wazua Sat, Nov 23, 2024

IRB 7s Las Vegas
#1 Posted : Wednesday, February 10, 2010 9:07:53 AM

Hope the boys are on top of their game this weekend. I feel like watching us in the semis of the main cup - the adrenaline - that's where we belong.

http://www.irb.com/irbsevens/edition=4/index.html
#2 Posted : Wednesday, February 10, 2010 11:48:42 AM

Muganda; pooled against Chile, Scotland and Samoa...Really need to work extra hard to beat Samoa and Scotland. I am not very hopeful after watching how they played in Wellington
#3 Posted : Wednesday, February 10, 2010 12:01:51 PM

We will chew Scotland and Chile......the table shows these are teams we can easily maul, the boys simply need to concentrate!!!!!
#4 Posted : Thursday, February 11, 2010 5:54:19 AM

...if we can maul, chew, swallow, digest and sh.. Scotland and Chile, then there is hope. Boys lets smear them amateurs dirty...
DonBen
#5 Posted : Friday, February 12, 2010 1:11:25 PM

Here is a preview I.R.B.dot com.

Kenya look to brothers in arms
(IRB.COM) Wednesday 10 February 2010

A few seasons ago Kenya travelled to tournaments as Sevens giant-killers. They arrive in Las Vegas as Sevens giants.

Since taking over as coach, former captain Benjamin Ayimba has done wonders with the team alongside the likes of Felix Ochieng and Manager Oscar Osir, introducing a defensive steel in addition to the team's obvious attacking flair and pace.

Of all the teams competing in Wellington last weekend, the Kenyans were by far the most experienced with 261 tournaments between them. Compare that to the second most seasoned side Samoa with 254 (61 of which against the name of Uale Mai) and then New Zealand with 161.

Throughout the country's upward climb a few players in particular have played key parts. Lavin Asego's intelligence and steady kicking has been one crucial factor, so too the lithe running and natural pace of Biko Adema and the muscle and bustle of Victor Oduor and Innocent Simiyu.

But two players, perhaps, stand out on their own - and they happen to be brothers.
Last season, wing Collins Injera and captain Humphrey Kayange were simply outstanding, so much so that both were shortlisted for the IRB Sevens Player of the Year award. England's Ollie Phillips was eventually announced as the winner, but that two brothers received Kenya's first international award nominations was a matter of huge honour.
"Our family is very proud of us," Kayange told Total Rugby. "My mum really goes over the roof and my dad walks tall wherever he goes and they support us to the fullest, giving us advice to keep pushing and improve.
"The last thing Dad told us before the start of the new Series was 'Go and do better than last year and you'll win Player of the Year, which you missed last year', so for him it's a really big thing, and also for my youngest brother who's coming through the ranks as well, he really looks up to us in the game.
"Im sure it's the same for everyone else, your family has to be right behind you when you go out and represent your country."

To do better than last year is a tall order, especially for Injera. His 42 tries proved to be the leading mark across all of the competing nations, although he has started this season well enough, touching down 17 times already in the first three events in Dubai, George and Wellington - second only to kiwi Sherwin Stowers.
"Sevens back home is really a shining light, everyone wants to be associated with the team," added Kayange. "We've struggled with the problems back in the country but whenever people take a look at what the Sevens team is doing they are proud of it, we're the pride of sport in our country, competing very much with athletics.

"It's very competitive too. There are young players coming through who are really hot on our heels. Some of us are thinking about 2016 (Olympics), some won't be around, but when you see the 17-year-olds coming through, some of them bigger than us, we're just waiting to guide them into the team, show them some direction and let them be."

Sevens Ambassador
As well as leading his country to sixth place in the World Series on the pitch, including a first ever Cup final in Adelaide last season, Kayange's own personal rugby CV has also expanded away from the pitch.
In 2009 he was a key member of the IRB's seven-strong bid team which successfully put the sport's case to the IOC and ultimately guided rugby back into the Olympic fold.
"The game is going to change and it's interesting that for us we've got a lot more backing at home.
"In Kenya we have now been very successful and I think we've proved the IRB right to have put us in the Series for a few years.
"We're doing well and I'm sure all the other smaller rugby nations look to us as an example of what is possible. We've learned the ropes and now we can play with the big boys, and come out victorious."

Always the darlings of the crowd, Kenya are sure to have a massive following in Vegas. On day one at the USA Sevens, they face pool matches against Samoa, Scotland and Chile.Applause

Sasa twende kazi wasee
#6 Posted : Friday, February 12, 2010 1:42:25 PM

...I am not expecting much tomorrow because I dont want my weekend to be spoilt... The team should work extra hard...
#7 Posted : Sunday, February 14, 2010 6:27:45 AM

So Far....Kenya 17 - Scotalnd 0.
Kenya 33 - Chile 7.
Kenya 7 - Samoa 19.....This Samoans!!.Brick wall .
Next game is against England for 1/4 final bowlPray ....And if Kenya wins,they will be up against the winner between NZ and South Africa....Phew!!!
#8 Posted : Sunday, February 14, 2010 9:09:33 AM

...Njung'e ...1/4 final cup...not bowl... Lets us go down on our knees this very Sunday...
#9 Posted : Sunday, February 14, 2010 11:29:08 AM

Twill be nice to beat them ol' colonial masters..
Shujaa juu
JkMwatha
#10 Posted : Sunday, February 14, 2010 12:48:55 PM

Kenya more than just a team....

One of the main attractions of Sevens Rugby is its intensity......

.... Enjoyment is a certainty on the sevens circuit, and having a large Kenyan support is certainly another.
"They are always very good and seem to travel in huge numbers," said IRB Sevens Manager, Beth Coalter. "The Kenyans are loud and colourful. At every tournament there is a cluster of them."

Seasoned travellers

Kenyans tend to stick together at tournaments, becoming one huge red mass of noise, but the way they enjoy the rugby also attracts others to join them in the stands all over the world.

Five thousand have already confirmed attendance at the next stop of the IRB Sevens in Adelaide next month, and England's RFU actually make provisions for them for the London tournament - a whole block will be made available as they normally buy their tickets on the day.

"We are looking into ways of organising events around the Sevens tournaments; a lot of supporters are contacting us for gear," argues Auka Gecheo, the KRFU's General Manager who is also out here as a fan. "I do believe we can generate a lot of good things for our game thanks to this."

The fans are certainly well organised ....... From Thursday through to Friday Kenyan nights have been set up at three different venues; their parties even have Kenyan DJs. In fact, the USA Sevens weekend is one of the biggest gatherings of Kenyans anywhere in the country.

The growth of the game in Kenya is evident. The growth of the support base at tournaments is also noticeable and what that generates among the players and supporters is passion, fun and enjoyment. Kenyan Sevens Magic.

Source:
http://www.irb.com/irbse...+bring+their+gold+vegas
#11 Posted : Sunday, February 14, 2010 2:02:04 PM

Im almost certain we are beating England! Nani ako na mimi...?
#12 Posted : Sunday, February 14, 2010 2:59:54 PM

Kenya Eeeeeeeeeh, Kenya Aaaaaaaaah!
DonBen
#13 Posted : Sunday, February 14, 2010 8:25:15 PM

Im almost certain we are beating England! Nani ako na mimi...?

Judging by the way both England and Kenya have played so far in this tournament, it is very possible for Kenya to beat England and match onto the semis. It wont be easy though.

Am staying up late to watch this game. More updates later.
DonBen
#14 Posted : Sunday, February 14, 2010 9:07:55 PM

its tight guys.... ITS TIGHT!!!
DonBen
#15 Posted : Sunday, February 14, 2010 9:13:13 PM

@Njunge, Magigi,

Where are YOU guys?

ENGLAND 21 - 21 KENYA, and we on for extra time!!!!!!!!

I tell you, this has been a nail biting match.
#16 Posted : Sunday, February 14, 2010 9:18:41 PM

Shujaa juu

IRB Independence Day
Ooooh Aaaaah Eiiiiiih Uuuuuuh

In the semis, gooooood stuuuufff boys!!!
#17 Posted : Sunday, February 14, 2010 9:23:22 PM

Donben; f*** DSTV. My signal got lost after England got the first score. I have just been refreshing the IRB website to see the scores... Lakini nilipoona imefika 21-21 I ent on my knees. This is excellent stuff...
DonBen
#18 Posted : Sunday, February 14, 2010 9:24:47 PM

muganda wrote:
Shujaa juu

IRB Independence Day
Ooooh Aaaaah Eiiiiiih Uuuuuuh

In the semis, gooooood stuuuufff boys!!!

A-KENYA eeeeeeeeeeeeeee

A-KENYA aaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaa

England 21 Kenya 26
#19 Posted : Sunday, February 14, 2010 9:33:03 PM

@Magigi, sasa hii tabia gani ya DSTV?
My 'waiting NIT acquisition' appeared at 0-0 and cleared when score was at 14-14. Talk about timing...
DonBen
#20 Posted : Sunday, February 14, 2010 9:33:11 PM

the upcoming semi-final against the New Zealand All Black wont be easy. It is probably the biggest match Kenyan boys have yet to play.

New Zealand just dispatched the world 7s South Africa in their own quarters match.

Most Kenyan players updated their facebook pages with the following message from the scriptures:

Phil 4:13
I can do everything through him who gives me strength.