wazua Mon, Nov 18, 2024

Hydroponic fodder farming
#1 Posted : Thursday, June 20, 2013 4:45:09 AM

I had read about before on an Aussie website but the figures didn't make sense then until i saw this article yesterday.

http://www.nation.co.ke/...8/-/3m2hop/-/index.html

The Aussie site

http://www.foddersolutions.org/

Anyone with experience?
The optimist
#2 Posted : Thursday, June 20, 2013 8:05:40 AM

I had read about before on an Aussie website but the figures didn't make sense then until i saw this article yesterday.

The Aussie site

Anyone with experience?

This is interesting. Am also curious to know more about it.
tonicasert
#3 Posted : Thursday, June 20, 2013 10:43:05 AM

The Aussie site

Anyone with experience?

Saw some guys doing it on Farming Kenya (facebook) for barley
#4 Posted : Thursday, June 20, 2013 10:59:28 AM

tonicasert wrote:

The Aussie site

Anyone with experience?

best page on facebook
Prime
#5 Posted : Thursday, June 20, 2013 11:05:28 AM

tonicasert wrote:

The Aussie site

Anyone with experience?

best page on facebook

On matters farming... without any doubt
#6 Posted : Thursday, June 20, 2013 11:46:28 AM

Kumbe watu wengi wako Farming Kenya.
tonicasert
#7 Posted : Thursday, June 20, 2013 2:07:54 PM

Prime wrote:
tonicasert wrote:

The Aussie site

Anyone with experience?

best page on facebook

On matters farming... without any doubt

Actually the only reason I reactivated my FB
jerry
#8 Posted : Thursday, June 20, 2013 4:17:11 PM

Kumbe watu wengi wako Farming Kenya.

It's an agric country.
The opposite of courage is not cowardice, it's conformity.
accelriskconsult
#9 Posted : Thursday, June 20, 2013 4:45:42 PM

Farming Kenya, great things going on in there. based on the excitement with which younger people have taken up farming, Kenya could become food sufficient in a few years
#10 Posted : Thursday, June 20, 2013 8:39:38 PM

accelriskconsult wrote:
Farming Kenya, great things going on in there. based on the excitement with which younger people have taken up farming, Kenya could become food sufficient in a few years

AmenPray

The installation DVDs are on the net, its amazing what can be done agri-wise.

KenSaf
#11 Posted : Monday, June 24, 2013 3:47:27 PM

Interesting read
Doors of opportunity don't just open , they have to be unlocked & it's up to you to turn the knob.
#12 Posted : Tuesday, July 30, 2013 7:46:50 PM

now on GBS TV
#13 Posted : Tuesday, July 30, 2013 7:59:39 PM

now on GBS TV

Now we know how it works who can set it up?
#14 Posted : Tuesday, July 30, 2013 8:05:55 PM

now on GBS TV

Now we know how it works who can set it up?

the fellows being interviewd for that show. Global Fodder something. Problem is, you have to buy the system to be trained on its use. Na inatumia stima
formerfarmerno1
#15 Posted : Wednesday, July 31, 2013 3:02:45 PM

I tried it about 5 months ago for 1 month. The aim was to replace dairy meal. milk production however went down. considering cost of barley seeds plus transport and labour it was not viable for me. fungus was also a menace.
For watering make sure you get those automatic water regulators otherwise your farm guys will 'forget' to water the plants.(watering every 2 hours inachosha).
Planning to do this again under different conditions and how it goes.
Chaka
#16 Posted : Wednesday, July 31, 2013 3:11:38 PM

@formerfarmerno1,
What is the minimum packaging that the barley comes in?My understanding about this fodder is that it supplements the other feeds rather than replacing them.Someone correct me if I am wrong..
formerfarmerno1
#17 Posted : Wednesday, July 31, 2013 3:50:02 PM

@chaka. Should have mentioned it was partial replacement. The sites or people training farmers will tell you that about 3kgs of sprouted barley will replace 1 kg of dairy meal (and they will give mineral composition of the barley to back up their argument) ....so was working from that 'fact'.
I was getting barley @45 per kg (packaged in 80kg bag). I could not get alternative sources.
I did try wheat which was ok.
tinker
#18 Posted : Friday, January 30, 2015 4:19:18 PM

formerfarmerno1 wrote:
@chaka. Should have mentioned it was partial replacement. The sites or people training farmers will tell you that about 3kgs of sprouted barley will replace 1 kg of dairy meal (and they will give mineral composition of the barley to back up their argument) ....so was working from that 'fact'.
I was getting barley @45 per kg (packaged in 80kg bag). I could not get alternative sources.
I did try wheat which was ok.

@formerfarmerno1 and all
Am planning to install the Hydroponic system and therefore am looking for any leads on the best Hydroponic system. whats works and what don't especially from a farmer point of view and not from the vendor, any advise is very welcome before I commit. Unfortunately I have tried to contact two vendors without much success. and would highly appreciate a vendor who is willing to lead me to few of his previous customer
....He who began a good work in you will carry it on to completion..
msahle
#19 Posted : Friday, January 30, 2015 11:01:18 PM

Four years ago i established an automatic hydroponics system (that time even my folks wondered what i had been consuming back in the city) and below are my findings;
a) Materials one can use are maize,barley, wheat and sorghum(This one caused serious bloat and i lost a few goats)
b)Milk production levels actually fell even after increase in rations!
c)Aflatoxin/Mould is a real livestock killer..This stuff is real tricky to control unless using trays that have grooves. Soaking the seeds in a 0.05% Chlorine solution seemed to help. The downside to this is that the farm-hand would decide the dosing erratically causing more issues
d) While the concept looks glossy from the marketers point of view, my pilot proved otherwise. It is not economically feasible on most farms considering the availability of alternative feeds. Also a proper set-up with the micro sprinklers, timing system, humidity and temperature control and the right plastic trays will set you back a cool 1 million (i can share the BOM) compare this to leasing 10 acres of land at 10k per year, growing maize and making silage that will last you atleast 3 years with 20 cows.However in dry regions do go for it.
e)Never ever and i mean NEVER let smokers near your hydroponics unit, utalia mwenyewe.
f) Erratic power supply messes up the unit
g)If you are a tele-farmer wachana na hii maneno
h)Get proper trays if you want to avoid issues
i) Do proper research, i gained alot from South American sites (Brazil, Argentina) Google translate will come in handy but those fellows use this technology well, Indian sites were also quite valuable.
j) Obtain good quality clean grains and you will have saved yourself alot of headache
k) Kama una swali uliza na pia i can assist you design systems from 50kg upto 2.5 tonnes of fodder daily (Provided a few browns come my way)
wangu.n
#20 Posted : Sunday, March 01, 2015 1:50:54 AM

@ Mshale.. how do I reach you. I am interested in this system and I would be keen not to repeat your mistakes.