wazua Sun, Dec 7, 2025

The Nairobimenace escapade.
blizz10
#1 Posted : Monday, February 15, 2010 9:39:11 AM

Lend me your ears people, the Nairobi west and southlands have become a menace area. On Saturday night I am from town at around 12 mid-night to my residential apartment in langata (just opposite uhuru garden) then the worst happened. I just parked my car got in the house just after I locked the door there was some commotion outside then i heard a woman scream for a moment I thought it was some domestic issues but the scream persisted, so I decided to peep through the window to my shock I saw three young men holding a gun and dragging the woman and shouting “shukua dai na tumuweke ndani ya gari”.

What happened is these thug had given the woman a chase with their car so the woman called the watchman to open the gate, when the gate was open she entered the apartment at top speed but the thugs were too courageous and followed her right back.

The woman was mugged as everybody watched from the windows and nobody dared come out after seeing the guns.I only imagined if I had delayed for few minutes I would have met the thug inside the apartment and then shot at me thinking i was a cop.

Unfortunately between Friday and Saturday two of my friend have been carjacked in hurlingam and another along arwing kodhek road.Beware everybody ,if you get chased by thugs don’t go to your home speed your car to the nearest police station and don’t go running to those at the road block they might not help you that much.

Stay safe.
#2 Posted : Monday, February 15, 2010 9:49:23 AM

...quite scary!!
#3 Posted : Monday, February 15, 2010 10:04:51 AM

@blizz10, I moved from the area just last weekend. Similar incidences have happened thrice in the 2 years I used to live there, exactly the same place, I even have an idea which apartments you're talking about.

Anyway, personally I believe one can be jacked any time any place, guys just have to be a bit more alert when driving nowadays, and I think it never hurts to pray for God's protection.
blizz10
#4 Posted : Monday, February 15, 2010 11:29:36 AM

@smano...it's an apartment painted orange,the scene was horrible and the feel of insecurity there is worrying.You pay alot to stay in an area where your life is at stake.
#5 Posted : Monday, February 15, 2010 11:42:53 AM

Why cant I post anything here? f***! This is my 6th attempt! Ok now tell us what transpired after. Is she alive? Raped? Story nusunusu wacha.
blizz10
#6 Posted : Monday, February 15, 2010 12:10:29 PM

she refused to get in the car, luckily they never shot her,so she's safe and sound.

But police need to get serious of these issues,i believe the same gang is the one responsible for the death of that pilot around bunyala round about,and they continue to distributed terror along langata and it's environ.
ispoa
#7 Posted : Tuesday, February 16, 2010 6:52:17 AM

Buddy of mine tells me that the gangs are now targeting guys from big corporates like safcom, BAT etc... Things r getting so bad that the companies are hiring escorts for their employees on call, because they study our peculiar kenyan habits and set up waiting for you.

Apparently word on the street has it that this mafia is run by exService men who were let go in Gen Ali's tym.

Just be careful while driving esp at night and be do use your rearviw mirror. if not sure about a car thats been on your tail circle around a round abt and if they r still following then you know u got to drive faster than Ian Duncan to a cop station hooting and with harzards on etc...

Most importantly PRAY

livie
#8 Posted : Tuesday, February 16, 2010 4:31:33 PM

picked up a tail myself a couple of years ago on msa road.....tailed right to my place,luckily i had noticed them long before i got to state hse avenue where i lived at the time.

my house was situated at a crescent so i passed my digs and went straight back to the main road then on to central police, they left me at the university way roundabout.....

moral: use your side mirrors, rear view mirrors,and most importantly dont panic,dont give yourself away..stay cool....at night there are no coincidences-if you notice the same set of headlights behind for sometime-you are being tailed!!!drive as normally as possible to the nearest police station!!!
If you are going to be thinking only one thing, you might as well be thinking big. -Donald J . Trump
nmt
#9 Posted : Wednesday, February 17, 2010 6:10:05 AM

Its sad. I can imagine how traumatized this poor woman is.
I feel though that we should avoid driving at night as much as we can. I know the area your talking about. its worse for pedestrians who just get dragged into kibera. I live in park lands and trust me , people have stopped driving at night. by 10 o'clock the streets are clear.
just keep off the darkness.
strange things happen at night.
#10 Posted : Wednesday, February 17, 2010 7:04:12 AM

How does one lead thugs to her own home? That lady should get a mental checkup....or maybe mimi ndio roho ngumu, cant comprehend her stupid action....Drive to any police/military camp n that is it!
kazikwisha
#11 Posted : Wednesday, February 17, 2010 7:51:34 AM

on the same note there's an email going round about a gang that drives around at night with there lights off and if you flash them to put them on they follow you and apparently kill you and the occupants of your car,it's supposed to be some initiation of sorts but ain't our roads just becoming the deadliest places to be on at night?
hapa saa hii leo
#12 Posted : Wednesday, February 17, 2010 3:16:13 PM

@kazikwisha, that email is a hoax started a while back in Europe.
theslim
#13 Posted : Thursday, February 18, 2010 9:33:24 AM

http://www.snopes.com/crime/gangs/lightsout.asp
the early worm is eaten by the early bird