Installed Grid Capacity Politrics!!!!!!!!!!!!
Impunity wrote:murchr wrote:Impunity wrote:Is it true now that geothermal power sources in Kenya has surpassed the Hydro Electric sources? who has these figures? They say our installed capacity is now 1,900 MW.
What is the %age contribution per each?
Geothermal = ? Olkaria I,II,III = 209MW, IV = 280MW. Menengai 60MW expected 400MW; Eburru 2.5MW HEP = ? 743 MW. Thermal/Fossil = ? wind = ? 5.1 MW Solar = ? Others = ? BIOGAS has a huge potential if our sewage system was well utilized BIOMASS Mumias = 35MW sells 26MW to KPLC
Meanwhile Argentina with the same population has installed capacity of 24,000 MW and a population of 40 million just like us. Hydro is still King, but Geothermal will displace it by far Really!? Yes, the plan is to have 10000MW from Geothermal. Unfortunately Kenyans are not taking care of the tree cover in the country so the water points are drying p "There are only two emotions in the market, hope & fear. The problem is you hope when you should fear & fear when you should hope: - Jesse Livermore .
Whenever I am assessing the pros and cons of gaarment projects, I have found it very helpful look at the nature of gaarment irrespective of who is in charge. It has been more or less the same since independence. Let us start from what we all know, every Kenyan government project/initiative iko na watu lazima wakule kuku na kifaranga pia. So many questions to ask. As a country, we cannot develop producing electricity like a small town in America, but why the arbitrary 5000MW figure? Why are we not fixing the structure of the power sector too? After 50 years of indepence, why do we have such a low power connection rate? Na hii KPLC, why do they still have a monopoly on power distribution? Sio ati they need special protection, or they are providing power at a loss to the country. Every single charge is passed straight through to the poor power customer. Connection fees, forex losses, fuel costs, sijui nini ingine. Power bills hazieleweki. Things are bad when you have to bribe to get connected to a service provider. Tuangalie mobile phone sector in comparison. Remember when mobile phones were like phone booths, and you had to pay 100000 kenya shillings for a phone that cost Telkom 500 KES to import, plus register for a line and wait for months to get it? What happened when the chicken eaters decided to open up the sector? A few years later, we have approx 80% coverage of the population, cheap access to mobile phones, and things we could not imagine then like Bonyeza Ushinde etc. Hawa watu wa kukula kuku wanafaa kutuhurumia na stima pia, since it does not look like we will push for the necessary changes. They should license several companies to compete in power distribution and generation while retaining a percentage ownership a la Mobitelea, so the country benefits and they also get fat on more chicken, badala ya kutufungia with expensive power for generations to come. Hii 5000MW inakaa ni kukula via inflated supplies and contract pricing and/or outright theft of project funds. Our children/grand children will be left paying off these expensive projects while the grandchildren of wale wanaokula will be secure in wealth for generations to come.
On whether the figure of 5000MW is justified or not, we could start with assumption that Kibaki govt had looked at timeframes for upcoming projects /programs e.g konza, tatu, lappset, isiolo resort city, devolution, etc (though I doubt even these would necessitate 3000MW) and had thefore done proper calculations. Now, even when it is clear that these projects will not see light of day anytime soon, Jubilee appears to have mindlessly taken ownership of the 5000MW, no questions asked
Rank: Elder Joined: 3/2/2009 Posts: 26,335 Location: Masada
timbosho wrote:Whenever I am assessing the pros and cons of gaarment projects, I have found it very helpful look at the nature of gaarment irrespective of who is in charge. It has been more or less the same since independence. Let us start from what we all know, every Kenyan government project/initiative iko na watu lazima wakule kuku na kifaranga pia. So many questions to ask. As a country, we cannot develop producing electricity like a small town in America, but why the arbitrary 5000MW figure? Why are we not fixing the structure of the power sector too? After 50 years of indepence, why do we have such a low power connection rate? Na hii KPLC, why do they still have a monopoly on power distribution? Sio ati they need special protection, or they are providing power at a loss to the country. Every single charge is passed straight through to the poor power customer. Connection fees, forex losses, fuel costs, sijui nini ingine. Power bills hazieleweki. Things are bad when you have to bribe to get connected to a service provider. Tuangalie mobile phone sector in comparison. Remember when mobile phones were like phone booths, and you had to pay 100000 kenya shillings for a phone that cost Telkom 500 KES to import, plus register for a line and wait for months to get it? What happened when the chicken eaters decided to open up the sector? A few years later, we have approx 80% coverage of the population, cheap access to mobile phones, and things we could not imagine then like Bonyeza Ushinde etc. Hawa watu wa kukula kuku wanafaa kutuhurumia na stima pia, since it does not look like we will push for the necessary changes. They should license several companies to compete in power distribution and generation while retaining a percentage ownership a la Mobitelea, so the country benefits and they also get fat on more chicken, badala ya kutufungia with expensive power for generations to come. Hii 5000MW inakaa ni kukula via inflated supplies and contract pricing and/or outright theft of project funds. Our children/grand children will be left paying off these expensive projects while the grandchildren of wale wanaokula will be secure in wealth for generations to come. WHILE ON IT, HOW IS DONE FOR SAY TO HAVE THREE COMPANIES DISTRIBUTING POWER? WILL EACH HAVE THEIR POWER LINES RUNNING IN THE ESTATES? @Kiash, uko mayuu wanafanyaje? Portfolio: Sold You know you've made it when you get a parking space for your yatcht.
Generally, energy sector entities are split into grid providers, power producers/wholesalers, retail distributors and providers for special requirements like electric rail. Mwananchi signs contract with retail distributor and can switch providers any time. Retail distributor purchases power from producers of their choice and distributes that power to end consumers via grid operator of their choice. Grid operator carries power for several retail distributors over their grid. Power producers own the power plants/generators and produce power as per demand from their retail distributor customers. In general power producers cannot own power grids, retail distributors cannot own power producers or grids, grid operators cannot own producers or retail distributors. Grid operators are linked across countries to facilitate purchase and distribution of power across geographical borders. Grid operators are also required to not only send power to end customers, but also allow those customers who can generate power (solar, biogas, think of all that sun in Northern Kenya) to sell power back to the energy market. Market co-ordinator sets maximum power tariff periodically, makes sure just enough power is available at both high and low usage by triggering power generation increase/decrease automatically and makes sure market rules are followed by all players. Thats it I think in general. Corrections/clarifications welcome.
timbosho wrote:Whenever I am assessing the pros and cons of gaarment projects, I have found it very helpful look at the nature of gaarment irrespective of who is in charge. It has been more or less the same since independence. Let us start from what we all know, every Kenyan government project/initiative iko na watu lazima wakule kuku na kifaranga pia. So many questions to ask. As a country, we cannot develop producing electricity like a small town in America, but why the arbitrary 5000MW figure? Why are we not fixing the structure of the power sector too? After 50 years of indepence, why do we have such a low power connection rate? Na hii KPLC, why do they still have a monopoly on power distribution? Sio ati they need special protection, or they are providing power at a loss to the country. Every single charge is passed straight through to the poor power customer. Connection fees, forex losses, fuel costs, sijui nini ingine. Power bills hazieleweki. Things are bad when you have to bribe to get connected to a service provider. Tuangalie mobile phone sector in comparison. Remember when mobile phones were like phone booths, and you had to pay 100000 kenya shillings for a phone that cost Telkom 500 KES to import, plus register for a line and wait for months to get it? What happened when the chicken eaters decided to open up the sector? A few years later, we have approx 80% coverage of the population, cheap access to mobile phones, and things we could not imagine then like Bonyeza Ushinde etc. Hawa watu wa kukula kuku wanafaa kutuhurumia na stima pia, since it does not look like we will push for the necessary changes. They should license several companies to compete in power distribution and generation while retaining a percentage ownership a la Mobitelea, so the country benefits and they also get fat on more chicken, badala ya kutufungia with expensive power for generations to come. Hii 5000MW inakaa ni kukula via inflated supplies and contract pricing and/or outright theft of project funds. Our children/grand children will be left paying off these expensive projects while the grandchildren of wale wanaokula will be secure in wealth for generations to come. 5000MW is a benchmark, a target set for the year 2030. I don;t think its the final number. Working without a target will be akin to working like in the Moi days. "There are only two emotions in the market, hope & fear. The problem is you hope when you should fear & fear when you should hope: - Jesse Livermore .
On countries with climate almost similar to ours...Nigeria with 10times our GDP and 4 times our population has only effective capacity of 6000MW???? Malaysia seems more like what we should be when we grow up- 6 times our GDP, grid demand of 13000MW and near 100% connectivity. But on average most countries with near 100% connectivity have 75%-95% of their population in urban centers
The MD is in shit in the coming 2 weeks.He dismissed my friend as a small boy and now he will know that my friend is not like the MKU boss.He should know people!!!!!!!!!!!
Rank: Member Joined: 11/17/2009 Posts: 399 Location: Where everyone knows you
timbosho wrote:Generally, energy sector entities are split into grid providers, power producers/wholesalers, retail distributors and providers for special requirements like electric rail. Mwananchi signs contract with retail distributor and can switch providers any time. Retail distributor purchases power from producers of their choice and distributes that power to end consumers via grid operator of their choice. Grid operator carries power for several retail distributors over their grid. Power producers own the power plants/generators and produce power as per demand from their retail distributor customers. In general power producers cannot own power grids, retail distributors cannot own power producers or grids, grid operators cannot own producers or retail distributors. Grid operators are linked across countries to facilitate purchase and distribution of power across geographical borders. Grid operators are also required to not only send power to end customers, but also allow those customers who can generate power (solar, biogas, think of all that sun in Northern Kenya) to sell power back to the energy market. Market co-ordinator sets maximum power tariff periodically, makes sure just enough power is available at both high and low usage by triggering power generation increase/decrease automatically and makes sure market rules are followed by all players. Thats it I think in general. Corrections/clarifications welcome. Very good points @timbosho. It is no use producing all this power, if we cannot effectively take it to the consumer. Our distribution channels are falling apart. In the estate where I live (Vipingo, North Coast), we have power cuts almost everyday. On some occasions these have lasted for days on end. The last big one was for a whole week!!! All these are distribution problems - mostly faulty transformers. It has nothing to do with capacity. Therefore, we urgently need to look at upgrading the distribution network. Otherwise all this new power produced will be of no use to the end user. My cowrie shell worth.
MatataMingi wrote:timbosho wrote:Generally, energy sector entities are split into grid providers, power producers/wholesalers, retail distributors and providers for special requirements like electric rail. Mwananchi signs contract with retail distributor and can switch providers any time. Retail distributor purchases power from producers of their choice and distributes that power to end consumers via grid operator of their choice. Grid operator carries power for several retail distributors over their grid. Power producers own the power plants/generators and produce power as per demand from their retail distributor customers. In general power producers cannot own power grids, retail distributors cannot own power producers or grids, grid operators cannot own producers or retail distributors. Grid operators are linked across countries to facilitate purchase and distribution of power across geographical borders. Grid operators are also required to not only send power to end customers, but also allow those customers who can generate power (solar, biogas, think of all that sun in Northern Kenya) to sell power back to the energy market. Market co-ordinator sets maximum power tariff periodically, makes sure just enough power is available at both high and low usage by triggering power generation increase/decrease automatically and makes sure market rules are followed by all players. Thats it I think in general. Corrections/clarifications welcome. Very good points @timbosho. It is no use producing all this power, if we cannot effectively take it to the consumer. Our distribution channels are falling apart. In the estate where I live (Vipingo, North Coast), we have power cuts almost everyday. On some occasions these have lasted for days on end. The last big one was for a whole week!!! All these are distribution problems - mostly faulty transformers. It has nothing to do with capacity. Therefore, we urgently need to look at upgrading the distribution network. Otherwise all this new power produced will be of no use to the end user. My cowrie shell worth. Shida iliyoko hapa ni wanasiasa wetu wanataka kukula kuku yote kabisa kama bado ikiwa bado haijapata afya. Instead of eating part of a large chicken, they want to eat the whole chicken when it is still small. If they could open up the distribution of power and limit themselves to a leg or two, ama kifua tu, they would have more than enough chicken to eat. But greed has blinded them, and we voters are too focussed on other matters to force them to give ground. So pengine ununue solar for now
Installed Grid Capacity Politrics!!!!!!!!!!!!