wazua Wed, Nov 27, 2024

zero interest rate.
tonicasert
#21 Posted : Wednesday, December 30, 2009 4:46:46 AM

With the recent performance of bonds issued (oversubscription), the govt has gotten comfortable, and knows there's money out there that it can tap. In an ideal situation, they should spend it on the public - infrastructure, hence it goes back to the mwananchi. But at the moment, its ending up in recurrent expenditure (as kizee says), and some disappearing into corrupt pockets (education case). Its a sad story of poor mobilisation of available funds. Maybe more corporates should issue more bonds to tap the money, as they operate efficiently in allocating resources.
Scubidu
#22 Posted : Tuesday, January 05, 2010 10:24:33 AM

Happy 2010 to all. I forgot about this post.

@kizee. If you ever need a holiday dawg, Addis Ethiopia is your place (it rocks).
Nway I'm not familiar with the fx auction (post 17). Could you tell me how that works? Why do you think repo rates will be higher in 2010?

@imanyara. Continue posting. We can learn from each other. The fallacy of modern times is that money in the bank is the only item (thing) in the world that is 100% owned by two people, a 100% of the time. Do you agree with that? Brain-teaser!

@QD. Excellent points. Where do you think these unserviced loans will come from? Private or corporate or both? Any particular sector?

“We are the middle children of history man, no purpose or place. We have no great war, no great depression. Our great war is a spiritual war, our great depression is our lives!" – Tyler Durden
Scubidu
#23 Posted : Tuesday, January 05, 2010 10:26:17 AM

@tonicasert. Indeed govt knows there is money out there to tap into and the reason for this is because they are manipulating the supply of money through the CBK. They do this by adding money in when they need it (see karanjakinuthia post 44 on ponzi schemes).

I'm not sure how much of the budget goes into recurrent expenditure (maybe 80%), but I would be interested in how much goes into debt service (i.e., Central Government Debt Paying Charges - paying off previous loans both foreign and domestic). Is that percentage going up? Last time I checked it was about 20% of Kenya's total budget expenditure.

Why does the govt have to borrow anything? Is there a reason why there is always deficit spending - Revenues<Expenditure. On a personal level we spend as much as we earn or roll over our credit card? Is the govt rolling over its credit card?
“We are the middle children of history man, no purpose or place. We have no great war, no great depression. Our great war is a spiritual war, our great depression is our lives!" – Tyler Durden
kizee
#24 Posted : Tuesday, January 05, 2010 10:30:54 AM

fx auction- they place a post on reuters sayin they wanna buy x number of usd thus sellin kes..post is at 11.00 auction closes at 12.00 so u hav an hour to pay market and push up market rate...so addis rocks? for real?
tonicasert
#25 Posted : Tuesday, January 05, 2010 11:51:38 AM

@Scubidu - The govt economists may try to explain the reason for overspending their revenues is probably to achieve some GDP targets. However, over the last few years, tax revenues have increased with the new taxman, but the deficits are still recurrent. Unlimited govt credit card limits??

@kizee - so CBK stopped purchasing from a few select. Interesting. I hear addis has nice college gals:)) Jaribu mzee
Scubidu
#26 Posted : Tuesday, January 05, 2010 12:41:02 PM

@kizee. I wish I had access to this reuters system, it would be interesting to see. Well I don't know if they are doing it right or not, but I wonder if there are any of those 'technical analysts' in Kenyan bank forex departments? Is there a tendering system used for banks borrowings through the discount window?

@tonicasert. Definately an unlimited govt credit card limit (cbk should force them to do KYC to see if they're worthy of that credit). So they're overspending for the sake of growth and this then becomes a case where the individual Kenyans loose out on three fronts. The govt sits on productive savings (held at cbk) from individual Kenyans, Kenyans pay more in future taxes to pay loans from banks and if the govt does spend the money unproductively Kenyans all loose out to inflation.

Crazy clubs in Addis and the mamas are too hot (all of them). If you looking for leather (jackets), it's the place to be. And the economy has a lot of potential if the govt reforms (foreign exchange controls exist).
kizee
#27 Posted : Wednesday, January 06, 2010 9:30:44 AM

by discount window u mean reverse repo? rates are market driven...chartin repo rates sounds like a gud idea...just not sure theres sufficient data to form a trend

@tony
yes they did...only issue is the distortion ocassioned by this method is quite unwanted...the method has the effect of creatin a suspended market for as long as the option continues
Scubidu
#28 Posted : Sunday, February 07, 2010 3:40:10 PM

It's another interesting week for public auctions. First a recap of last week's Bond auction where the yield on the re-opened short/medium term papers. Average redemption yield (ARY) on 2 year went down 206bp to 9.59% while 5 year went down 151bp to 8.13%. The latest weekly bulletin shows a Ksh10 b injection on Feb 1 enabling this to happen and highly distorting the yield curve on the short end (anyone comparing YTM spreads for 5 year paper in the past week can confirm that from published weekly NSE yield curves).

I'm not so sure how to do it but someone should post a pic on wazua with NSE yield curve for the past 2 weeks to confirm any changes.

Over the past few auctions 91, 182 & 364 day T-bills have declined by 27bp, 20bp & 62bp...the 364 paper had no redemptions (as predicted earlier) and curious that both 182 and 364 last week had 100% successful bidders (haven't seen that in sometime)...Inflation is low and demand for govt paper is high, so just what's the agenda from Prof Ndungu? Making govt paper unattractive for banks? Making bond traders happier? No 10% price cap on bonds (like equities)...one could exploit unsuspecting customers.

Curious that bond turnover at NSE was its highest in January competing comfortably with the equity market rally. The highest turnover was in the last week of January...does it correlate with the above auctions? Bond turnover of January 2010 alone (55bn) accounted for almost 25% of 2009 turnover (if 09 was an excellent year for bonds guys...talk about surpassing targets this year).

Here's a contrarian investor with his own way of making market, shorting bonds. Read
more:

http://moneynews.com/Str...ies/2010/02/04/id/348993
kizee
#29 Posted : Sunday, February 07, 2010 6:00:15 PM

theres a bull run for kenyan FI...why? well wen KEBS announced the new inflation rate...at 5 percent then offshore dudes realized that kenyan yields are very attractive...at the previous rate of 17pct its obvious that an investor cudnt really get a decent return in kenya...even for a 20 year paper...i think u will def see greater upside theres still soo much improvement left vis a vis how our mkt trades
Scubidu
#30 Posted : Monday, February 08, 2010 5:55:24 AM

Kizee. You have a good point. Highly traded papers have been 5, 10, but have noticed that even the 20 is trading well. Who buys the 20 year paper? Fund managers? Does the NSE record bond turnover attributed to offshore investors?
kizee
#31 Posted : Monday, February 08, 2010 7:51:57 AM

wud be hard to record offshore volumes...many of these use custodial accounts
Scubidu
#32 Posted : Monday, February 08, 2010 1:43:14 PM

So kizee. Which is more profitable, being an equities or bonds trader in 2010? I friend of mine just gave me the market shares for both equities and bonds traders at the NSE for 2009 and 2010. I'm trying to quantifying the question above. Which trader would you opt to be?
kizee
#33 Posted : Monday, February 08, 2010 2:11:29 PM

maybe fixed income...only problem is brokers wont giv u time of day if u trade small lots
Scubidu
#34 Posted : Tuesday, February 09, 2010 5:07:01 AM

Yeah ur right, ive been told the bonds brokers with big clients won't even bother with anything below 100m. I'm thinking of a career in bond broking...they made about 887m between then vs 745m shared amongst the equity brokers. I broker friend gave me a conservative estimate for Jan 2010...bond brokers making 221m vs 51m for equities. Remember that idea of leverage, I wouldn't be surprised if bond brokers go scouting for huge loans.
kizee
#35 Posted : Tuesday, February 09, 2010 9:01:40 AM

well...very soon market will go OTC so i wundt just get into bond broking if i were u
Scubidu
#36 Posted : Monday, February 15, 2010 6:22:48 AM

@kizee. Trust valz was good to you...I spent bucket loads of cash but it was all worth it. You have to tell me more about this OTC bond market thing. Is there a law being drafted? And what about regulation?
Scubidu
#37 Posted : Monday, February 15, 2010 8:10:15 AM

It is becoming increasingly difficult to maintain the expansionary policy but CBK is up to the task as reflected in this week’s summary of open market operations. CBK pumped in a massive Ksh17 bn in cash on one day… this is reserve money that CBK conjures up when it writes a check on itself of which banks can leverage on (see the latest cbk weekly bulletin).

However, the injection came in on Feb 8th during the 91-day&364-day T-bill auction (see post 28 above)…we had noted the surprising outcome that was the 100% allocation to bidders…but maybe not so unusual now given bidders only put up Ksh15.7 bn, so CBK had provided banks with excess capacity while there was actually a net repayment (so the injection must have been for the bidders benefit).

And who were the bidders? Probably banks because who else wud buy T-bills when their returns are declining and why else wud an injection be required. CBK continues to print money & maintain lower rates…last week Thursday, the interbank rate hit 1.98% again and reverse repo rate is at a 9 month low at 2.91%.

It’s time to start looking at the financials my friends…thinking like those contrarian investors, like Nassim Taleb, who are finding ways to profit from the money being pumped into the system…I’m looking at the ones that stand to gain the most from this scenario of wide net interest margins and lower loan loss provisions…in terms of cost leadership, retail banks:- Barclays Bank, KCB and Equity Bank come to mind.

More from Taleb and Fabor

http://www.zerohedge.com...will-default-their-debt
http://moneynews.com/Str...ett/2010/02/11/id/349637
kizee
#38 Posted : Monday, February 15, 2010 12:18:41 PM

yes theres some work goin on around changin some laws
Scubidu
#39 Posted : Friday, February 19, 2010 9:29:12 AM

US Fed raises key interest rate and people speculate whether this is the end of easy money. Time for re-evaluation of the monetary policy? US seems to have faith in their growth prospects and bank anticipate a tightening.

Read more below:

http://www.federalreserv.../monetary/20100218a.htm
http://www.nytimes.com/2.../business/19fed.html?hp
http://globaleconomicana...t-rate-dollar-soars.html
Scubidu
#40 Posted : Monday, February 22, 2010 2:47:16 PM

The Fed policy decision to raise interest rates is raising red flags for guys like Michael Pollaro cos he thinks this aint such a good idea, why? the interest on US government debt (a scenario we can see already playing out in Kenya). Pollaro reckons that if the interest rates simply return to the long term average rate (a good long term mean proxy as it spans one full bear and one full bull market) then the US is looking at substantially higher interest costs.

Pollaro touches on the fact that many people have had dooms day scenarios about the interest on government debt, but fail to take into account the growth in government receipts...well how easy is it to growth the private economy in the US (or Kenya) by raising taxes? Just how well can the US continue to service its debts?

Read more:

http://trueslant.com/mic...bt-a-brewing-time-bomb/

Axl Merk discusses how the Fed monetizes its debts. Read more below:

http://www.321gold.com/e...als/merk/merk120208.html