wazua Wed, Nov 27, 2024

Fuel to attract VAT
jomari78
#21 Posted : Tuesday, February 10, 2015 7:28:38 PM

This VAT on fuel issue would've have provided fodder for a serious opposition party intrested in oversighting government, too bad ours is even more clueless.
kiash
#22 Posted : Tuesday, February 10, 2015 7:31:01 PM

I would not like to associate /compare this, but There was an article by David Ndii on Kenya following on Ghana steps.Right now, i hear Ghana is slowly going to the dogs. Hope my country will never go there but i think its time people stood up and said a big NO.
Serem was in court saying teachers should not earn more, yet we have our mpigs earning millions. They will not care if there is a VAT or PAYE on fuel, they will go reclaim their fuel charges. So the common man is left alone.
shocks
#23 Posted : Tuesday, February 10, 2015 7:38:19 PM

serious money riding on this, kra could collect over 50 billion shillings annually on this ticket alone, thats money that could tempt any administration into making a wrong decision
whiteowl
#24 Posted : Tuesday, February 10, 2015 8:32:47 PM

If only we could pull Kibaki out of retirement
#25 Posted : Tuesday, February 10, 2015 9:07:51 PM

jomari78 wrote:
This VAT on fuel issue would've have provided fodder for a serious opposition party intrested in oversighting government, too bad ours is even more clueless.

Our opposition is also useless. They should learn from the anti austerity party in Greece. Roast this government with it's own oil. More taxes, CGT, tax on essential goods, VAT on electricity, fuel etc. While at the same time being told they are trying to bring the cost of electricity and cost of production down bla bla bla.... The opposition should position itself as the saviour of Kenyans from these tyranny of taxes. And come up with sensible plans that will seem plausible even to the middle class and upper class. Lakini hao pia ni nyef nyef kwa mazishi.

Government MPs pia ni nyef nyef. And they also don't seem to have a mind of their own. They will be convinced to vote for Government bills without even reading.

Conclusion? We are on our own.

Sisi pia, bure. We should hit the streets and say enough is enough. But will we? Your guess is as good as mine.

End result? Kutafunwa kama...
#26 Posted : Tuesday, February 10, 2015 9:40:24 PM

VAT on fuel is not a proposal. It is law in the VAT Act, 2013. There is a 3 year "resting" period before the fuel becomes Vatable. The Act was introduced by kefake himself. That time UMK was the finance minister!
#27 Posted : Tuesday, February 10, 2015 10:26:13 PM

Hii watu imeiona kubaff. Even one of the most corrupt organisations, NSSF, wants more money from us. Their partner in crime, NHIF, wants more money. Government, more money. Devolved thugs, more money!!!

Honestly speaking, I am totally tired! This bullshit is too much.

And it is not like the money is going into good use - better equipped schools, better medical care (no more need to go to India or die of treatable diseases), better security etc. We are just financing corruption, greed, confusion etc. For how long????
derick
#28 Posted : Tuesday, February 10, 2015 11:09:40 PM

Hii watu imeiona kubaff. Even one of the most corrupt organisations, NSSF, wants more money from us. Their partner in crime, NHIF, wants more money. Government, more money. Devolved thugs, more money!!!

And it is not like the money is going into good use - better equipped schools, better medical care (no more need to go to India or die of treatable diseases), better security etc. We are just financing corruption, greed, confusion etc. For how long????

But come 2017 we vote the same goons again. Sisi ndio kubaff
Your income is directly related to your philosophy, Not the economy.-Jim Rohn
1masha
#29 Posted : Wednesday, February 11, 2015 8:37:15 AM

IMF wamezoea, shida ni sisi http://mindofmalaka.com/...tellectual-african-scum/
Good judgement is often the result of experience. Experience is often the result of bad judgement.
Ericsson
#30 Posted : Wednesday, February 11, 2015 9:58:41 AM

No country has ever developed and became a tiger in the global economic ranking system under the guidance of IMF.
Wealth is built through a relatively simple equation
Wealth=Income + Investments - Lifestyle
Ericsson
#31 Posted : Wednesday, February 11, 2015 9:59:55 AM

Just look at how messed Greece is after they decided to follow the guidance and path of IMF.
#32 Posted : Wednesday, February 11, 2015 10:12:58 AM

VAT on fuel is not a proposal. It is law in the VAT Act, 2013. There is a 3 year "resting" period before the fuel becomes Vatable. The Act was introduced by kefake himself. That time UMK was the finance minister!

But it hurts the economy, it just leads to lower disposable income which in itself dampens business. They should let it be as 40% of the fuel prices is actually administrative and tax related costs.
#33 Posted : Wednesday, February 11, 2015 10:16:50 AM

shocks wrote:
serious money riding on this, kra could collect over 50 billion shillings annually on this ticket alone, thats money that could tempt any administration into making a wrong decision

Now picture 50billion in the circulation in the form of disposable income. It would lead to massive developments as opposed to the tax man collecting and deciding to channel it to a given single investment that needs far much more money with a payback period of a couple of decades.
YoungMulla
#34 Posted : Wednesday, February 11, 2015 10:18:34 AM

Totally feeling you on this.
Before I die - i will touch the sky!!
Ericsson
#35 Posted : Wednesday, February 11, 2015 10:41:08 AM

For this country to wean itself out of IMF and Bretton woods institutions;corruption has to be wiped out else we shall be seeing more of this as time goes by.
#36 Posted : Wednesday, February 11, 2015 11:16:51 AM

YoungMulla wrote:

Despite this, both of you will vote for your tribal God come next elections.
#37 Posted : Wednesday, February 11, 2015 11:18:49 AM

Ericsson wrote:
For this country to wean itself out of IMF and Bretton woods institutions;corruption has to be wiped out else we shall be seeing more of this as time goes by.

Kefake had managed to do that. We rarely heard of Ministers going to these institutions with a begging bowl. It is this government taking us back there. Selling us out for a song.

What is 63 Billion - in foreign exchange, outer galaxies currency or whatever - to sell our sovereignty for?? We have no other creative mechanisms we can use.

Even a proud Kenyan villager will not allow you to call shots in his house just because you gave him a loan! "I will give you the loan but you will have to move your son to a day school bla bla bla...". He will tell you to go to hell!

Mama mboga knows she cannot suddenly start selling her cabbages at 200/= although the figure looks 'better' that the 50/= she currently sells them at. She knows soon enough she will have empty pockets! You don't slaughter the goose that lays the golden egg.
#38 Posted : Wednesday, February 11, 2015 11:22:13 AM

YoungMulla wrote:

Despite this, both of you will vote for your tribal God come next elections.

@ KulaRaha - You don't know me!! Do yourself a favour and stick to things you remotely understand. Don't judge others based on your standards and modus operandi!
MKWASI
#39 Posted : Wednesday, February 11, 2015 12:41:58 PM

No one would try it. It is a political suicide; come 2017.
whiteowl
#40 Posted : Wednesday, February 11, 2015 1:06:14 PM

What if IMF & Co.funded the SGR? I can't even begin to think of the preconditions