for the free 30 shillings you give me everytime I make a phone call, it goes a long way to ensure that bae and I are not stopped by that annoying sound when one is out of airtime. I, however, have one question for you, what happened to me being able to buy internet bundles? Why do you want me to subscribe for the service? Who asked you for free sms? Do you want me to text you back? The reason I'm actually still awake is so that I just use the night bundles thing you give me. Where do you take the expired bundles by the way? Is it used to help purchase the pick ups and houses you generously give us? Because I would totally support you! Dear Safaricom, I want us to play a game called 'imagine.' Imagine buying your favourite whiskey and being told that if you don't drink the same within 24 hours, it would disappear or worse, turn to water....how would you feel? I can only equate your actions to that of having a chips funga whereby, you have to do all you need to do before the break of dawn when she needs to leave so you literally don't sleep. Ain't our relationship deeper than that? Imagine if hotels dictated how long we had to eat the food they served us before they took it away or ATMs dictated how fast you should spend the cash dispensed (this I can hack though). Wouldn't life be sad and hard and depressing and annoying? Yes? That is how I'm currently feeling after you decided to shove the subscription thing down our throats.

Dear safaricom, unlike the rest, I'm not going to threaten that I will move to other networks....noooo! I have put so much time, emotions and work in this relationship to quit but I would like you to imagine and hopefully allow me to purchase internet bundles just like I used to.

Ps. I would like a list of all the single men who won the beautiful houses.....I own a cleaning service company and I'm sure they will find me handy.

Sincerely,

Dear Magigi,

Kindly note that safaricom is not for poor people;This company is for people who live in Runda just like you(wazua).If you feel our services are out of reach or unfair to you, we advise you to move to orange or airtell where they offer free internet bundles.

We are in fact disappointed that our customer doesn't have a fibre optic connection in his house;Please desist from associating your name with our great company or visit any of our sales department and we will get your house and business connected on our fibre optic network.

If you look at our financials for 2013,you will note that we made our money from ripping our customers on data and mpesa services, our revenues from voice and sms have been decreasing at an increasing rate thus why we are offering free sms and voice calls since they aren't profitable.

We hope that you will keep on enjoying our ripping services as we plan to move to hourly data bundles which expire within the hour.

Regards,
Pope Cally more
#3 Posted : Wednesday, March 04, 2015 10:27:51 AM

Imagine buying your favourite whiskey and being told that if you don't drink the same within 24 hours, it would disappear or worse, turn to water....how would you feel? I can only equate your actions to that of having a chips funga whereby, you have to do all you need to do before the break of dawn when she needs to leave so you literally don't sleep. Ain't our relationship deeper than that? Imagine if hotels dictated how long we had to eat the food they served us before they took it away or ATMs dictated how fast you should spend the cash dispensed (this I can hack though).
streetwise
#4 Posted : Wednesday, March 04, 2015 11:01:14 AM

You give the customer free that he does not need eg free bundles from 10pm to 6 am. If the guys earns his money by working or running a business he needs to be asleep. If he earns his money at night he is busy working or stealing both don't allow you a lot of time to be on the net
#5 Posted : Wednesday, March 04, 2015 11:14:04 AM

I used to think like @atalaku until i did my maths.

1. Safaricom give you bonus of sh1 for every sh10 you spend. Other bonuses e.g. Supermarket give you sh1 for sh100 spent. Safaricom is better 10 times here. I tried to redeem my Tuskys popints and they kept telling system is down until I misplaced the card. Nowadays I shop more at Uchumi Liar

2. Safaricom give you bonus bundles for free when you buy bundles. In my modem line, I see lots of night bonus, which I can utilize at night. Why would someone get upset for being given free bundles? Just ignore if you don't need. Someone somewhere needs such a gesture smile

3. Everything has expiry date. I dare you buy medicine from the chemist. You can even buy a lot of bottles in anticipation of price increase in 2016. You can buy bread too. Come back and report to us Laughing out loudly
#6 Posted : Wednesday, March 04, 2015 11:25:28 AM

Hii ni hujuma!!!! Why force people to subscribe. I want to buy bundles if and when I want!!! Sio Monthly/Weekly/Daily plans where the bundles expire!!!

Capping sambaza at 20 MB per day is plain ridiculous. I used to buy 1.5GB and distribute to my two or three gadgets. Now I am expected to subscribe each of them to some plan. And if for some reason I am not using one and expiry time is nearing I cannot sambaza to the gadget I use mostly - Or rather I should sambaza 10 MB at go a maximum of twice a day? What if I want to sambaza all the bundles to my nephew who has the capacity to exhauste them before they expire???

Nonsense!!!
chiaroscuro
#7 Posted : Wednesday, March 04, 2015 11:33:32 AM

streetwise wrote:
You give the customer free that he does not need eg free bundles from 10pm to 6 am. If the guys earns his money by working or running a business he needs to be asleep. If he earns his money at night he is busy working or stealing both don't allow you a lot of time to be on the net

Reminds me of the great KPLC rationing of the late 1990s. They'd cut my power at 6am and reconnect it at 11pm!

I wrote them an angry letter asking them to keep their power until the day they can supply it continuously!

Some one at SCOM doesn't get it! If you're going to give your customer something, give it no strings attached! Otherwise don't.

Giving with strings attached just gives you a bad name in return.
chiaroscuro
#8 Posted : Wednesday, March 04, 2015 11:35:07 AM

...and another thing; bad service always begins when a business starts protecting itself from theft by customer!
#9 Posted : Wednesday, March 04, 2015 11:38:52 AM

streetwise wrote:

what if he works with internet?

Been doing some online exams using night shift
#10 Posted : Wednesday, March 04, 2015 11:39:26 AM

chiaroscuro wrote:
streetwise wrote:

Reminds me of the great KPLC rationing of the late 1990s. They'd cut my power at 6am and reconnect it at 11pm!

I wrote them an angry letter asking them to keep their power until the day they can supply it continuously!

Some one at SCOM doesn't get it! If you're going to give your customer something, give it no strings attached! Otherwise don't.

Giving with strings attached just gives you a bad name in return.

pia watu hujaribu!!! Did you ever get a response?
#11 Posted : Wednesday, March 04, 2015 11:40:46 AM

Hii ni hujuma!!!! Why force people to subscribe. I want to buy bundles if and when I want!!! Sio Monthly/Weekly/Daily plans where the bundles expire!!!

Capping sambaza at 20 MB per day is plain ridiculous. I used to buy 1.5GB and distribute to my two or three gadgets. Now I am expected to subscribe each of them to some plan. And if for some reason I am not using one and expiry time is nearing I cannot sambaza to the gadget I use mostly - Or rather I should sambaza 10 MB at go a maximum of twice a day? What if I want to sambaza all the bundles to my nephew who has the capacity to exhauste them before they expire???

Nonsense!!!

I've rusted a bit in technology and can't think so much nowadays. But is this in bid to curb the recent bundles resale?
#12 Posted : Wednesday, March 04, 2015 11:42:02 AM

I used to think like @atalaku until i did my maths.

1. Safaricom give you bonus of sh1 for every sh10 you spend. Other bonuses e.g. Supermarket give you sh1 for sh100 spent. Safaricom is better 10 times here. I tried to redeem my Tuskys popints and they kept telling system is down until I misplaced the card. Nowadays I shop more at Uchumi Liar

2. Safaricom give you bonus bundles for free when you buy bundles. In my modem line, I see lots of night bonus, which I can utilize at night. Why would someone get upset for being given free bundles? Just ignore if you don't need. Someone somewhere needs such a gesture smile

3. Everything has expiry date. I dare you buy medicine from the chemist. You can even buy a lot of bottles in anticipation of price increase in 2016. You can buy bread too. Come back and report to us Laughing out loudly

Applause Applause
#13 Posted : Wednesday, March 04, 2015 11:55:20 AM

Nonsense!!!

Exactly.

Kwanza trying to send 10mb and getting a reply that you have insufficient data bundles when you have over 1gb pisses me off big time.

We buy data with in-house data lines and sambaza to phones to Google on the move. Now have to carry data phone around because I can't sambaza.

let them scrap off the crappy sambaza service if its impossible to transfer at least 100mb.

Making the 19million customers suffer because of a 100 data vendors is nonsense. and were those vendors manufacturing their data, bet they were driving higher data sales by Safaricom.
#14 Posted : Wednesday, March 04, 2015 12:02:23 PM

They call him Bob Con me more.
#15 Posted : Wednesday, March 04, 2015 12:04:28 PM

kenmac wrote:

Nonsense!!!

Exactly.

Kwanza trying to send 10mb and getting a reply that you have insufficient data bundles when you have over 1gb pisses me off big time.

We buy data with in-house data lines and sambaza to phones to Google on the move. Now have to carry data phone around because I can't sambaza.

let them scrap off the crappy sambaza service if its impossible to transfer at least 100mb.

Making the 19million customers suffer because of a 100 data vendors is nonsense. and were those vendors manufacturing their data, bet they were driving higher data sales by Safaricom.

@kenmac, I think you might be lying there! You cannot sambaza bundles? I can sambaza between my handset and modem lines easily! You think this would happen and you don't see hell breaking loose from all subscribers?

NB: Not being able to sambaza below a certain low limit might be there. I had this issue when I was using prepay line and I was told your active data sessions holds some bytes. They called it resevation by active sessions e.g. wazua page, news page, google page, WhatsApp sessions, twitter, download sessions etc... And when I checked my smartphone, I realized I had many sessions open at the time.
#16 Posted : Wednesday, March 04, 2015 12:12:56 PM

kenmac wrote:

Nonsense!!!

Exactly.

@kenmac, I think you might be lying there! You cannot sambaza bundles? I can sambaza between my handset and modem lines easily! You think this would happen and you don't see hell breaking loose from all subscribers?

NB: Not being able to sambaza below a certain low limit might be there. I had this issue when I was using prepay line and I was told your active data sessions holds some bytes. They called it resevation by active sessions e.g. google page, WhatsApp sessions, download sessions etc... And when I checked my smartphone, I realized I had many sessions open at the time.

@Alph, no lies.

I still went ahead to okoa bundles, some 36mbs for 50/= using the same line to see if it would samabaza and didn't work.

my line is on postpay 1000

Try to sambaza the monthly bundle and tell us how it goes. If yours works, I will
#17 Posted : Wednesday, March 04, 2015 12:13:24 PM

@AlphDoti, please update yourself with the new Safcom rules and regulations on data bundles which strated on Monday this week before you go yapping!!!!!!!!!!
#18 Posted : Wednesday, March 04, 2015 12:16:04 PM

@AlphDoti, please update yourself with the new Safcom rules and regulations on data bundles which strated on Monday this week before you go yapping!!!!!!!!!!

@Othelo ok I agree I'm not up to date. Sorry. But I'm not impacted yet. All my lines work well.

@kenmac, I've postpay bundle 1000. tell me the scenario I should try. How much should I sambaza?
chiaroscuro
#19 Posted : Wednesday, March 04, 2015 12:16:50 PM

kenmac wrote:

Nonsense!!!

Exactly.

NB: Not being able to sambaza below a certain low limit might be there. I had this issue when I was using prepay line and I was told your active data sessions holds some bytes. They called it resevation by active sessions e.g. wazua page, news page, google page, WhatsApp sessions, twitter, download sessions etc... And when I checked my smartphone, I realized I had many sessions open at the time.

LYING? he might be mistaken, but certainly not lying!
#20 Posted : Wednesday, March 04, 2015 12:39:14 PM

Nonsense!!!

I've rusted a bit in technology and can't think so much nowadays. But is this in bid to curb the recent bundles resale?

Why are they even worried about bundles resale? The resellers buy those bundles from them (cheaper per MB because they buy in bulk). The resellers also do extensive free marketing for them. You have to market to get oeople to resell to.

The people who buy from the resellers have other options. It does not mean they will now troop back to Safaricom mainstream! And in any case, the resellers had caused an Increase in data usage. Teens and college/University level students could use up to 100 MBS a day because the could easily get 500 MB for under 300/=. Now they will either be more careful with their data bundles, switch to other providers or structure their surfing around wifi and night shift. In short, Safaricom will not get the extra income they are after by selling smaller more expensive bundles and will also lose the bulk cheaper bundle customers (resellers). They might also lose people like you and me who were not in the reselling mix because of their new messed up T & C on data plans!!!